YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

direbmem

Guys, when y’all talk nw here, y’all exclude CPF & pigeon holes/ppty hor?

hey, give you a tip hor
You go join SCB as priority (can get airpork lounge pass too) if you aren’t alrdy
Then ask to be an Accredited Investor (S$1 million liquid assets) - the sole purpose of this is to enjoy Low commission rate between March & Dec of this year.
Wif Low comm you can build your investment portfolio, esp. US stocks where SCB doesn’t charge custodian fee unlike many others.
Pls consider our Sg reits as part of your investment strategy. I was lucky to have bot bulk of my reits in the past 12 years.
But the forex rates very bad right? Overall is it still worth it for the low comms?

limster

limster, r u still working?
When you said you achieved FI Liao you’re saying you’ve achieved your target liao and no longer leepends on your current jod for financial livelihood even though you’re still working?

Yes, I am FI but not RE. My passive income exceeds my current standard of living.

My job is not too stressful and also can WFH on some days, so i actually don't hate my job unlike so many millenials that want to FIRE in their 30s.

Assuming WFH is sort of a 'rehearsal' of what FIRE would be like, I realise that I would be bored. So I actually am happy to go back to office on some days for a change of scenery (and lunch locations), can chat with friends etc.

Regarding the point about Standard Chartered, I don't think they are 'cheap', but at least their charges are not ridiculous so they are a viable investment platform for me. Fortunately for forex, I am now on the silver tier which is a 0.4% forex premium and there are no minimum commissions, so it is easy to DCA small amounts of ETFs every month.

I would be uneasy putting my entire portfolio into one broker like Interactive Brokers, so my foreign stocks are mainly split between IBKR and SCB. Hopefully one day FSMOne will have LSE-listed ETFs available for trading.

limster

XMXum0k.png

I posted in the other thread but I can repost here. If my portfolio outperform vanguard world by a few percentage points, good enough for me already.

revhappy

Jan 2023 has been awesome for equity indices, but when I look at my performance in SGD, it isnt great.
USDSGD is down 2.23% in this period, has kind of dampened the returns.

In SGD terms:
YTD networth excluding new inflows = 2.17%
YTD networth including new inflows = 2.72%

Networth 1-Jan-2023 = 1.228 million SGD
Networth 31-Jan-2023 = 1.262 million SGD

Equity allocation 52%

Feb numbers in SGD terms:
YTD networth excluding new inflows = 3.39%
YTD networth including new inflows = 3.80%

Networth 1-Jan-2023 = 1.228 million SGD
Networth 28-Feb-2023 = 1.284 million SGD

Equity allocation 52%

Feb month SGD fell, so it makes the performance look slightly better even though markets were down in Feb.

limster

well not to take anything away from you but i feel achieving 130k take home pay is more of a milestone than reaching 500k with 130k take home pay :ROFLMAO:
Totally agree, congrats!
Fastest way to grow wealth in your 30s is usually through salary increase and not stock market investing.

DevilPlate

well not to take anything away from you but i feel achieving 130k take home pay is more of a milestone than reaching 500k with 130k take home pay :ROFLMAO:
Yap with 130k take home pay + wifey income easily cross 200k and that alone open up alot more opportunities such as climb up the property ladder and create generational wealth in the process.

limster

Yap with 130k take home pay + wifey income easily cross 200k and that alone open up alot more opportunities such as climb up the property ladder and create generational wealth in the process.

Power of double income! 👫

Mephist0pheLes

i think bcos i consider myself to be average/below average among my colleagues, so i dont really feel that sense of achievement when it comes to work/career even tho my pay goes up, bcos some of my colleagues of the same age are alr moving ahead of me.

What industry and field are you in ?

market analyst. do market monitoring, econometric studies and data analytics

limster

i think bcos i consider myself to be average/below average among my colleagues, so i dont really feel that sense of achievement when it comes to work/career even tho my pay goes up, bcos some of my colleagues of the same age are alr moving ahead of me.
The next stage is when your juniors start overtaking you.
When you are young, these things will bother you more, but eventually, you'll get over it.

revhappy

The next stage is when your juniors start overtaking you.
When you are young, these things will bother you more, but eventually, you'll get over it.
You are right. When we are just fresh out of college, we have this competitive spirit and the gap is narrow. Then the gap keeps getting wider and wider and by the time you are 40, the gaps become so wide, we just cannot relate with them anymore. It is like if there is an alumni meet of 40 somethings, just imagine, the kind of wide disparity between the most successful and the least successful.

As long as we are able to meet our own expectations that is what matters, no point competing with others. I also see some people who overrate themselves especially those who were toppers in academics and then in workplace they expect to keep acing. But it doesnt work that way, we need to know our potential and make peace with it, no point overrating and then being unhappy all the time. I would rather underrate myself and think I have overachieved than overrate myself and think I have underachieved, lol.

My current manager is 8 years younger than me. I think by the time I am 50 my managers are likely to still be 35 something, maybe even 30 something, cannot help it. :)

elloz123

market analyst. do market monitoring, econometric studies and data analytics

Congrats sir, with your disciplined habits and through investing you will probably outgrow your colleagues’ net worth in due time.

little pupsky

Congrats sir, with your disciplined habits and through investing you will probably outgrow your colleagues’ net worth in due time.
I see your well-intentioned encouragement, though in likelihood, his doing-well colleagues could also be investing in a disciplined manner. Other things being equal, the wealth gap continues to grow. This is how the rich gets richer and maintains their place in the pyramid.

That’s why revhappy’s advice is well worth following — don’t compare cos there’s no end to it.

Still, I think some healthy comparison may be good to push one self harder, esp. if you are still early to mid career. For the typical person in their late 40s and 50s, it can be a quite hard for them to push themselves further unless they are willing to make some sacrifices and lifestyle adjustments. That’s why for this group, they often console themselves by telling themselves not to compare! 🤪

revhappy

I see your well-intentioned encouragement, though in likelihood, his doing-well colleagues could also be investing in a disciplined manner. Other things being equal, the wealth gap continues to grow. This is how the rich gets richer and maintains their place in the pyramid.

That’s why revhappy’s advice is well worth following — don’t compare cos there’s no end to it.

Still, I think some healthy comparison may be good to push one self harder, esp. if you are still early to mid career. For the typical person in their late 40s and 50s, it can be a quite hard for them to push themselves further unless they are willing to make some sacrifices and lifestyle adjustments. That’s why for this group, they often console themselves by telling themselves not to compare! 🤪
Thanks :) I think it is good to get honest feedback from people, have some good mentors. People who know us well and can tell us what is our strength and weakness. If we can somehow know ourselves well, that is already half the battle won.

i know my weakness and my strength.
My weakness: My intellectual ability to go very deep in any subject is lacking. I was never good in maths and didnt understand most concepts of physics or math. I am not a very people person or a pleasant personality. I am not someone who is going to be popular and have lots of friends. I am not a very driven person, I never take any initiative or put up my hand for anything. I hate limelight and like not to be troubled with work.

So given those weaknesses, you can say, it is quite difficult to make any good career right? :)

My strengths: I generally dont make enemies wherever I go. I somehow am usually in the good books of bosses. If the boss says sky is red, I say yes boss, sky is red and I find most bosses would rather love to be pleased than told the truth. I have been generally lucky to be in a sunrise IT industry and just learn enough to be able to make a career out of it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.