Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Coffeelix

I also think Jln Meldrum is one of the safest neighbourhoods in JB although it appears to be a rough place. The places in the news are usually Johor Jaya and Taman Sentosa. Taman Sentosa had the night clubs which advertise in the Chinese evening papers and everyone knew about the shows which took place there.
My jb friends told us to avoid tmn Sentosa at night.

SongManKranji

Got this drink fr boleh land. Nice soothing drink.
HE2qWPw.jpg

sunsetbay

I noticed this is UK air BNB and it is in Pouunds not sgd, but after conversion is ard GBP$50+ (before taxes and cleaning fee)

The same listing is on the SG BNB for ard sgd $80 after taxes and cleaning fee , may i knw is this normal ?

if i log in to my airbnb acc, both links show me the same SGD currency & amount~ if i didn't log in to the acc beforehand, the first one will show Pound~

starting 2023, Msia started collecting tourism tax of RM10 per night stay including hotel stay~ previously airbnb also collect Cleaning Fee & Service Fees, now its Cleaning Fee & "Taxes and Fees"~

also some JB airbnb operators collect deposit from SG guests, pay directly thru fund transfer~ while i'd booked airbnb at KL & penang, the operators didn't request such deposit~ :s22:

SongManKranji

if i log in to my airbnb acc, both links show me the same SGD currency & amount~ if i didn't log in to the acc beforehand, the first one will show Pound~
starting 2023, Msia started collecting tourism tax of RM10 per night stay including hotel stay~ previously airbnb also collect Cleaning Fee & Service Fees, now its Cleaning Fee & "Taxes and Fees"~
also some JB airbnb operators collect deposit from SG guests, pay directly thru fund transfer~ while i'd booked airbnb at KL & penang, the operators didn't request such deposit~
wobble.gif
KSL suites ask me for 100rm deposit and reminded to show them receipt upon check out. If not will become tips. Ksl suites for 5 pax not v gd the wardrobe seems worn down toilet paper knn just 1 roll per toilet. If wan request need to download QR code and go online.

SongManKranji

also some JB airbnb operators collect deposit from SG guests, pay directly thru fund transfer~ while i'd booked airbnb at KL & penang, the operators didn't request such deposit~
wobble.gif
I noticed Nest Home now give 2 options for payment. Either pay full or partial at 1medini

Aaagogo

My jb friends told us to avoid tmn Sentosa at night.

it's not that bad, there is a hotel there afterall, and 2 crab restaurants along the street, earlier in the evening both side of the inside streets have malay and chinese night food markets,

inside plaza sentosa got disco and "Spa", beside hotel also got a Kaki-Kaki replacement massage place.

maybe the side (not the store side) and back alley slightly sketchier because of the Vietnam "massage" places

beanstalk6

it's not that bad, there is a hotel there afterall, and 2 crab restaurants along the street, earlier in the evening both side of the inside streets have malay and chinese night food markets,

inside plaza sentosa got disco and "Spa", beside hotel also got a Kaki-Kaki replacement massage place.

maybe the side (not the store side) and back alley slightly sketchier because of the Vietnam "massage" places

The dark days of Taman Sentosa are in the past.

Coffeelix

Any bros can recommend gd bak zhang. Pai sei if this hv been answered. I just bought this julong east 6sgd.
WcLSU3Z.jpg

I like the nyonya Zhang at $4.80 from a teochew porridge shop: more liao than rice.

It is in a row of old Shophouses next to kovan mrt station opposite heartland mall. In the same row of shops houses a Pizza Hut.

The dishes of this teochew porridge is affordable n good too.

BTO_Brah

Wanted to share with you guys one of my favourite evening nasi lemak places in Gelang Patah. I always called this Abang's shop "the roadside stalls" because there used to also be chicken wings and satay and soft buns etc right next to him for 4-5 different things just off the street, but now he is the sole survivor.

If you look for the coffeeshop 777 he is directly facing it across the street parking.

Opens at 5:30 pm and goes until he sells out, usually around 8:30-10

I recommend you order:

• The ayam rendang (yes I know it looks gray, and the ayam merah is red and exciting, but trust lim peh, hor?)
  • One of the amazing deep-fried eggs
  • The sambal ikan bilis
  • At least one piece of the ayam goreng on the side (I usually get 2 just for me)
  • Pappadom, cucumber, peanut and sambal he'll give you, but just ask if you want more of any

5MAqKT0.png

rPr9lXR.jpg

VCK44YY.jpg

bbFupJq.png

16 RM dinner for one:

BcUykaH.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.