Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Andrew833

Was with a group of older neighbors and friends, we took from Tanjong Pagar and stopped behind Holiday Plaza. Then we went to use the hotel's toilet (that's when we spotted the buffet lunch that we went on our subsequent visit/s), then off to Swenson's(?) at the entrance of the mall before heading inside. Those were already the illegal movie tapes(?) time...

From there, we'd walk to Sentosa, then to Plaza Pelangi before taking the bus back to CIQ to walk back across the causeway. Those were the (young and stronger) days. :s13:

Hey, all I remember about our paper-wrapped chicken dinner was the big longkang! Should be the same one. :grin:

There's once a white dog (probably their pet) walked into the kitchen after passing where we're dining. Before our dishes were served, we heard a dog yelping :s14::s14: ... then the same dog walked out the next minute. :s13:
"illegal movie tapes(?) time..."
I think it's the CD not tapes, if I rem correctly. Late 80s or early 90s?

Habrosus

"illegal movie tapes(?) time..."
I think it's the CD not tapes, if I rem correctly. Late 80s or early 90s?
I can't remember TBH, as I didn't want to be part of their plot so didn't touch those stuff :s13: Seems like a long time back... I was the youngest so just followed blindly, that's all I can remember. :grin:

Uncensored, to want for a better word. Friends bought mere cartoon (I think tapes, more like) and got confiscated, had to go to their office to pay and pick up another day. :o

bluezzy

Sorry I don’t quite get it.

The property guru link features Malaysia properties for sale.

You certainly can get a property in Malaysia.
But only for medini development, you can purchase at any price from Rm1 to infinity.

If you are talking about taking loans to buy My property, from my understanding:
you will be required to provide your credit report from Sg Credit bureau to show the loans you are holding in sg to determine the amount of loan you can take.
What about those nearer to JB Sentral?

bluezzy

Private housing in sg - no restrictions in my property purchase

Hdb house - The first thing to ensure if you own an HDB is that you’ve fulfilled the Minimum Occupancy Conditions (MOC), which can mean living in the property for 5, 7, 10 or even 20 years². During this time, you’re not allowed to buy another private property, which would take the option to invest in Malaysia off the table. It’s also important to note that the MOC starts when you get your keys, and doesn’t take into account any period when you’re not living in the HDB - during a period of working abroad, for example.
Mine is already past the MOP, which is 5 years cos I got my house quite a while back

Aaagogo

my SOP back then was KFC first, then VCD selection, followed by buying a tin of biscuit along with other snacks and food stuff, then Swenson ice cream while prepping the VCDs and biscuit.

the good ole'days of no x-ray machines and the best security theather of "selective screening" at customs.

Habrosus

my SOP back then was KFC first, then VCD selection, followed by buying a tin of biscuit along with other snacks and food stuff, then Swenson ice cream while prepping the VCDs and biscuit.

the good ole'days of no x-ray machines and the best security theather of "selective screening" at customs.
Geez... now I recall having bought biscuits in tins those days. Julie, IIRC. Macam SG no biscuits... :o coz I didn't even eat that much.

From Parkson, when they still had a supermarket on the... ground floor? :grin:

Edit: I think it's because back then SG had no peanut Julie's yet? :unsure:

Andrew833

Geez... now I recall having bought biscuits in tins those days. Julie, IIRC. Macam SG no biscuits... :o coz I didn't even eat that much.

I didn't do all these. Usually walk to shopping mall near CIQ, that time I think got 3 shopping malls. Usually buy polo t , mooncake and chinese biscuits. If I take taxi back to SG, will buy 1-2 cd back. Mostly go alone.
I rem those days, my friend bring to a building where many gals locate, each gal in 1 room, Very near to CIQ along a busy road. I know Bro Aaagogo should know this.

Andrew833

In the 90s to early 00, I start going JB with my group of friends to KTV. Sometimes we cross CIQ early morning like 3-4am. If too drunk will stay overnight.
There was a period when JB got many cases of robbery, I stop going for I think 10 years.

Aaagogo

I didn't do all these. Usually walk to shopping mall near CIQ, that time I think got 3 shopping malls. Usually buy polo t , mooncake and chinese biscuits. If I take taxi back to SG, will buy 1-2 cd back. Mostly go alone.
I rem those days, my friend bring to a building where many gals locate, each gal in 1 room, Very near to CIQ along a busy road. I know Bro Aaagogo should know this.

Merlin Tower, and JWAF shophouse, the girls are still there, the older PRCs sits with the bookies and uncles at the kopitiam, the chinese and indian streetwalker are by the row of shophouse, kam loong fish head that stretch. The younger ones are "locked away" upstairs and the OKT sits at the stairwell touting. that's one the handful of redlight district areas that i know of in JB

it's the safest area IMO in JB, safe because no one will dare to rob you unless they want the wrath of the gangs coming down on them for disturbing their businesses, the bookies collecting horse racing bets at the kopi tiams along Jalan Meldrum. Funny thing is, the police station is right at the end of Jalan Meldrum. I guess the safest place to conduct illegal activities is right under the nose of the police.

Aaagogo

the biscuits are not for eating, i just needed their container with their "unopened" seal

Habrosus

In the 90s to early 00, I start going JB with my group of friends to KTV. Sometimes we cross CIQ early morning like 3-4am. If too drunk will stay overnight.
There was a period when JB got many cases of robbery, I stop going for I think 10 years.
Oh, I remember being in a KTV with friend's older friends who drove us, that's in Sentosa. We left when the whole area blacked out. Didn't stay as we're driven home. :o

Coffeelix

What about those nearer to JB Sentral?
You will need to buy minimum Rm1 million both for condo and landed.

Unless you can buy balance units directly from developers but only for condo.
Balance units from developers for landed is still minimum Rm1 million

beanstalk6

it's the safest area IMO in JB, safe because no one will dare to rob you unless they want the wrath of the gangs coming down on them for disturbing their businesses, the bookies collecting horse racing bets at the kopi tiams along Jalan Meldrum. Funny thing is, the police station is right at the end of Jalan Meldrum. I guess the safest place to conduct illegal activities is right under the nose of the police.
I also think Jln Meldrum is one of the safest neighbourhoods in JB although it appears to be a rough place. The places in the news are usually Johor Jaya and Taman Sentosa. Taman Sentosa had the night clubs which advertised in the Chinese evening papers and everyone knew about the shows which took place there.

Habrosus

Funny thing is, the police station is right at the end of Jalan Meldrum. I guess the safest place to conduct illegal activities is right under the nose of the police.
Over somewhere in Jurong during the illegal CD period, we're browsing a stall after lunch when I looked up and there's a police post across the road. :s13:

the biscuits are not for eating, i just needed their container with their "unopened" seal
Collector's item? :grin:

Habrosus

Before I learned to take bus from JB Sentral during my maiden comeback trips, a guy (staff?) who's helping to call out arrival buses at JWAF pointed a pickpocket at work to us, after we missed a couple of our bus service. It's him that suggested then taught us how to head to JB Sentral instead.:o

Watching a WIP pickpocket for the first time. :look:

beanstalk6

I witnessed maybe twice the Polis at work along Jln WAF. In those days before JB Sentral was erected, all the local buses would ply Jln WAF. In the chaos, there were pickpockets operating. Saw what were probably Indon illegals (it was a problem then) or dadah addicts getting chased and arrested for picking pockets or robbery.
Now the area is so gentrified, MBJB has diverted the buses, cleaned up the longkang, pulled down Plaza Seni and pedestrianised the walkway.

hwsstx

Merlin Tower, and JWAF shophouse, the girls are still there, the older PRCs sits with the bookies and uncles at the kopitiam, the chinese and indian streetwalker are by the row of shophouse, kam loong fish head that stretch. The younger ones are "locked away" upstairs and the OKT sits at the stairwell touting. that's one the handful of redlight district areas that i know of in JB

Yes.

Around the area there are also traps but not very obvious :)

SongManKranji

Those days I rem wu separate passports for msia & international. During reservists 1 will drive down for those "special" massages. Ktv. I can't drink so become driver fetch all drunkards back

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

Aaagogo

Yes.

Around the area there are also traps but not very obvious :)

they have their own dedicated area, 170 otw to Larkin passes by, it's by a row of shophouse with a lot of motorcycles repair shops.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.