Any buttie here depress ? How you overcome it :(

wickedpuppy

I realized many urban and modern cities have more overstressed ppl as compared to a more backward country.

Probably the life/workstyle
Yes ... probably ... and living conditions ...

Try it ... stay in the room all day and watch netflix or play games or even exercise ... measure bp , heart rate etc.

Go out ... just go out to nearest hawker centre .. look at the stalls ... then just come back ...

Measure the bp and heart rate again ...

Nothing has changed ... bank account / cpf is remains as it is .. but you will find just by looking at trees , cats , dogs , people , sky will slightly uplift the mood and lower bp ...

Its not just about physical movement , which is also impt , but also mental movement ... working and staring at computer from 9-6 is very bad for mental health , not to mention physical health ...

s-ghost

the only time i got "slight depression" was during my early 20s
lost more than 20k in a few days playing call and put warrants
my gp gave me a week mc to rest

my wife (then gf) was surprised when i told her my situation
we both disagree with the gp diagnostic haha

wun have bought a better car if not for the loss, end up bot satki black vios only
got gf is already win many of us here liao :frown::frown:

Elnoxv

I also cannot understand how depression comes about. Is it due to some event, overthinking or just came like that like fever. Some say is a kind of illness like fever, can't stop it from coming.
IMO, for every action, there is a reaction. What we choose to receive, do, think or react will be following us and these become conditions for our future experiences.

This can be seen from the Body, mind and breath relations. If our mind is calm, so is our body and breathe. If our body is agitated, so is our mind and breathe.

so in a way, if our body is imbalance, not healthy in a way. It will cause negative thoughts to surface as well. (Note: people may appear healthy but in reality it's not. There are some imbalances that can only be seen from TCM diagnosis). If our body is healthy, negative / depressive thoughts will be less.

And when our mind is poisoned with greed, anger, jealousy etc, the body will follows (deteriorate) and in turns, overtime, the body may become imbalance. Hence, more depressive / negative thoughts. These actions greed, anger, jealousy etc will also conditions our mind to more negativity which may turn into habits of how we react to events.

e.q. When we are constantly angry / worried, some people will need to run to toilet. The anger caused the digestive muscles to tighten, heart racing etc. More thoughts are surfacing. People who tend to worry too much will have bad digestive system.

When we are constantly focusing on these thoughts. Believing them and giving them attentions (giving them energy in a way), these thoughts will become more prominent and powerful, they will become more frequents with or without triggers.

Note: perhaps, these are incomplete explanation but that's roughly the gist of it.

rei_the_rebel_cat

Depress .....lol

If you are not forced into a corner with no other way out like some terminal illness. Don't tell me u depress.

It's all in your mind. I got into a corner before, tipping point in life. I refused to give up. I told myself i don't believe i can't survive. Somehow things iron out itself.

Remember you are not in some 3rd world or some war whacked country. There are millions of people in worse/ dire state than you. Singapore is an easy place.

You just need some avenue to release the pressure. Exercise, religion n even seek comfort in EDMW also can.
i think everyone has a beautiful and difficult life - it’s just a journey that we all must make.

but personally having witness how strong human beings can be … i find strength in that.

had a close friend whose son got into an accident and killed three other friends in his car. she had to face the families whose kids are killed … imagine dealing with that. all four kids were holding funeral on the same day, at the same place.

her husband died of grief shortly after … i mean in less than a year.

fast forward ten plus years, she is doing ok and travelling / retired. she has aged quite a bit but really, she refused to quit life just yet. although she lights a candle for her son and husband after all these years.

i share her story to encourage anyone who is going thought a bad patch.

your journey is not done. at the end of life, live to tell a tale of courage and victory. meanwhile, we at the forum here walk with you.

rei_the_rebel_cat

Thats it ... Singapore isnt a bad place and as you said millions are in far worse state than most people here ...

But why are there suicides , HBP , depression here ?

Why people cant be happy here ?

Is it due to natural causes ? Flood ? Famines ? Fire ? Or even Haze ?

Or man made ?

If man made then why create such a place and what can be done to ease the pressure ? Clearly everyone cant be playing games at home and expect free money ... lazy means lazy ..

But must it be this way as it is now ? Cant be better ? Swiss Standard ?

Why not ?
it’s the mindset of comparison.

perhaps it’s so hard to escape it when you are bombarded with comparing jobs / comparing housing price (even which floor you live in - high floor / low floor / penthouse) / comparing car / comparing kid achievements (school / CCA / streams / even kids IG accounts - no kidding!) / comparing holiday destination.

our society needs to really do less of this and start to develop an awareness of having more to life. ditch the kiasu / kiasi / kiaboh … these are really not good attributes and we should not be proud of such values.

wickedpuppy

perhaps it’s so hard to escape it when you are bombarded with comparing jobs / comparing housing price (even which floor you live in - high floor / low floor / penthouse) / comparing car / comparing kid achievements (school / CCA / streams / even kids IG accounts - no kidding!) / comparing holiday destination.

our society needs to really do less of this and start to develop an awareness of having more to life. ditch the kiasu / kiasi / kiaboh … these are really not good attributes and we should not be proud of such values.
Agreed ...

Encouragesome1

Me lor, really cant smile at all, brain keep thinking just wanna get away from work,boss and big boss and family, partly due to this im going on short solo overseas trip just for some 'me' time to think things thru, but suspect come back wont chg much

Started playing badminton with random folks but that one is really just for myself to slim down. I like the sport but doesnt really help my mental state

Really suspect moi got depression, but unless i really change my outlook, i really dont see anyway i can cure it :(
try talking to someone u trust see if it helps. diff strokes work for diff ppl.

for me i jog & pray & sometimes jjww with bff's . Then go work on problem. accept what cant be changed, change what can be done. 6677 ok jiu gd alr.

Life isnt perfect just mk yr best use of it.

still cannot need to go seek professional help eg counselling or psychiatrist help if your depressed intensity so high until can't cope by yrself

jackontario

try talking to someone u trust see if it helps. diff strokes work for diff ppl.

for me i jog & pray & sometimes jjww with bff's . Then go work on problem. accept what cant be changed, change what can be done. 6677 ok jiu gd alr.

Life isnt perfect just mk yr best use of it.

still cannot need to go seek professional help eg counselling or psychiatrist help if your depressed intensity so high until can't cope by yrself
I haven’t sleep yet :(

Encouragesome1

Dunch wan my mama and papa ask me always sleep early but I can’t sleep :(
ok u today don zzz, tmr u full day as usual do yr stuff. dont go aftn nap .

now u off yr gadgets and everyth w light n read some hardcopy thgs , news paper or old textbook or old manual .. just take someone old n thick and read.

tmr 9-10 pm sure tired will zz de.

Reader11

fully agree! there is much more to life

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.