toxic property agent pwning their competitors.......

xiao.xin

Those against it are probably agents or agents family themselves bah. Essentially fix price and fix percentage works the same way isn't it?

Got someone say become wet market that one, the value of the transaction is the property not the price la. If you charge 399, selling price at $1m you still need people that has $1m to buy.

To prevent over speculation is the job of the govt to increase the taxes, not for the agent to earn the comms.

Forever84

Should complain to CEA and tell him off, then deduct from the commission since you had incurred a financial loss. Your case illustrates that agents have to be knowledgeable about real estate law and cannot give wrong information.

Actually, every job requires some expertise or skill. For sales job, besides product knowledge, you must be good at connecting with people.
Disclosure. I can’t la, because the agent is my *b friend!

really pissed off max. Wrong info, extra charges etc. really learnt a lesson. I was so f pissed, because that period market was down and I had to realise my paper losses. This was just before Covid so u know where the market went after that.

not to mention, I get scolded by my wife also. Ask me this person can trust one anot

mewmew

To be fair, I don't think it's simply mere paperwork. They need to be knowledgeable about the legal issues in buying/selling a house. Any wrong advice and the buyer/ seller may get into trouble. They also need to spend money on marketing and time involved in the coordination work. I am not an agent, by the way.

It will forever be a sore point as to how much commission they should earn.

How much commission do real estate agents earn in other countries?

dese are notch rocket science subject, can be summarised by a reference cheat sheet of wat ish can or wat ish cannot.

avg pricing wise only hk mkt can match up with sg, and dat pretty much sum up and tell chiu dey are the among the top earners ww

Edixfan

I engaged Patrick to sell my in laws HDB.
To me, the benefit of fancy marketing videos is marginal and will only appeal to gullible and inexperienced buyers.
After engaging Patrick, I WhatsApp the unit photos taken with my iPhone. He list on Pguru and then got his assistant to coordinate the viewing times with me. I need to be at the unit to host the viewings, his team will not appear. But all offers go through him.
After one week, unit sold at list price. I had agreed to sell at $5k below list price but he managed to push up to list, probably after gauging that the buyer was quite eager since he already sold his own unit.
Paid $1,999 after completion.

Forever84

To me, the benefit of fancy marketing videos is marginal and will only appeal to gullible and inexperienced buyers.
After engaging Patrick, I WhatsApp the unit photos taken with my iPhone. He list on Pguru and then got his assistant to coordinate the viewing times with me. I need to be at the unit to host the viewings, his team will not appear. But all offers go through him.
After one week, unit sold at list price. I had agreed to sell at $5k below list price but he managed to push up to list, probably after gauging that the buyer was quite eager since he already sold his own unit.
Amazing. Thanks for testimonial, hope he stay in market long enough for me to engage next time

mewmew

was there a 2nd agent chiu appointed that can compare against to see the value he bring

Taloona

Oh so his team will not appear at viewing, that saves cost but as long as he can sell your unit at the price you want, his job is done. The fee of $1999 is value for money. Back in 2018, I paid my agent 1.5% for selling my flat at a low $400k range. He took about 6 months to sell my flat. That period was the doldrums in the property market.

randomph

Many property agents in this thread feeling sore. Can tell from how sore their posts sound. Good, let them die pain pain.

Edixfan

To be fair, I don't think it's simply mere paperwork. They need to be knowledgeable about the legal issues in buying/selling a house. Any wrong advice and the buyer/ seller may get into trouble. They also need to spend money on marketing and time involved in the coordination work. I am not an agent, by the way.

It will forever be a sore point as to how much commission they should earn.

How much commission do real estate agents earn in other countries?

If you bother to read up and learn, there is nothing complicated. In Singapore, real estate laws and regulations are open book and no ambiguity.

I have engaged agents to sell my place before. What pisses me off is their superficial knowledge of the development and unit. If I know my unit and development best why do I need to depend on them?
All the transactions data is available online. With common sense and a calculator I can also estimate my own unit’s value.

What Patrick is doing is recognizing the little value that agents provide and hence pricing it accordingly. If sellers want to engage 2-3% agents and waste money then go ahead.

matrix05

Only 1 week, sold! How many viewings did you get?

Forever84

If you bother to read up and learn, there is nothing complicated. In Singapore, real estate laws and regulations are open book and no ambiguity.

I have engaged agents to sell my place before. What pisses me off is their superficial knowledge of the development and unit. If I know my unit and development best why do I need to depend on them?
All the transactions data is available online. With common sense and a calculator I can also estimate my own unit’s value.

What Patrick is doing is recognizing the little value that agents provide and hence pricing it accordingly. If sellers want to engage 2-3% agents and waste money then go ahead.
It’s true. Now even agent tell me info I won’t believe, I will verify further myself.

I think many just pian jiak only, charge so much to post on PropertyGuru and ask for co-broke via their agencies then bring another agent to come makan your money.

Taloona

Actually, there is another company that charges a fixed rate, ohmyhome. Why no one complain about this company?

I do agree that these agents offer a cheaper alternative and give customers a wider choice. For a long time, agents have monopolised the market as there are very few alternatives for customers.

Edixfan

Only 1 week, sold! How many viewings did you get?
I think about 10. I must caveat my in laws unit is quite well kept and bright and no west sun. So not difficult to sell.
But we were insistent on our pricing and eventually got what we wanted

Forever84

Actually, there is another company that charges a fixed rate, ohmyhome. Why no one complain about this company?

I do agree that these agents offer a cheaper alternative and give customers a wider choice. For a long time, agents have monopolised the market as there are very few alternatives for customers.
It’s 1% what. Got flat fee meh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.