New 10Gbps/5Gbps/6Gbps/3Gbps XGS-PON based plans

Henry Ng

I recently signed up for SH ultraspeed 10G, it is indeed a good deal, especially if you have subscriptions to sports and streaming services like Netflix and Disney+

On installation day (Feb 13), I asked nicely but the installer sort of acted blur and did not acknowledge that such a thing as a superadmin password existed. He insisted that the package comes with an ONR and that's the only way the set up can be. I tried asking the question in a different way but got the same answer, he said that it's not possible to enable a bridge mode for the Nokia ONR, etc etc.

Fortunately he had an ipad sort of thing with "superadmin password" clearly showing on the screen and I just took a photo of it with my phone.

After the installer left, I just used that password from the photo to access superadmin on the ONR and followed Commandowolf's instructions to change to bridge mode and all is working great now with my pfsense router.

Thank you to the folks here for all the great information!

BTW has anyone turned off the TR-069 profile via the toggle? is there any effect to this?
No necessary la as too many users and starhub will not care at all.

bochap2013

Just a query, those with superadmin password for Nokia ONR, is the password somehow related to anything within the ONR itself? eg serial number , or useradmin pw ?

U can drop me a pm if not convenient to post

commandowolf

Just a query, those with superadmin password for Nokia ONR, is the password somehow related to anything within the ONR itself? eg serial number , or useradmin pw ?

U can drop me a pm if not convenient to post
Nope, doesnt look anywhere related to the ONR.

commandowolf

May be you can/should use your great influence with SH to persuade them to allow us to use our own routers?
Ha. Ha. As if SH gives a damn about this kind of thing. They want simplicity for their installers, dont deal with so many variables that can go wrong. Cause the ONR set up liao, nothing to be done liao, user admin control nothing much to be changed anyways. If got problem, at most they can remote in using TR-069 and check, but probably wont happen either.

stephenbishop

Ha. Ha. As if SH gives a damn about this kind of thing. They want simplicity for their installers, dont deal with so many variables that can go wrong. Cause the ONR set up liao, nothing to be done liao, user admin control nothing much to be changed anyways. If got problem, at most they can remote in using TR-069 and check, but probably wont happen either.
I agree with you.

However, if enough of us make enough noise, and vote with our wallets, even big corporations will listen.....

jess_sy

StarHub Facebook/Instagram posted this:

Loading the future of connectivity... Something hot (and fast) is about to drop soon!
Watch this space
👀

Henry Ng

Like that very unfair to users la.

Henry Ng

StarHub Facebook/Instagram posted this:

Loading the future of connectivity... Something hot (and fast) is about to drop soon!
Watch this space
👀

Look like some Ads and do not think it is something that great. Remember before 10Gbps trial and even now, they advertised that 10Gbps is like super super fast. Actual it is just so so only. Before 4k UHD TV came out also many say how good is 4k UHD TV. Just a simple upgrade only. Mobile 5G network is another example where ads say this good that good.

Singrish

Look like some Ads and do not think it is something that great. Remember before 10Gbps trial and even now, they advertised that 10Gbps is like super super fast. Actual it is just so so only. Before 4k UHD TV came out also many say how good is 4k UHD TV. Just a simple upgrade only. Mobile 5G network is another example where ads say this good that good.
Sometimes end user need to adjust expectations. 10 gbps is of course faster than 1 gbps but if you expect lightning fast speeds esp if the server is hosted overseas & its peak period, no way lor.

Likewise its not that 4K is no good, but depends on your content. If watching mediacorp of course no diff lah. Even if netflix, not all content is 4K & even if the movie is 4K, are you subscribed to Netflix Premium? Cos the other 2 plans don’t support 4K. Best would be blu-ray.

As for 5G its still quite new which is why for some telco NSA is ok but SA not great & some telco both NSA & SA also CMI.

And again it depends on expectations & also usage too. If just watching Netflix or Youtube or using social media or web browsing, you don’t need 5G lah let’s face it, 4G is more than enough so naturally it feels like 5G is pointless.

Its like at home if you have 1 gbps broadband its more than enough for netflix. So getting 10 gbps will be pointless and you will NOT see any improvement when watching Netflix.

But if you have specific uses and needs which could be addressed by 5G or 10 gbps, then you will of course see the benefits.

Henry Ng

Sometimes end user need to adjust expectations. 10 gbps is of course faster than 1 gbps but if you expect lightning fast speeds esp if the server is hosted overseas & its peak period, no way lor.

Likewise its not that 4K is no good, but depends on your content. If watching mediacorp of course no diff lah. Even if netflix, not all content is 4K & even if the movie is 4K, are you subscribed to Netflix Premium? Cos the other 2 plans don’t support 4K. Best would be blu-ray.

As for 5G its still quite new which is why for some telco NSA is ok but SA not great & some telco both NSA & SA also CMI.

And again it depends on expectations & also usage too. If just watching Netflix or Youtube or using social media or web browsing, you don’t need 5G lah let’s face it, 4G is more than enough so naturally it feels like 5G is pointless.

Its like at home if you have 1 gbps broadband its more than enough for netflix. So getting 10 gbps will be pointless and you will NOT see any improvement when watching Netflix.

But if you have specific uses and needs which could be addressed by 5G or 10 gbps, then you will of course see the benefits.
When download big files of course it is faster but not as fast as what they put in advertisement. It is those advertisement that make user think it is lightning fast. We are on Homehub UltraSpeed so we have the Netflix premium and 4K UHD is clearer than FHD. Premier live in 4k UHD is clear, at least there are 4k UHD contents now. However, before such UHD contents and UHD TV came in, there are many who say that UHD is this good and that good so many of us have lots of imagination and expected to see something great.

williamyiyi

Sorry to ask, but is the super admin password the same for all users? I try to call in to ask, CS says they don't have :)
Can anyone share the super admin with me? I appreciate any help you can provide.

Mach3.2

Sorry to ask, but is the super admin password the same for all users? I try to call in to ask, CS says they don't have :)
Can anyone share the super admin with me? I appreciate any help you can provide.
It's unique to every ONR. If you didn't catch it during the initial ONR setup by the ISP tech, then you're probably **** outta luck.

Someone managed to change his ONR for an ONT by escalating his case.

williamyiyi

It's unique to every ONR. If you didn't catch it during the initial ONR setup by the ISP tech, then you're probably **** outta luck.

Someone managed to change his ONR for an ONT by escalating his case.
I see, thank you bro.
By the way bro, can we replace the current ONR with this GPON ONU Stick?
I asked the installer that day, but they didn't know what it was and told me they could not.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.