Ironwolf!!!!!All my 4 HDD bought around same time….. siao liao this time
??? anything wrong with it?Ironwolf!!!!!
??? anything wrong with it?
I managed to found a 2017 HGST 8TB HDD that I kept as spare and now repairing it....Disk 1 (Ironwolf is detectable now too and will try to repair after Disk 3 done)
Order 1 N300 8TB from online last night too.....
I did monthly scrubbing test.Do you run regular smart test on your drives?
Drive failures are heng xuay one, though having having 2 drives go bad so close to each other is unusual. I would also wonder if the sata connectors in the NAS itself is okay or not.
Anyway best backup the data first, your volume is not too big thankfully get a large 18TB should be able to back it up while u do repairs.
I managed to found a 2017 HGST 8TB HDD that I kept as spare and now repairing it....Disk 1 (Ironwolf is detectable now too and will try to repair after Disk 3 done)
I did monthly scrubbing test.
I only copy those photos to another Nvme....copy to large HDD will takes a very long time right?
usually how to backup, plug it to external HDD or backup via PC?
Last time my DS418+ sata got issue, buy new HDD also same and data lost...
No Spare alot, all 4 used for 2 disk failure tolerance.Okay but you didn't do any regular smart test checks? I'm just curious if any warning signs came up before the failure if you had. But at TanKianW said sudden failures happen as well
If you have a spare slot you can place in the new 18TB drive, create a volume and copy the data over. 14TB of data should take about a day to copy. Of course there is a risk of the main volume crashing while this happens, I would copy the data in small bites just in case.
If you dun have a spare slot it be alot trickier and alot more troublesome, but you could take out one defective drive and use the same method above to create a new Storage Pool 2 / Vol 2 then use the move function to move folders from Vol 1 to Vol 2, Then delete away Storage Pool 1 and Vol 1 and recreate a new one to move the folders back from from Storage Pool 2 / Vol 2 to the new Storage Pool 1 / Vol 1
Copy via USB would be painfully slow increase the risk of failure as well due to the time needed
But tbh I'll be more concerned if it was a Sata controller failure of more NAS hardware related, cause if so then the above be a waste of time to perform.
No Spare alot, all 4 used for 2 disk failure tolerance.
Ya I just USB before and it seems to take forever and out of sudden will disconnected, therefore I never backup and only copy those I need.
And I bought a 4 TB nvme just for copy because the speed is really slow....
DRIVE 1 is detectable under HDD/SSD since this morning when I logged in but not found in the next 2 photo.Yeah USB to backup is definitely not the option, just to understand the situation
You have Drive 1 which is showing signs of being an issue, Drive 3 removed from the array. Drive 1 still remain in the array itself?
If Drive 3 is removed why not attached it an external drive reader and run a Seatools test on it, determine if its really a drive fault. If so then you at least know its a drive issue not a synology hardware issue then proceed to repair the drive. Maybe turn off the NAS meanwhile also while the test are being run
These days Synology hardware issues are quite common, my only concern is that its a sata issue then u be wasting ur time rebuilding the volume, backing up etc
DRIVE 1 is detectable under HDD/SSD since this morning when I logged in but not found in the next 2 photo.
The disk 1 that detected gone again while doing the repair.Anyway if u got one of the drives out, best run a seatools test. A thorough test see if the drive really got issues or not. probably also open a ticket with Synology support.
The disk 1 that detected gone again while doing the repair.
Running Seatools now, short test passed.
Long self test halfway disk removed error pop out and aborted test.
the 2 ironwolf 8TB, 1 is confirm dead.If connected via USB could be the system inactivity causing the test to abort, can try plugging directly into the computer if you are on a desktop?
Hows the rebuild coming along, sounds like its a whisker away from failure if another drive goes, fingers cross mate!
the 2 ironwolf 8TB, 1 is confirm dead.
showing CRC error and I googled online, it's as good as dead and unusable liao right?
The other drive, need to reinsert a few times before it got detected and prompted critical warning straight away.
I'm now doing a S.M.A.R.T on the drive in slot 1 while waiting for my N300 to arrive.
the 2 ironwolf 8TB, 1 is confirm dead.
showing CRC error and I googled online, it's as good as dead and unusable liao right?
The other drive, need to reinsert a few times before it got detected and prompted critical warning straight away.
I'm now doing a S.M.A.R.T on the drive in slot 1 while waiting for my N300 to arrive.
I got 4 Ironwolf 8TB bought on Jan, Feb and August 2020.May I ask how long have you been using the ironwolfs?
if I’m not wrong, you need to send back to the shop that you had purchased from and they will RMA for you. There are a few distributors for Synology products.H!
Need help! Need to send in my 923 for repair. Is the service centre still at Hight Street? Google search not helpful at all.
Thanks in advance!