YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

d5dude

Haha even if I put in more then, I wouldn't have had the conviction to hold them like you did with AMD from the early years till now. I sold off some of my SG stocks during the 07/08 crisis when they recovered and breakeven a little bit! I rmbr you mentioned AMD dropped 50%+ after you bought? That would freak me out already, much less continue to hold it long term.

You should be freaked out if most of your portfolio is in one stock and it goes down 50+%. Statistically most stocks that suffer a 70% drawdown never recover.

yslvlys

You should be freaked out if most of your portfolio is in one stock and it goes down 50+%. Statistically most stocks that suffer a 70% drawdown never recover.
If most of portfolio are in one stock, I would already freaked out even if 20% drop. So those who became multi - multi millionaires like CG thru' concentration in Tesla, and others thru Nvda, AMD, Meta etc really deserve their payday.

DevilPlate

If most of portfolio are in one stock, I would already freaked out even if 20% drop. So those who became multi - multi millionaires like CG thru' concentration in Tesla, and others thru Nvda, AMD, Meta etc really deserve their payday.
Depends on the amt lor…

when yng…all in 50-100k into 1 stock also OK lah….lost all still can earn back.
make it big can pump into condo etc

wutawa

Depends on the amt lor…

if u have little net worth like me, u can go all in without much worry. once i hit a few m (if it ever happens), i will force myself to adjust to safer approach.
my networth went up $8k for jan. it is a good start and i am really happy.

sold amzn (breakeven) and bought visa and bitcoin etf.
i put bitcoin etf as a separate category from cspx. 4 shades of purple represent shares.
aaaa.jpg

yslvlys

Depends on the amt lor…

Can earn back but take how long?Those news articles say 100k by 30 one see comments already many people kpkb not realistic. Even if starting annual income 100k, also need 4-5 years just to earn back. 10k all in maybe still OK (like lordlao 10k each in Nvda and Meta many moons ago) but 100k all in like too risky.

DevilPlate

Can earn back but take how long?Those news articles say 100k by 30 one see comments already many people kpkb not realistic. Even if starting annual income 100k, also need 4-5 years just to earn back. 10k all in maybe still OK (like lordlao 10k each in Nvda and Meta many moons ago) but 100k all in like too risky.
Today 2024, 50-100k really “peanut”

i said before….marry a equally good/capable spouse can propel yr family wealth alot faster.

yslvlys

Today 2024, 50-100k really “peanut”

i said before….marry a equally good/capable spouse can propel yr family wealth alot faster.
Lol you good 100k is peanuts. Those 100k by 30 are recent years articles. Congrats to you. Even with 1M now, 100k is still precious and more than peanuts to me.
Then bbfa how? Destined to lead hard life and be poorer? 😅

d5dude

Lol you good 100k is peanuts. Those 100k by 30 are recent years articles. Congrats to you. Even with 1M now, 100k is still precious and more than peanuts to me.

Yea 100k is peanuts in MM/SSI, but its definitely not a trivial sum of money outside of this board or even in general.

According to UBS' global wealth report (2023), the median net wealth of adults in SG, which includes primary residence stands at only about 100k USD, this number is only about a quarter of the average net wealth in Singapore (top 10 globally). What this means is that while there are many really wealthy individuals in Singapore, the vast majority (as observed by the median) arent really that wealthy.

Also bear in mind that these numbers are accurate as at end of 2022, since the stock market has mostly recovered in 2023, we have to assume that this gulf is even wider now, average would probably be 5X that of the median.

revhappy

Yes, but if Fed didn't raise interest rates, I think he would have done better and his portfolio would have already hit 1M earlier. With interest rates cutting soon, his portfolio could rise much more in due time probably than most other pple portfolio comparatively.

Nobody knows. As per your logic, with FED raising rates, all asset classes should have crashed, but most asset classes are close to all time highs.

Also FED rate cuts should already be priced in into REITS just like in other asset classes.

I think good REITs will continue to rise and bad REITs will continue to languish. If you buy the REITS ETF I think you will just get average market performance, like the rest of the broad market.

stanlawj

Nobody knows. As per your logic, with FED raising rates, all asset classes should have crashed, but most asset classes are close to all time highs.

Also FED rate cuts should already be priced in into REITS just like in other asset classes.

I think good REITs will continue to rise and bad REITs will continue to languish. If you buy the REITS ETF I think you will just get average market performance, like the rest of the broad market.
A good REIT is one that has zero debt.
Obviously no good REITS exist.

yslvlys

REITS did draw down quite a bit even for the good ones and still have not recovered. Going forward, I'm just trying to say any back testing now is not meaningful as our investment lifespan still has some way to go and diff people have diff risk profiles and DW's portfolio could just be a temp "blip" and may still do better. But as you say, nobody really knows.

d5dude

A good REIT is one that has zero debt.
Obviously no good REITS exist.

I think it’s the underlying asset quality that matters, leverage is not a big problem if rents keep pace but obviously a lot of REITs dun have pricing power. It’s no different from investing in other single stocks, most are garbage that offer returns no better than treasury bills, it’s the outliers that deliver all the stock market returns in the end.

yslvlys

Yea 100k is peanuts in MM/SSI, but its definitely not a trivial sum of money outside of this board or even in general.

According to UBS' global wealth report (2023), the median net wealth of adults in SG, which includes primary residence stands at only about 100k USD, this number is only about a quarter of the average net wealth in Singapore (top 10 globally). What this means is that while there are many really wealthy individuals in Singapore, the vast majority (as observed by the median) arent really that wealthy.

Also bear in mind that these numbers are accurate as at end of 2022, since the stock market has mostly recovered in 2023, we have to assume that this gulf is even wider now, average would probably be 5X that of the median.
Yes, MM/SSI folks here are probably lil bit more financial savvy. So all the more general youngsters shd be careful about investing 100k, not all in as it is hard to earn and accumulate back.

sohguanh

Yes, MM/SSI folks here are probably lil bit more financial savvy. So all the more general youngsters shd be careful about investing 100k, not all in as it is hard to earn and accumulate back.
Yes the youngsters should read my post I always scout for cheap minimum amount to invest. In fact all new investment instruments my first criteria is minimum amount. Only when pass this criteria then I take a deeper look at what it is doing. Using this approach unlikely to throw away 100k so easily.

DevilPlate

Bbfa exercise more and socialise more lah….y give urself a lifetime jailterm and stay forever buibui and alone sia whahaha

DevilPlate

A married couple going for BTO, easily exceed networth >100k each upon MOP based on their primary resi asset alone.

DevilPlate

Thats y yr mindset and mine vastly different.
Im very much a risk taker….last time max out my housing loan….buy another one once i have enough for downpayment (no absd that time :)) and even took equity home loan to buy stocks in 08/09

Young just chiong!!! You have the most valuable asset which is TIME :)

yslvlys

Thats y yr mindset and mine vastly different.
Im very much a risk taker….last time max out my housing loan….keep buying once i have enough downpayment (no absd that time :)) and even took equity home loan to buy stocks in 08/09
Yup is mindset and risk profile different. Good it has worked out for you and you bought the right counters. Bought wrong counters could have gone other way as well. Luck plays a big part also.

limster

rGfATxH.jpg

Yup is mindset and risk profile different. Good it has worked out for you and you bought the right counters. Bought wrong counters could have gone other way as well. Luck plays a big part also.

Luck pays a big part in getting excess returns above market returns. But correct investing mindset ensures that you don't lose money.

The general trend of the stock market has been up. In 2009, if you put the names of stocks found in major indices on a wall and threw darts at 30 of them, you will make money if you are able to hold the stocks. The return is not from good luck in choosing the right stocks, but the mindset required to hold the stocks and not get scared and sell.

In 2020 my portfolio lost 35% of its value. My reaction was to buy more because its best to buy when stocks are cheap. As you can see from the chart, the V-shaped recovery was short and sharp. The only regret I have is not buying more!

The power of the internet means that our discussions from the 2020 covid crash are all archived. Good to go back and read and see what improvements I could have made to my investing strategy:

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ations-and-positioning.6183736/post-125534096

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.