Is there such HR hiring practice?

tiger2013

Say you saw a job adv for 8k-10k/mth salary.
After interviewed you matched like 80% of the JD and what the hiring manager is looking for, but your current salary is much lower.
You told the recruiter your expected salary is 8k, then the company ask for your current salary, cause they will verify once you are onboard.
The recruiter got back and informed that this company got a policy that max increment only 15% so it’s hard to match expected salary?

Isn’t internal policies use for salary increment only? Also apply to new hire? This role also requires you to guide and manage new joiner, so the responsibility is higher. Is the HR trying to pay low ball since the budget already set till 10k by management? Anyone encountered such scenario before?
I think it really depends on company. For bigger companies with the budget set in place, they will likely pay what they said, i.e. $8k to $10k.

But for companies with a flexible budget, they might not offer what they say. If they come back with that, then normally what I do is to probe about their training and what expensive courses you can take with the money saved from your salary. If you like their training programme and stats on expensive courses that people have taken, then it could be a good compromise. Otherwise, depending on how far off the offer is vs the budget, you can choose to reject them.

AntonioPuerta

Brand not as good as my current one, welfare I think current one also better. But Glassdoor wise this new coy much better, 3.3 vs 4.6?
Not sure how’s his working style but when talk to him can feel that he is those very objective kind won’t bother about simi HR standard questions as he only ask technical questions and my experience. It’s also a fintech and manpower kept lean. Maybe it’s a Chinese HQ that’s why quite ngiao?

my personal experience ah...better be careful of chinese HQ.

my points below:

-u might have to work 9-9-6 culture like what Jack Ma advocates

-your chinese may have to be good, ESPECIALLY explaining technical jargon terms/lingo in chinese

-they like to ask this ask that ask everything, which gives hints that they may be very choosy n fussy especially when it comes to picking candidates to be their employees. this happen to me before so i ask the hirer, "why so many rounds of interviews for just a entry/junior level role?"

-usually choosy/fussy management have some sort of OCD. they want u to do things their way, and it may not be the fastest n most efficient manner to solve problems

-their solving processes are crap and they refuse to streamline/improve it

KnobKnob

Brand not as good as my current one, welfare I think current one also better. But Glassdoor wise this new coy much better, 3.3 vs 4.6?
Not sure how’s his working style but when talk to him can feel that he is those very objective kind won’t bother about simi HR standard questions as he only ask technical questions and my experience. It’s also a fintech and manpower kept lean. Maybe it’s a Chinese HQ that’s why quite ngiao?
Lol Chinese HQ.

Hmmm..better think properly before you accept. Lean = possible 996

Got ask about work load boh.

tiger2013

wtf was the HR thinking, any logical person won’t move his/her ass to new coy with lesser or same salary. Is like taking risk without any benefit.:crazy:
Some HR are really open. Then I simply poke back. If need to go back office, I reject. Your salary doesn't cover my travel and food costs.

100% remote or 100% reject. None will offer 100% remote, so I just reject.

KnobKnob

my personal experience ah...better be careful of chinese HQ.

my points below:

-u might have to work 9-9-6 culture like what Jack Ma advocates

-your chinese may have to be good, ESPECIALLY explaining technical jargon terms/lingo in chinese

-they like to ask this ask that ask everything, which gives hints that they may be very choosy n fussy especially when it comes to picking candidates to be their employees. this happen to me before so i ask the hirer, "why so many rounds of interviews for just a entry/junior level role?"

-usually choosy/fussy management have some sort of OCD. they want u to do things their way, and it may not be the fastest n most efficient manner to solve problems

-their solving processes are crap and they refuse to streamline/improve it
Lol process crap = more stupid workload.

Better think thrice TS

Xiaoxiong99

u dun deserve the 8K tbh.
need to word ur words properly if u wan the $$.

no free lesson but if u paynow me $50, i can guide u how to navigate this situation.

lalalalalala

Yes. Is unique to sg. Hr like to use this tactic to lowball.

I got ask before if i setup a company make myself ceo and pay myself 10k then am i eligible for the 10k as advertised the hr say yes

Ryoin82

Some points to consider,

1) While the hiring manager thinks you may fit, that’s based on a 60-90 min interview. The other logical data point is your salary (which is an indirect representation of your current job worth)

2) Having said that, a progressive HR will strive to pay right to avoid future internal equity issues. Pay right here doesn’t mean pay to the budget cap.

3) An applicant who has been underpaid previously can attempt to negotiate based on the applied job’s worth when being low balled. But, try to understand they can’t close the gap overnight. Because your hiring manager and HR will look very stupid when you can’t perform.

4) Can consider negotiating (with hiring manager) for out of cycle increment once you have met certain performance conditions after a period of time. This will speed up you catching up with your org’s peers in terms of pay.

volarth

The intent for the coy/HR is to hire suitable staff at lowest cost.

So someone long ago made an internal policy to limit X% increase from last drawn. This also also serves to prevent favouritism during hiring.

Eg - The Manager has a new chiobu he/she wants to hire but as the pretty vase only drew 1K/mth previously, HR will block the new vase from being hired above $1150 (assume 15%).

Of course any internal policy can be circumnavigated with 1 level higher approvals.

Is this still practised? Yes
Is there MoM guideline for employers to not ask and peg offered salaries to market rate instead of last drawn = Yes
Is there any penalty for the employer who does not adhere to above guideline by MoM = No

PikaPika33

that why the practise or pegging to your last drawn is stupid
and they should not ask anyway

what i got paid here is determined by your job duties and roles here
got nothing to do with what i last drawn

NeonX

this kind usually the 8-10k is just to get applicants, actual budget for the role isn't high. If your current is way off this range and fits the JD, means they're either overpaying for this role or falsely advertising this pay range to have an advantage

lalalalalala

Depend on your skill to tell the HR to f off. But if you amdk anything also can ignore liao. Just power through.
Not only amdk. As long as non sinkie they don't follow this stupid rule. Look at our linkpoint country friends. U think they fresh grad (real or fake) or work in their country got draw 5k sgd meh? And they need a min 5k because of EP

HumJiBeng

Yes that is why last drawn is important. Very common.

I read news the person fake payslip to bump up his last drawn so that new companies offer higher. The person got jailed
After interviewed you matched like 80% of the JD and what the hiring manager is looking for, but your current salary is much lower.
You told the recruiter your expected salary is 8k, then the company ask for your current salary, cause they will verify once you are onboard.
The recruiter got back and informed that this company got a policy that max increment only 15% so it’s hard to match expected salary?

Isn’t internal policies use for salary increment only? Also apply to new hire? This role also requires you to guide and manage new joiner, so the responsibility is higher. Is the HR trying to pay low ball since the budget already set till 10k by management? Anyone encountered such scenario before?

zueinder

Not only amdk. As long as non sinkie they don't follow this stupid rule. Look at our linkpoint country friends. U think they fresh grad (real or fake) or work in their country got draw 5k sgd meh? And they need a min 5k because of EP
Because sinkie is beh kan one.

volarth

Something to note is also the usage of Salary bands. In larger organisations there is typically a range for each role/level. eg 4-7K for a manager.

These bands exist to ensure fairness in salary vs role/seniority across the organisation so you won't have big gaps for different employees doing the same/similar role.

Of course every applicant wants the 7K... it's up to the hiring manager (not HR) to identify skills/job fit. The applicant will have to tick every box to be offered the 7K (in my example).

Clarence NMT

If unemployed mean salary 1.5k? Of cos is cheapskate company, named and shame

aarontansp

I qn this before. Why hr asked for last drawn? Salary is what u are going to pay me based on skills and experience. Not last drawn. Hiring can call up old company do background and referral checks, this is good enuff.

If what you are offering is lower than my last drawn, then yes, I will gladly provide as evidence

Tschuus

Whatever the “policy” HR is telling you is probably Bs la. Go above the posted salary range also possible if they really want you and can justify . But in your case, they dont think you really fit the job la . They are thinking of either trying you cheap or continue to interview la.

Joseph12

Ya
They're BS

Cos the 8000 to 10000 is what they're dangling to prospective employee
Possible no intention to offer even that

You can call their bluff
But maybe end up no job offer

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.