Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

The_King

Mr King,
Given you one more chance, will you let Coolserve to install for you again?
Do they sub-con out to external for installation? Someone told me they got only 2 team for installation Dept, dk how real?
maybe yes cause the CSO is active, i dont spot any gap when they connect the insulation or installation all ok other then using feon to purg the pipe. but my 2nd ac maybe is newway. my gut tell me unless the 1st install is very good, getting another recommaned company to install is better. maybe pay them a fee to help check the 1st ac workmanship

i dont believe they got only 2 team and not sure if they subout. they also do commercial side. cannot be only 2 team and they got so many van, go their FB to see it
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100063773521353&sk=photos

adezio777

I was told for GC, if your order is system 3 or 4, usually they send more experience worker. DK how true it is? But make sense, experience worker are needed to end the job before 8pm.

adezio777

i dont believe they got only 2 team and not sure if they subout. they also do commercial side. cannot be only 2 team and they got so many van, go their FB

Ya, very strange that they got only 2 teams.
Maybe it saves them a lot of trouble by claiming they only got 2 teams.
Or their business dwindles? Afterall, they never have advertisement.

BTW, how serious is the consequences for using feon to purg the pipe?

mark lim

I turn off my ME 4A38VA current limit too. it cool the room very fast, damn happy how smart i am initially.
6 yr later, i see the monthly PUB bill i also scare, sometimes can go up to $200 for 1 people living in 4rm HDB.
I think the compressor fan coil got dirt, then it needs to rotate extra hard. so, without current limit, the electrical bill shoot up.

any expert know is DAIKIN also come with current limit function?
Just use the Aircon. You must know that you unlocked the extra power for free. Already “saved” 😂

adezio777

Just use the Aircon. You must know that you unlocked the extra power for free. Already “saved” 😂

HAHAHAHA......

BTW, do we really ever need to wash the compressor?
My aircon man claim dont need to wash.
If you look at those aircon outside those high rise office building, do you think they wash?

mark lim

HAHAHAHA......

BTW, do we really ever need to wash the compressor?
My aircon man claim dont need to wash.
If you look at those aircon outside those high rise office building, do you think they wash?
I would think slight benefit. Depends on how difficult. I washed before. Could hardly feel any difference. Unless you can access the sensor readings I doubt it will be possible to measure. Maybe can track with power consumption but then there are even more variables.

petetherock

BTW, don't scrimp on servicing
I did a cleaning year end and it was dripping because it was really dirty and stuck, so the pipe was not flowing..
Preventive maintainence is important.

petetherock

The other thing to note:
If you need to open and close the aircon, take it a apart a few times a year, ask yourself and more importantly your Aircon man, which one is easy to take out w/o damaging it... then look up this thread to see which one is most often mentioned..

007Mi6

I was told for GC, if your order is system 3 or 4, usually they send more experience worker. DK how true it is? But make sense, experience worker are needed to end the job before 8pm.

I talk and msg with the sales staff to get an in-house senior installer lah, 4+1 and with extended warranty.

Also managed to reprice and get the $300 Panasonic vouchers.

The_King

Ya, very strange that they got only 2 teams.
Maybe it saves them a lot of trouble by claiming they only got 2 teams.
Or their business dwindles? Afterall, they never have advertisement.

BTW, how serious is the consequences for using feon to purg the pipe?
I don't think business dwindles, most ppl in use ac

No purg I guessing compressor work harder (depend on how much gas is release) the copper pipe, copper pipe still not clean enough as still got moisture or dust etc...

Heng me 2 different company to cut risk

adezio777

I talk and msg with the sales staff to get an in-house senior installer lah, 4+1 and with extended warranty.

Also managed to reprice and get the $300 Panasonic vouchers.

Ya, the sales staff in GC physical store also tell me they can put in remark that you want experience staff to install, but whether the Installation Dept want to follow the remark or not is another matter beyond their control.

Maybe i will just let them do system 3 and not system 4. System 4 will be too expensive for me to recover if they mess up the installation. Esp if choose to install in June, a sch holiday, many parent also want to replace their aircon during this month. Sure, lead to overbooking and then you know lar.

mikezuper

I have a very puzzling issue.

After reno, I dont know where my aircon pipe output is! So I cant vacuum from the output end or check if there is any blockagw (touch wood so far is good)

adezio777

Heng me 2 different company to cut risk
Har, you already confirm go to another company for the second aircon?

Actually my current aircon is done by Coolserve too. That time they also did something that irritate me. They give me copper pipe of another brand instead of what they supposed to provide brand.
But now already number 8 yrs, as long as installation work is concern, nothing bad happen, not a single leak encounter.

I need to change because the compressor overheats easily recently.

Now GC offer me Daikin at $500 cheaper than Coolserve of exactly same configuration, plus that $300 climate voucher, its $800 difference.

For ME, both offer same price. This type of case its confirm Coolserve will get my business.

The_King

Har, you already confirm go to another company for the second aircon?

Actually my current aircon is done by Coolserve too. That time they also did something that irritate me. They give me copper pipe of another brand instead of what they supposed to provide brand.
But now already number 8 yrs, as long as installation work is concern, nothing bad happen, not a single leak encounter.

I need to change because the compressor overheats easily recently.

Now GC offer me Daikin at $500 cheaper than Coolserve of exactly same configuration, plus that $300 climate voucher, its $800 difference.

For ME, both offer same price. This type of case its confirm Coolserve will get my business.

My 2nd ac no need so fast as I dont want both my ac to be of same age

Planning end 2025 or mid 2026. And after 2 yr plus no leak and everything good maybe o get them install again.

Workmanship issues take at least 1 yr to surface

For GC if you know the team ID (it in the invoice) you can tell GC salesperson the team Id you want.

GC is hit or miss, no one will know u kena who, unless you know someone who work there (maybe they can help check who the better installer or higher post that teach newbie installer)

Can go social media some complaints less then 1yr got issues, just recently there a post someone GC installer have workmanship issues then GC 2nd team to resolved it, some many yr no issues

In short it hit or miss

007Mi6

Ya, the sales staff in GC physical store also tell me they can put in remark that you want experience staff to install, but whether the Installation Dept want to follow the remark or not is another matter beyond their control.

Maybe i will just let them do system 3 and not system 4. System 4 will be too expensive for me to recover if they mess up the installation. Esp if choose to install in June, a sch holiday, many parent also want to replace their aircon during this month. Sure, lead to overbooking and then you know lar.

Then you do in July…. Important for you to be on site. Any installer could also mess up

petetherock

Everyone will want the senior guy to come, so where will they find so many?
They can say you will get a senior guy, but if you have paid, will they ensure it?
Like everyone wants to pay subsidised rates and get the big boss to operate on them, I don't know if it is possible if you pay the same low price... food for thought...

007Mi6

Everyone will want the senior guy to come, so where will they find so many?
They can say you will get a senior guy, but if you have paid, will they ensure it?
Like everyone wants to pay subsidised rates and get the big boss to operate on them, I don't know if it is possible if you pay the same low price... food for thought...

actually, is just a request for them to take notice. Also a warning sign. You still need to know your stuff. You cannot compare hospital to aircon installation. In SG hospital is more regulated.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.