Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

petetherock

We are truly Singaporeans..
After 10 000 posts, many of which are asking the same thing, we still get posts pretending to be questions when the agenda is to justify a lower powered / cheaper unit, when the poster has already made up their minds..
Our planet isn't getting any cooler, so the best way is to go green and not use an aircon
If you want it, be prepared to pay for it and size it up correctly to enjoy many years of cool service instead of regrets and buyers' remorse
Other ways to mitigate the bill include facing, less sunlight via blinds / V Cool, fan usage and using a higher set temperature...
Typing from a nicely cooled room that only took under 4 min with a 18k BTU System One ME and very comfy...
Do your homework, read up and check the specs correctly friends..
Don't come here to justify your choices, come here for facts and real answers... cheers

obichacha

I think more important is, whether the CU and FCU can meet the needs first more important....

I saw my neighbours 6 FCU, split them to 4 (4H38VG) plus 2 (3H28VG). End up they pay more but not enough cooling for the living and dining.
Ask your friend remove the 8.5A limits.
3H28VG for sure can cover everywhere.
my 28VG turn on 18+13 dining and living room to cover up study room and kitchen as well.

obichacha

Panasonic compressor does not have current limiter? I can't find it in instructions manual. Anyways so should I take the mkm75vvmg or mkm85vvmg? Based on my new 12k+9k+9k all 3 turned on usage with 25 deg.

Daikin MKM85VVMG (8.5A)
2.5 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.58 - 1.11 KW/H)
3.5 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.90 - 1.44 KW/H) THIS ONE IS CRAZY HIGH WATTAGE (TRY DON'T KEEP OPEN DOOR/CLOSE)
2.5 + 2.5 (INPUT WATTS 1.23 - 1.81 KW/H MAX)
2.5+2.5+3.5 (10+10+13 Starmex) 7kw (23.884 BTU) - 7.47kw (25,487 BTU) INPUT POWER 1.71-1.82 KW/H
VS
Daikin MKM75VVMG (8.5A)
2.5 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.58 - 1.11 KW/H)
3.5 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.88 - 1.56 KW/H) THIS ONE IS CRAZY HIGH WATTAGE (TRY DON'T KEEP OPEN DOOR/CLOSE)
2.5 + 2.5 (INPUT WATTS 1.22 - 1.85 KW/H MAX)
2.5+2.5+3.5 (10+10+13 Starmex) 6kw (20.472 BTU) - 6.95kw (23,714 BTU) INPUT POWER 1.22-1.85 KW/H
VS
STARMEX 3H28VG (8.5A)
10 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.62 - 0.90 KW/H)
13 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.81 - 1.00 KW/H) THE LOWEREST INPUT WATTS
10 + 10 (INPUT WATTS 1.39 - 1.92 KW/H MAX) HIGHEST
10+10+13 6.2kw (21,154 BTU) - 7.10kw (24,225 BTU) INPUT POWER 1.16-1.92 KW/H (THE STANDARD RATING IS LOWEREST)
VS
STARMEX 4H33VG (8.5A)
10 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.62 - 0.90 KW/H)
13 SINGLE ROOM (INPUT WATTS 0.82 - 1.05 KW/H) THE LOWEREST INPUT WATTS
10 + 10 (INPUT WATTS 1.39 - 1.90 KW/H MAX) HIGHEST
10+10+13 6.5kw (22,178 BTU) - 7.10kw (24,225 BTU) INPUT POWER 1.45-1.90 KW/H (THE STANDARD RATING IS LOWEREST)

Conclusion :
DAIKIN 85VVMG IS BETTER TO INVESTED FOR 8.5A ONLY.
STARMEX 3H28VG VS 4H33VG BOTH OF THEM ARE THE SAME CAPACITY FOR 8.5A LIMITS ONLY.
IN-TERM OF COOLING AND ENERGY SAVER, STARMEX 3H28VG STILL THE BEST.

Hope this help for you to decide whichever you want

Panasonic, ME and Daikin online Catalog can download here:
https://www.panasonic.com/sg/air-solutions/catalogue.html
https://www.mitsubishielectric.com....itioning-residential/starmex-r32-multi-split/
https://www.daikin.com.sg/resources/ck/files/catalogue/R32 Residential Catalogue_v2_compressed.pdf

Jun Jun

Panasonic aircon also have limiter. But usually their compressor is unlocked. If u want to save energy at the expense of faster cooling need to tune it.

obichacha

Panasonic aircon also have limiter. But usually their compressor is unlocked. If u want to save energy at the expense of faster cooling need to tune it.
Limiter thing can asking your contractor.
So far never heard users feedback about 8.5A on Panasonic. Their specs didn’t mention on 8.5A chart

Fellowes

Hitachi Aircon outdoor compressor faulty again in Jun 2024 when last year in 2023 just change the main board with the Gain City extended warranty as the compressor also stop working. The indoor shown 4 red blinking light and outdoor compressor fan not even spinning, totally silent.

Bought in 2020, by 2024 not working twice. Really sian and xuay, weather so hot nowadays yet GC appointment fully booked for June 2024 slot, wait till early July. ☹️

Cannot buy hitachi aircon….

obichacha

Hitachi Aircon outdoor compressor spoil again in Jun 2024 when last year in 2023 just change the main board with the Gain City extended warranty as the compressor also stop working. The indoor shown 4 red blinking light and outdoor compressor fan not even spinning, totally silent.

Bought in 2020, by 2024 not working twice. Really sian and xuay, weather so hot nowadays yet GC appointment fully booked for June 2024 slot, wait till early July. ☹️

Cannot buy hitachi aircon….

Hitachi not very popular in Singapore or even in Japan.
Japan can spot everywhere like daikin, Mitsubishi electric or Panasonic only.
GC fully appointments, then go for allbest aircon or coolserve

Fellowes

Hitachi not very popular in Singapore or even in Japan.
In Panasonic can spot everything like daikin, Mitsubishi electric or Panasonic only.
GC fully appointments, then go for allbest aircon or coolserve
Is covered by GC extended warranty so I want them to fix it as I paid for the extended warranty, then hope it last till Mar 2025 when the warranty end. Do a brand new change out to Daikin already. Xuay Lor, last 5 years only….

Which installer to go for? I always only buy from Gain City but find that their installing quality not very good compared to last time, even the toilet the aircon pile start to leak now when condensation occurs and water droplets will slowly drip from the pipe to the white plastic cover and to the toilet floor.

Fellowes

OIC , bo Bian Liao.
just hope it done and kick in much longer lifespans
I don’t not want to risk after Mar 2025 warranty end as the compressor mainboard not cheap. So definitely change new Daikin SYSTEM 3 aircon although it is more expensive than other brands.

Looking at DAIKIN SYSTEM 3 AIRCON - WIFI
Outdoor: MKM85VVMG
3 Indoor FCU:
1X CTKM25VVMG (9000)
2X CTKM35VVMG (12000)

obichacha

I don’t not want to risk after Mar 2025 warranty end as the compressor mainboard not cheap. So definitely change new Daikin SYSTEM 3 aircon although it is more expensive than other brands.

Looking at DAIKIN SYSTEM 3 AIRCON - WIFI
Outdoor: MKM85VVMG
3 Indoor FCU:
1X CTKM25VVMG (9000)
2X CTKM35VVMG (12000)

your 2nd bedroom same size as mater bedroom ?

Fellowes

your 2nd bedroom same size as mater bedroom ?
A little smaller than master room as the room is not beside each other, is on the other side, in between is living room so want to up one size from 9000 to 12000 for that room and also up the compressor to 85VVMG instead of the standard 50 or 75VVMG.

Current hitachi sys 3 setup is 2x 9000 (both normal room) and 1x 12000 (master room) with standard compressor max 3 output, never up 1 size up thus felt that it was working very hard to cool the room that was further away, turn on around 9.30pm for all 3 FCU and the compressor is super loud till like after 12 midnight then start to quiet down. Temp set at 24 for that 2 room and 25 for the last smallest room which is beside the master room.

mark lim

A little smaller than master room as the room is not beside each other, is on the other side, in between is living room so want to up one size from 9000 to 12000 for that room and also up the compressor to 85VVMG instead of the standard 50 or 75VVMG.

Current sys 3 setup is 2x 9000 (both normal room) and 1x 12000 (master room) with standard compressor max 3 output, never up 1 size up thus felt that it was working very hard to cool the room that was further away, turn on around 9.30pm for all 3 FCU and the compressor is super loud till like after 12 midnight then start to quiet down. Temp set at 24 for that 2 room and 25 for the last smallest room which is beside the master room.
If you have space. Put a system 2 and a system 1. Will only cost a bit more. For sure better cooling. And when it breaks. You only need to change the one that spoils. Still cheaper in the long run.

Jun Jun

Limiter thing can asking your contractor.
So far never heard users feedback about 8.5A on Panasonic. Their specs didn’t mention on 8.5A chart
Yes because it comes at 100%power. If u want to limit it then must ask contractor but also risk voiding warranty. Unless its done by panasonic themselves.

Jun Jun

Current sys 3 setup is 2x 9000 (both normal room) and 1x 12000 (master room) with standard compressor max 3 output, never up 1 size up thus felt that it was working very hard to cool the room that was further away, turn on around 9.30pm for all 3 FCU and the compressor is super loud till like after 12 midnight then start to quiet down. Temp set at 24 for that 2 room and 25 for the last smallest room which is beside the master room.
Whats Ur current setup?

obichacha

Correct. So i think they are doing the right thing to ensure maximum comfort. Give people 100%
My friend just installed starmex 24k single split on 4 room BTO, he said that set on 23c most likely feel alike winter, 3 bedroom still on system 3H28VG

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.