News| S'pore wage helps M'sian man work towards early retirement

TiedInsurer

already told chu to send chur old parents to JB retirement home. it's also the solution to chur own retirement. earn SGD in chur youth, convert to MYR as chu age. this is good financial planning. garmen never said chu can have chur cake and eat it too.
But you never know when Bolehland will prata on their policy again. You already sell your HDB and book slot in nursing home liao, then they declare that starting next year, you need to invest additional SGD500k in one of their shitty bonds to have the visa to stay there if not they deny you entry for staying more then 30 consecutive nights in Bolehland.

SayPorkGuy

But you never know when Bolehland will prata on their policy again. You already sell your HDB and book slot in nursing home liao, then they declare that starting next year, you need to invest additional SGD500k in one of their shitty bonds to have the visa to stay there if not they deny you entry for staying more then 30 consecutive nights in Bolehland.
so whose fault? beggars can't be choosers.

VEF888

sinkie gov too kind, should levy some kind of tax on them, to bring the effective exchange rate to 1: 2.5 or even 2, esp for those who travel daily and don't stay here. fair game since they don't spend much here?

not like the jhks have any choice bah, they need to llst.

MiG123

Till this day still have countless daft hdb dwelling work till die sinkies pity and look down on these ‘poor’ jhk living in GCB and driving multiple contis up north

still believe they’re living their best life under the divine guidance of the PAP while everyone else out there is languishing in their third world sh1tholes

Shion

Senior Mentor
singaporeans allowed these ppl to take advantage of us

blame who ???

cet87

This one is true. MY JHK colleague said he have 4 coffeehouse in Malaysia, renting out and collect money.
Also show us his 2nd Condo purchase.

cet87

Till this day still have countless daft hdb dwelling work till die sinkies pity and look down on these ‘poor’ jhk living in GCB and driving multiple contis up north

still believe they’re living their best life under the divine guidance of the PAP while everyone else out there is languishing in their third world sh1tholes
not forgetting that they can withdraw all the CPF amount when they go back.

kleong

How many sinkies only have one hdb and insufficient funds for retirement?

lastsamurai

rough maths will tell you mah. with the multiplier from the currency exchange, work 10 years equals to averagely 30 years of wages after currency exchange. work 15-20 years more than sufficient to retire.

dont even talk about across the causeway, other FTs also the same, if PR.

they have FD in terms of CPF, they could profit off HDB (treat it as rental for their years here and then sell off when ready to go back home with capital gains; another huat). plus the currency multiplier, can retire in 40s

andyhtc

This article is from a media that rank 160th, you all believe?

the same media also reported that SM Lee says all sinkies are taken care of, but I see nobody believe in EDMW leh

Nearly all...

andyhtc

in Msia, there r many ways to live w passive income after 40s, esp owning a house or shop for rental, owning land to lease to others for farming, etc.

in Sg, other than stocks, or unit trust or fixed deposit, other type of investment like ppty ownership would be out of reach to common ppl.

a condo costing 1 mil, a shop costing 3 mil or above, & land is out of question cuz most r owned by govt.

hard to see old Msian working for a living cuz not many would want to employ someone above 40s.

Sg is good to make money when u exchange sweat & time for it.

in Msia, some can buy ppty under devt & flip when it is TOP for a profit.

this is called 楼花 & was popular in early 90s in Sg and also in HK too.

now, it's impossible to make a profit cuz of ABSD here.

ABSD_Cooling_Measures-on-27-Apr-2023.jpg

885937a8feec3d0f60cd2725e4aa7127.jpg

That is the purpose of ABSD - to minimise cornering of the market and flipping.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.