Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

RyanJ

Can share which are the hourly rate inns and hotels ? Grand sentosa hotel ? I just checked and looks like daily rates charge, how do you get the daily rate ? Walk in to ask ?

Ask lor.

I think might be in 2 or 3hrly blocks cannot remember. But be warned really bare basic and no frills. I think the tv wasn working but we wanted to sleep that early morning anyway.

I think KSL also has short ?4/6 hour blocks too, but never tried that before.

Habrosus

Can share which are the hourly rate inns and hotels ? Grand sentosa hotel ? I just checked and looks like daily rates charge, how do you get the daily rate ? Walk in to ask ?
KSL used to have, 3 hours or so. Not been there for quite a while so not sure about now.

Google review 1.0 only !!!!! lol but to be fair, only one person review ! but thanks for sharing the AC thing which is important.. lol
Normally good mostly won't review while others just want to find an avenue to vent.

Meemoosaa

Ask lor.

I think might be in 2 or 3hrly blocks cannot remember. But be warned really bare basic and no frills. I think the tv wasn working but we wanted to sleep that early morning anyway.

I think KSL also has short ?4/6 hour blocks too, but never tried that before.

KSL as in the KSL hotel ? Thanks !

RyanJ

KSL as in the KSL hotel ? Thanks !

Yes correct. I vaguely remember seeing their short duration stay advertisements in their hotel lifts.

Best call to confirm in case they were referring to the other KSL hotspring resort ..

* edit. Found it online.

kslresorts_ksr_deals_040124712.jpg

link :https://www.kslresorts.com.my/

Meemoosaa

JB veterans - can I ask what do you guys do for data roaming plans in JB ? At the moment, I'm on singtel and simply sign up to the neighbouring countries roaming plan - $5 for 1G only though it's available for 30 days. If I use my social media throughout the trip, it won't last for the day so feels a bit restrictive.

I'm on an apple phone so don't have dual simcard function and I try to avoid changing simcard as it always messes up my contacts. Just curious what do the rest of you do for all your frequent JB trips ?

edit: Just realised I do have dual simcard function on my iphone12 !!!! lol

RyanJ

I use Simba, has plenty of roaming data ( 50GB MY roaming a mth ).

My car gps Simba has 10GB MY roaming a mth and is pretty sufficient for navigation.

Some old birds here subscribe to MY network

Aaagogo

JB veterans - can I ask what do you guys do for data roaming plans in JB ? At the moment, I'm on singtel and simply sign up to the neighbouring countries roaming plan - $5 for 1G only though it's available for 30 days. If I use my social media throughout the trip, it won't last for the day so feels a bit restrictive.

I'm on an apple phone so don't have dual simcard function and I try to avoid changing simcard as it always messes up my contacts. Just curious what do the rest of you do for all your frequent JB trips ?

Most of the eateries and malls have free WiFi.

I try not to be on my phone so much when I'm enjoying overseas.

Coffeelix

I returned to jb yesterday morning after having sent my kids back on Sunday to sg.
We plan to stay till next Monday …

Meemoosaa

I use Simba, has plenty of roaming data ( 50GB MY roaming a mth ).

My car gps Simba has 10GB MY roaming a mth and is pretty sufficient for navigation.

Some old birds here subscribe to MY network

Thanks. You are making me discover SIMBA now... I've been too comfortable with Singtel all these years.

They combo sim only plans of local data + international roaming sounds almost too good to be true... is it really what it says it is ? Why am I still paying singtel like $50+ every month for 100GB and nothing else ! :oops:

Meemoosaa

No phone, no life these days... :LOL:

Ok I'm exaggerating but different generational lifestyle and habits lah.. I'm not that young but I do depend a lot on my phone for many things. Lol.

I'm thinking to explore some Msian sim cards too,..

Aaagogo

Ago, coming long weekend, will u stay in jb or zao to Thai?

No more overseas liao, school starting end of August and I have 6 textbooks to burn and drink by then.

Tomorrow one more day at library then stay in JB and study

hwsstx

Google review 1.0 only !!!!! lol but to be fair, only one person review ! but thanks for sharing the AC thing which is important.. lol
Air conditioning not very powerful...so not chill cold... better to avoid this place totally & free up the MMR waitress to myself.

Coffeelix

No more overseas liao, school starting end of August and I have 6 textbooks to burn and drink by then.

Tomorrow one more day at library then stay in JB and study
🤩 Your place in jb is too “distracting”…

You should stay around medini, less distractions cos not convenience like your place…

Anyway, enjoy your “books”

hwsstx

Thanks. You are making me discover SIMBA now... I've been too comfortable with Singtel all these years.

They combo sim only plans of local data + international roaming sounds almost too good to be true... is it really what it says it is ? Why am I still paying singtel like $50+ every month for 100GB and nothing else ! :oops:
I'm on SIMBA too - Seniors Plan, $5 a month, 1GB Roaming etc etc. You can read more about SIMBA's coverage, reception etc here
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-simba-telecom.6243080/page-577

Also you can consider the newest MVNO, 8 - it has a Forum for itself too.

RyanJ

Simba signal is not as good as the 3 main providers. But that is ok for me, I dun stream videos on my phone.

But I do need to be contactable at all times.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.