[GLGT]”Singaporeans rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost

comcrepe

"Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them.."

huh? dont want to spend $10 eating here but ok to spend thousands abroad and eat there?
because what he probably meant was that Singaporeans do not eat at high-end restaurants here. They rather go eat in Japan. For everyday meals, sure, they will eat here.

Ubi-Warrior

F&B and retail really jialat now.
Covid time people had no place to go and spend so anyhow spend. That caused a sharp demand back then.
Then inflation went up, demand went down. You see restaurants cutting their prices with offers these days to attract back customers. They can't do a perma cut because the inflated prices of ingredients and rent are still in effect.
People always say is the F&B greedy, but they never realise that their cost of running also went up alot.

Everybody running costs are rising.

Therefore everyone in private sector trying to run more efficiently.

Are FnB doing the maximum to operate as efficiently as possible , not just look to buy cheapest ingredients and labour.

App Time!!!

Ubi-Warrior

because what he probably meant was that Singaporeans do not eat at high-end restaurants here. They rather go eat in Japan. For everyday meals, sure, they will eat here.

There probably some truth in that.

When overseas folk spend a little extra to go nicer places at times. You are on holiday after all!!

App Time!!!

ramlee

Everybody running costs are rising.

Therefore everyone in private sector trying to run more efficiently.

Are FnB doing the maximum to operate as efficiently as possible , not just look to buy cheapest ingredients and labour.

App Time!!!
then public sector leh? :(

xdivider

hmm, for 12 bucks in jpn, ate 1 nagoya ramen and went next door to eat a hamburg meal at saizeriya cos wanted more meat. in sinkiepore.......

touchring1

F&B and retail really jialat now.

Covid time people had no place to go and spend so anyhow spend. That caused a sharp demand back then.

Then inflation went up, demand went down. You see restaurants cutting their prices with offers these days to attract back customers. They can't do a perma cut because the inflated prices of ingredients and rent are still in effect.

People always say is the F&B greedy, but they never realise that their cost of running also went up alot.

Retail getting a temporary support from CDC and GST vouchers.

After elections, no more vouchers, the reckoning will come.

kimsix

Don’t believe their sob stories
Covid time simi save our local fnb, post covid all shrink flate like siao, now cry mother again?

blame ukraine blame russia except themselves for profiteering

pap landlords bosses all want cheaper faster labor while shake leg collecting rent.

When peasants turn the tide against them, chut 160 sob stories again … zzz

RinoaX

hmm, for 12 bucks in jpn, ate 1 nagoya ramen and went next door to eat a hamburg meal at saizeriya cos wanted more meat. in sinkiepore.......
Even McDonald's

SG 9pc nugget already more than $~10
Japan 15 pc nuggets is only JPY 450

Large fries $5 Vs JPY250

And JP side does taste better than SG for some reason.

Really no excuse.

Smtsai

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/li...-dire-straits-more-closures-expected-year-end

“Inflation (in Singapore) is at a pretty drastic level, interest rates don’t look like they’re coming down till next year, and even some high-profile bankers I’ve spoken to warn of a recession,” he says.

“Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost 20 per cent to your bill each time. And manpower quotas are causing a really big problem.”

He adds that restaurant prices in Singapore aren’t high “because we want to charge a lot”. In fact, “if you look at it from a chef’s perspective, given the high cost of ingredients, it’s good value because we don’t make much”.

He cites the three-Michelin-starred Les Amis as an example. “When you see the amount of food they give you, (such as) the caviar, yes, it’s expensive but it’s good value. Compare that to, say Robuchon in Macau, where it costs S$600 for lunch per head, and it’s full house.”

Although some new investors have approached him and his landlord did offer to renew his lease, Koh declined, as he feels the market is the worst it’s been since Covid. In fact, he even thrived during the pandemic thanks to his captive market of expats; but once the travel floodgates opened, many left, leaving a big impact on his business.

:s14:
Pap : Mai jjww la Lawrence Wong said gst increase is to help the poor . Your restaurant no business your problem :s13:

Elfblade

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/li...-dire-straits-more-closures-expected-year-end

“Inflation (in Singapore) is at a pretty drastic level, interest rates don’t look like they’re coming down till next year, and even some high-profile bankers I’ve spoken to warn of a recession,” he says.

“Singaporeans are just not spending here. They’d rather eat in Japan, and you can’t blame them. With the rise in GST, it’s very expensive to eat here because you’re adding almost 20 per cent to your bill each time. And manpower quotas are causing a really big problem.”

He adds that restaurant prices in Singapore aren’t high “because we want to charge a lot”. In fact, “if you look at it from a chef’s perspective, given the high cost of ingredients, it’s good value because we don’t make much”.

He cites the three-Michelin-starred Les Amis as an example. “When you see the amount of food they give you, (such as) the caviar, yes, it’s expensive but it’s good value. Compare that to, say Robuchon in Macau, where it costs S$600 for lunch per head, and it’s full house.”

Although some new investors have approached him and his landlord did offer to renew his lease, Koh declined, as he feels the market is the worst it’s been since Covid. In fact, he even thrived during the pandemic thanks to his captive market of expats; but once the travel floodgates opened, many left, leaving a big impact on his business.

:s14:
For this I also put it on the ruling party.

Gattaca1812

The quality of food is not as great in Singapore as mostly are imported. Whereas, the farm to table is shorter in jpn or other parts of country. Plus its way cheaper as the food does not need to go through many middle man as well as take a flight.

On top of that, service staff are paid little in other countries and rental is low.

Sg has gone up because of the reits. On one hand we have very new buildings every 20 to 30 years. On the other, high rental is being passed on to the customers.

The price differential is very real now. Hence many are cooking at home. Rather than eat out.

Have reits that are partly co op and own by employees / people rather than capitalists.

Macrossvin

what is this service charge, nowadays need to scan to order or go counter to order, and need to go counter pay unlike last time. somemore need to pay for plain water, wipes etc
EXACTLY! isn't making payment also part of service that should the restaurant be providing? instead, they are using lack of manpower as a form of excuse....... Charging high service charge yet still demanding that we do part of the work...... Soup Restaurant is the earliest restaurant that I condemn when they first launch such standards.......I will avoid such places as much as possible.... as i feel unfairly treated.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.