Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Andrew833

I hear you. I don't understand why Woodlands as the OG of JB cross border custom is so poorly designed given Singapore's efficiency. Those crazy bus routes and lanes can really cause panic attack. šŸ˜… . There are 2 buses 160 and 170 and both can alight at Kranji MRT, sounds great in theory but in reality the crowds of 2 bus lanes will basically converge whenever one bus comes along. And if you happen to be at the lane where people in front of you prefer to wait out for the right bus number, you then have to jump and squeeze pass them to get through because all you needed is to be able to alight at Kranji MRT and so either bus is fine yet you are forced to queue for only one bus number.

Even if you have all the time in the world to wait civilly, the ventilation flow in that bus waiting area can turn you into a roast chicken on some days.

The bus route design needs a rethink, I think there should only be ONE bus going to Kranji MRT station but with increased frequency. Just give what the people need. It's not rocket science right ? I sometimes wonder if it's all done intentionally the way it is to deter too many shoppers going to JB. lol
That's the reason I switch to Woodland Interchange to take 950 but now it's a nightmare.
Now Tuas Link not many people, so relaxing. :p

Meemoosaa

That's the reason I switch to Woodland Interchange to take 950 but now it's a nightmare.
Now Tuas Link not many people, so relaxing. :p

Is there bus number 950 when returning from JB side ? I don't remember.. if not I don't mind doing the 950 route next time.. I just always default go to the 160 and 170 line.

Coffeelix

Oh .. I didn't see it that way. I actually thought the seniors who go to JB on foot and lugging luggages are the ones who has the luxury of time and energy looking for cheap thrills and it's just another activity for them to hang out with friends and past time like my parents do.

My Dad and his JB kakis wouldn't even entertain a JB eatery without AC... lol , so they are the kind who are happy with just hanging out at Citysquare lah (but yet will get calculative at spending 500% more to go second link, go figure... lol) Whereas I'm happier and jumping for joy at the discovery of a delicious RM3 Roti Telur at Gelang Patah. :s13:

In a very ironic way, the ones who can brave JB customs are actually the ones with the luxury of time, physical and mental energy to do so. I think the seniors who are really struggling probably won't have that sort of energy in them given their environmental circumstances. I thought most Sinkie seniors I've seen crossing the JB custom can walk faster than me... :sad:. Lol
These retirees without income have the luxury of time like u mentioned…

Not only the rich has luxury of time…

May be u are referring to those who have to ā€œexercise in jobsā€ to survive …

Yup.. those are the worst off at the bottom of the social ladder with no $ n no time… hand stop mouth stop

Andrew833

Cham liao, like that I think you can forget about ever going via Woodlands coz I've been looking at the RTS construction.

No more wide open space with the station being there. Almost cannot see sky, buildings pillars everywhere, even more sinkies by then due to the convenience, probably more tiong groups will RTS there to be picked up by Malaysia coaches, etc. :grin:
Yea, I foresee both human and road traffic will be crazy. Getting a grab may have to wait for 30mins :ROFLMAO:

Andrew833

Is there bus number 950 when returning from JB side ? I don't remember.. if not I don't mind doing the 950 route next time.. I just always default go to the 160 and 170 line.
Yes, there is but less frequent. You still need to go into the warzone for the bus. :LOL:

Habrosus

950 on the CWL side the the other side :s13:

Meemoosaa

The location is too "ulu" for those who do not drive or drive to JB. Like me :p

I think with the new CW7L bus routes, can check it out soon.

Was also planning to use Gelang Patah as base and then grab to Eco galleria some time, according to google map only 12 mins away.

Habrosus

Lai come I gg to forest city. 😁
Before leaving you better make sure none of "them" follow you home :s13:

Yea, I foresee both human and road traffic will be crazy. Getting a grab may have to wait for 30mins :ROFLMAO:
Now already crazy :s22:

Last week I checked in on Thursday thinking crowd would only arrive evening, but lunchtime already siao. šŸ˜…

Meemoosaa

This mean you still new to JB :LOL:
Once you get down the stairs, the far end is 160 and 170, cross opposite for 950 and CW bus

Oh that one I know.. I meant when at SG side as in ready to drive to kranji / woodlands mrt. The one you described above is in transit right ?

Habrosus

Oh that one I know.. I meant when at SG side as in ready to drive to kranji / woodlands mrt. The one you described above is in transit right ?
Oh the one I described is for JB coming back.

Don't know where 950 originates coz early days I remember they're quite chaotic so I never looked at it since.

SongManKranji

Before leaving you better make sure none of "them" follow you home :s13:

Now already crazy :s22:

Last week I checked in on Thursday thinking crowd would only arrive evening, but lunchtime already siao. šŸ˜…
Empress told me st Giles jb brekkie buay pai but she cited ppl start queue b4 open. I told 99.99% sinkies in St Giles area dah. 😁 😁 😁

Habrosus

Empress told me st Giles jb brekkie buay pai but she cited ppl start queue b4 open. I told 99.99% sinkies in St Giles area dah. 😁 😁 😁
Ya, that time I checked in Thursday extended another night to Saturday. Friday's breakfast was better and less crowded, Saturday breakfast not as good and the whole place like Singapore buffet restaurant šŸ˜…

SongManKranji

Ya, that time I checked in Thursday extended another night to Saturday. Friday's breakfast was better and less crowded, Saturday breakfast not as good and the whole place like Singapore buffet restaurant šŸ˜…
During Rd trip from ipoh penang & KL. Only ipoh is crowded. 😁

Habrosus

During Rd trip from ipoh penang & KL. Only ipoh is crowded. 😁
Another ZUS in Taman Sutera Utama! That's like 5 minutes' walk from the Sutera Mall one. :s13:

Among the shophouses, next to the pet cafe. Across from it a...what looked like a Taiwanese restaurant. Bento 2nd set 50% off! Good portion too, mai siow siow. Plus their fruity shaved ice... Woo-hoo! :grin:

Meemoosaa

The RTS can apparently ferry up to 10K passengers per hours in each direction. However, the estimate is about 40K passengers per day. Assuming 20K of these used to be from the JB CIQ building, you kind of have an additional 20K pax to compete taking grab with you. This is assuming everyone takes a grab .. so this is just a hyperbole lah. :s13:

Overall, it should be a good thing for the economy of JB which begets the question, is it a good thing for Singapore to have JB huat ? In an idealistic selfish manner, they should huat but not too much otherwise SGD is pointless there. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.