• Yes, quite a number actually

• Yes

• No

• No lah, you siao, all rich ppl are assholes, they eat the poor to be rich

Results are only viewable after voting.

Hello_Kitty

my boomer colleagues owning properties with rental, have stocks and FD but they all still super stingy, never treat anyone even with kopi

superjellybelly

I know someone like this. Centi millionaire (in USD) but frugal. I asked him why and he gave me 2 reasons. Firstly, spending lavishly does not make him happy (reading of books does though). Secondly, he came from a very poor background, as is too used to being frugal.

However, he does donate his wealth to the poor and underprivileged on a regular basis.

Tiny Shrimp

but TS seriously you think is he calculative or i am trying to take his advantage? which is morally correct?
i think its miscommunication
should have told you his intention from the start

then maybe you wouldnt even mind, just eat with friend help his clear his voucher
but the miscommunication soured things 😓

Cmonster

Yes, according to EDMW the real rich in Singapore all stay 3 room HDB and take MRT

because that is how they got rich, by being frugal

anyone staying in condo & driving BMW is full of loans and about to be bankrupt

Heng moi ish stay in HDB 2-room BTO unit and driving a Kia. :crazy:

means you are Jack Ma level of rich !!!

SayPorkGuy

my boomer colleagues owning properties with rental, have stocks and FD but they all still super stingy, never treat anyone even with kopi
chu forgot the recent boomers living in private landed property asking for garmen financial aid?

Whimsica

You see them as being frugal but they are happy doing what they are doing.

To them, wealth and success simply mean they can do what they want to do when they want to do it.

And if they just want to live simply, why you huanlo for them?

ramlee

Got ah. Everytime I go in jb. I c all d Benz BMW's Audi's. D occasional Ferrari Porsche Maserati. All go in to save costs n living frugally😂
you got see them pump the car boot at the petrol koisk ma? :(

kan-kon

live frugal no sure... but they live in landed, drive many cats, multiple properties, multi businesses..

but makan always try food court if can.. travel econ class,

keep coins (change).. ever tried to pay supermarket with coins, no embarrassed or sumtin..

ramlee

To them, wealth and success simply mean they can do what they want to do when they want to do it.

but they ish wasting their life away :(

bochup84

Not to mention, sometimes happiness comes in the form of knowing they always got the best deals. It’s literally a cheap thrill that makes you feel u smarter than anyone else who spent more money on the same thing.

cal127

Most of my rich friends. Still shop at Ikea and complain about kopitiam prices. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.