Wow expert indeed !
Btw, I'm looking to buy a narrow sprout kettle for my drip coffee. Where is good to look for one in JB ? Is it any cheaper there ? No need expert level, just trying out only. Or just get anything from Shopee is good enough ? Anything I should look out for ?
There is a thread on the main edmw forum on coffee discussion at the moment and I'm now motivated to bring out my moka pot again to use. haha ! The moka pot was retired for a while ever since i had the nespresso.lol
I have a Hario electric kettle, not sure if it fits the bill.
Moka pot is interesting. tiagong taste is halfway between a trip and espresso.
So if I like "gao" coffee but not necessarily high caffeine, what should I be looking out for ?
Sometimes I'll play around with different coffee powder, capsules etc, some will smell gao but does not taste gao at all. Some does not smell much but will taste damn gao. What gives ?
I also don't tend to like coffee that are too acidic either (except with condensed milk i.e. Viet or Nanyang style). If arabica beans, I will take it only without sugar and a bit of milk.
Not sure what my taste profile is. Lol
gao in kopitiam ?
U can ask for Kopi Gao - undiluted kopi with condensed milk
Or Kopi Tiloh - undiluted kopi
( they usually add water for the other variants )
For espressos, the " rough " guideline is try to consume ur beans within a month or max two of roast date, once a bean is grounded into powder try to make the drink within 6 minutes for max flavor. Diff people make their kopi differently , for me my espresso milk drinks I prefer a slight bit of acidity.
Capsule grinds store for damn long time, alot of delicious volatiles escaped from the grinds though trapped with the nitrogen but may not enter the drink, when the machine punctures the capsule, smells good, but drink might be thin. Also ( nespresso OL ) capsules contain very very little grind i think some are only ?5gm per capsule.
For espressos if u dun like the acidity either get a darker roast, or pull a longer shot for more " bitterness " or discard the first second of pull. Not sure if anyone does the later. . ( Alof of rare and expensive arabica varietals tend to be ligher roast though so the notes are better preserved, usually drip coffee better for them but YMMV )
For nespreso capsules u can refer to this :