Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

What Food Can You Bring Into Singapore?

📌 Meat from MY is ❌ not allowed (all forms of food products containing meat, not in approved countries list yet).

📌 Eggs from MY (West) allowed since end 2022.

The Food Safety and Security Bill was introduced recently and will be debated in Parliament in Jan. This will give consumers greater flexibility on the food brought in for private consumption.

As the FSSB is not yet in force, the current rules brought in for private consumption will continue to apply.

Infographic from SFA - June 2024

https://m.facebook.com/groups/my.sg...-not-allowed-all-forms-of-/1533890493900193/?

Useful links :

https://www.sfa.gov.sg/bringing-foo...ExbR19s7u3WcK1gi84_aem_3g9tH2hiHqG9zNVyRGDW7w

The proposed bill for Jan 2025 debate

https://www.sfa.gov.sg/news-publica...vzHjs-kMhebBPDj3iY_aem_OYM25eWnzS7CfAytLZiQmw

Aaagogo

Any similar thingy like tng go+ or Malaysia cash funds that sinkies can apply. Cos TNG go+ need to be Malaysian. Thinking of changing some rm when it head towards 3.57 again lol

Interestingly Malaysians can open sg banks online easily but sinkies can't open most Malaysian banks lol

Last time ~10 years ago, PITA to open MY bank account.

Now it's super easy to open MY bank account.

Cimb and Maybank in Sg can setup everything for you

Sg for foreigner to open bank account, need more than just application paperwork, same like Sg open Thai bank account, but Sg open MY bank account, only applications paperwork, no other supporting documents needed

Meemoosaa

Cannot let it forgotten.
JB already so few good hotels choice, any good one must keep hold of them. (Near CIQ hotels not in my radar, maybe one day I need it) :LOL:

Had to re-read your post a few times before I got it. Very cryptic ! 😅 :s13:

You need to bring this up every other month to remind others. Ok.

SongManKranji

OT abit. No wonder rws have their licence renewed 2 yrs instead 3 yrs norm. Their Xmas deco cmi dah.

Attachments

• IMG-20241119-WA0009.jpg
    IMG-20241119-WA0009.jpg
    500.5 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG-20241119-WA0010.jpg
    IMG-20241119-WA0010.jpg
    409.8 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG-20241119-WA0011.jpg
    IMG-20241119-WA0011.jpg
    461.5 KB · Views: 15

Meemoosaa

I have a Hario electric kettle, not sure if it fits the bill.

Hario-Buono-V60-Electric-Kettle_1000x.jpg

Moka pot is interesting. tiagong taste is halfway between a trip and espresso.

Re: kettle - Thanks ! Ops when I say "kettle" I meant a pot. Basically just want to buy a small narrow sprout pot. Maybe something like that from shopee to play play.

https://shopee.sg/【SG-Ready】Coffee-...f9&xptdk=7946faf3-bd2b-4b01-9b61-356755f83ef9

Brought out my moka pot to play again in the last few days. Trying to settle into the slower paced of getting coffee ready ! I kept wanting to open the lid to check if coffee is ready or not despite not necessary and have to wait anyway lol. I had some coffee powder from Perth recently, smells AMAZING but then a bit too acidic for my liking when brewed in the moka pot. So I just add milk to balance it out.

The nespresso while useful has really made me forgot the joy of waiting for coffee these days. lol

gao in kopitiam ?

U can ask for Kopi Gao - undiluted kopi with condensed milk
Or Kopi Tiloh - undiluted kopi
( they usually add water for the other variants )

I had gone off sugar in beverages for 20+ years for health reasons, so I hardly order kopi gao unless during special ocassion for e.g. Trying Viet coffee in Japan or holidaying or trying the nanyang style coffee in JB sometimes. I am not too keen on kopi-oh kosong of nanyang style and prefer Arabica kosong or with a little milk. I have never heard of kopi tiloh though !

For espressos, the " rough " guideline is try to consume ur beans within a month or max two of roast date, once a bean is grounded into powder try to make the drink within 6 minutes for max flavor. Diff people make their kopi differently , for me my espresso milk drinks I prefer a slight bit of acidity.

Capsule grinds store for damn long time, alot of delicious volatiles escaped from the grinds though trapped with the nitrogen but may not enter the drink, when the machine punctures the capsule, smells good, but drink might be thin. Also ( nespresso OL ) capsules contain very very little grind i think some are only ?5gm per capsule.

Yes ! This is exactly what I experience with the Nespresso capsules sometimes. Some capsules smells amazing, coffee looks "gao" but taste a bit meh.

For espressos if u dun like the acidity either get a darker roast, or pull a longer shot for more " bitterness " or discard the first second of pull. Not sure if anyone does the later. . ( Alof of rare and expensive arabica varietals tend to be ligher roast though so the notes are better preserved, usually drip coffee better for them but YMMV )
For nespreso capsules u can refer to this :

Thanks for this. Nespresso capsules tend to confuse me. The strength written on the box doesn't necessarily means gao imo. Lol. After trying all different versions over the years, my favourite is the Indonesia and the Italian one. I quite enjoy some of their festive flavours too. The rest all meh for me but i guessed taste is personal. Lol

SongManKranji

Re: kettle - Thanks ! Ops when I say "kettle" I meant a pot. Basically just want to buy a small narrow sprout pot. Maybe something like that from shopee to play play.

https://shopee.sg/【SG-Ready】Coffee-Kettle-Gooseneck-Kettle-Stainless-Steel-304-Long-Narrow-Spout-Coffee-Kettle-Drip-Tea-Pot-Slow-Drip-Po-i.830329183.20156173024?sp_atk=7946faf3-bd2b-4b01-9b61-356755f83ef9&xptdk=7946faf3-bd2b-4b01-9b61-356755f83ef9

Brought out my moka pot to play again in the last few days. Trying to settle into the slower paced of getting coffee ready ! I kept wanting to open the lid to check if coffee is ready or not despite not necessary and have to wait anyway lol. I had some coffee powder from Perth recently, smells AMAZING but then a bit too acidic for my liking when brewed in the moka pot. So I just add milk to balance it out.

The nespresso while useful has really made me forgot the joy of waiting for coffee these days. lol

I had gone off sugar in beverages for 20+ years for health reasons, so I hardly order kopi gao unless during special ocassion for e.g. Trying Viet coffee in Japan or holidaying or trying the nanyang style coffee in JB sometimes. I am not too keen on kopi-oh kosong of nanyang style and prefer Arabica kosong or with a little milk. I have never heard of kopi tiloh though !

Yes ! This is exactly what I experience with the Nespresso capsules sometimes. Some capsules smells amazing, coffee looks "gao" but taste a bit meh.

Thanks for this. Nespresso capsules tend to confuse me. The strength written on the box doesn't necessarily means gao imo. Lol. After trying all different versions over the years, my favourite is the Indonesia and the Italian one. I quite enjoy some of their festive flavours too. The rest all meh for me but i guessed taste is personal. Lol
Just go with whatever u like dah. Ones man meat is another man's tok dah.
Just whack. Impt be happy & songz kao liao 🤣🙏

Aaagogo

What Food Can You Bring Into Singapore?

📌 Meat from MY is ❌ not allowed (all forms of food products containing meat, not in approved countries list yet).

📌 Eggs from MY (West) allowed since end 2022.

The Food Safety and Security Bill was introduced recently and will be debated in Parliament in Jan. This will give consumers greater flexibility on the food brought in for private consumption.

As the FSSB is not yet in force, the current rules brought in for private consumption will continue to apply.

Infographic from SFA - June 2024

https://m.facebook.com/groups/my.sg...-not-allowed-all-forms-of-/1533890493900193/?

Useful links :

https://www.sfa.gov.sg/bringing-foo...ExbR19s7u3WcK1gi84_aem_3g9tH2hiHqG9zNVyRGDW7w

The proposed bill for Jan 2025 debate

https://www.sfa.gov.sg/news-publica...vzHjs-kMhebBPDj3iY_aem_OYM25eWnzS7CfAytLZiQmw

won't approve more, if not, more tax leaks.

i think the 2022 eggs change was due to post wuhan virus supply chain network.

last time when go wet market, got live chickens processed on the spot, also have live ducks, malaysia was our supply chain.

a bit funny today see Sg GLB/E driving Mederka gen, few trays of egg, put inside boot, then going back for other things inside bestmart. the eggs they bought from inside the wet market. i first saw them inside the market, i was browsing while going to get my eggs

ST9611

Last time ~10 years ago, PITA to open MY bank account.

Now it's super easy to open MY bank account.

Cimb and Maybank in Sg can setup everything for you

Sg for foreigner to open bank account, need more than just application paperwork, same like Sg open Thai bank account, but Sg open MY bank account, only applications paperwork, no other supporting documents needed
I have cimb my account. But the interest rate is super low. unlike those new virtual banks like gxs my, aeon, boost etc.

tiertime

Anybody knows which MY Savings account gives high interest rate ? , and allow SG ppl to open accouny

Coffeelix

Anybody knows which MY Savings account gives high interest rate ? , and allow SG ppl to open accouny
Foreigners can’t open bank account in Malaysia.
We are only allowed to open bank ac to facilitate the mortgage payment for purchase of property there.

oceanpriest

So if I like "gao" coffee but not necessarily high caffeine, what should I be looking out for ?

Sometimes I'll play around with different coffee powder, capsules etc, some will smell gao but does not taste gao at all. Some does not smell much but will taste damn gao. What gives ?

I also don't tend to like coffee that are too acidic either (except with condensed milk i.e. Viet or Nanyang style). If arabica beans, I will take it only without sugar and a bit of milk.

Not sure what my taste profile is. Lol

nearby Cafe Jufei, the kopitiam sell quite gao coffee, brewed using mokapot

Yong Juan Hin永泉兴传统海南咖啡店
https://maps.app.goo.gl/2dFSQAzdGB2rXesu5

Aaagogo

Foreigners can’t open bank account in Malaysia.
We are only allowed to open bank ac to facilitate the mortgage payment for purchase of property there.

in theory, foreigners cannot open bank account without supporting reason paperwork in any country.

CIMB and Maybank bypass the process by opening their corresponding overseas account internally.

now i just wish CIMB-TH also can open one from Sg... then go to Siam can pay like local

Aaagogo

savings account is a misnomer, it's more often then not used to park money for frequent use. it's next to impossible to find a "high interest savings account"

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.