Logic: Unless you know how to appreciate music, if not, no point buy a good headphone or speaker?

tuckloong

hehe me feel that there are better and cheaper IEMs then KZ ZS10 pro de?

What do buddies think?

Just sharing my journey :)

Started off with speakers :) then realise pre amp/amp la...speaker wires la....sound proof foam la need to maintain and exponential upgrade before can hear the difference...

Fast forward 2 decades....suddenly IEM and cheap Chifi stuff became stylo milo..everyone chasing the cheap and good stuff....but IEM really fragile....easily spoilt....but had fun chasing all the Legends......

Then fast forward another decade...getting old liao...realised IEM can cause tinnitus....haiz....no choice go to headphone liao....used to like Focal Clear type of sound signature but realised as we age....harder and harder to hear the tremble region....end up cheap Porta Pros sound just about right :p

Edit: Not pro pro and audiophile.....

BlackWing1977

hehe me feel that there are better and cheaper IEMs then KZ ZS10 pro de?

What do buddies think?
Possible... as long as it is cheap and good cannot go wrong one... but so far KZ series like very popular for those who is into Chi-Fi I think... I am just replacing a pair of shitty Xiaomi earphones that crosstalk so bad it feels like mono... :sick:

Elnoxv

Don't know whether to buy a good headphone or good speaker.

My logic keep telling me that you not a person who knows how to appreciate music. Why buy a good headphone?
I bought a head phone for the Noise cancelling. I think all of us bought for all different reasons.

stingray1211

nope. it is unless hearing got issues , no point buying good audio stuff..

20hz to 20khz is standard hearing, we lose it and sensitivity with age.

do a hearing examination first lah .. then talk audio stuff. don't pretend to say good or bad but actually your real hearing jialat already. then it is gong jiao wei logic.

BlackWing1977

Don't know whether to buy a good headphone or good speaker.

My logic keep telling me that you not a person who knows how to appreciate music. Why buy a good headphone?
If you all along listen music or songs through really lousy quality earphones or speakers.. you probably wun enjoy it either... that is why test with something cheap to see if it makes a difference lor.

BlackWing1977

Source need to be minimum lossless i.e. at least CD quality

DAC / AMP in current generation MacBook is enough. But if want something better, minimum can get the iFi Hip Dac.

If wireless, technology not quite there yet.

Earphones or headphones get subjective due to personal preference i.e. bass vs treble, v shaped, flat/netral/balanced and fit issues i.e. comfort, isolation, over ear vs downward, clamp force etc.
Tried to keep it all FLAC... but sometimes cannot find means cannot.. now even worse.. I dun have access to DVD drive on PC to rip my albums and singles.. :sick:

New PC casing dun allow for DVD drive...:sick:

archie7

listen to the music how the musician intended it to be

BlackWing1977

Convinced myself got money but don't anyhow spend.

cheap sia. Thanks.
It is damn good.. so good I am literally listening it on my phone and just enjoying it... and now with Black Friday Deal cannot go wrong.. I just bought another pair to keep as backup since it is even cheaper than prices on Shopee... :ROFLMAO:

parchiao

Tried to keep it all FLAC... but sometimes cannot find means cannot.. now even worse.. I dun have access to DVD drive on PC to rip my albums and singles.. :sick:

New PC casing dun allow for DVD drive...:sick:

But you can just buy an external DVD drive and connect to your PC via USB C cable.

Nuclear Boy

I finally tried Vido earbuds for fun a few months ago, but stumbled upon a hidden gem of throwaway sets. Some EQ tweaking later, super song, just what I am looking for. 1 pair just $3-4.

Decent don't have to be super exorbitant, and you can better appreciate your music at the same time.

If you don't try at all, then you'll never know what you're missing out on while listening to music.

used to like Focal Clear type of sound signature but realised as we age....harder and harder to hear the tremble region....end up cheap Porta Pros sound just about right :p
Tip for future me :s13:

Maybe I'd be able to use my Sundara without EQ when I'm older. If it still works then...

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
me ain't an audiophile myself but roughly know a decent sound from the bad
tho' me won't spend that high amount just for a good pair of speakers

even the tv at home, me dun need any soundbar :o

hentaixp1985

Recently I got the dunu falcon ultra iem which is darn good for it's price 349sgd. Only thing is isolation is average.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.