Parktown Residence

MrGDebonair

Thats why i mentioned mega malls…..it will make u think that area is very densely populated.
I visit NorthPoint….even worse during their peak period sia…..super crowded even though their retail space is much bigger.

In terms of plot ratio…..queenstown/redhill much higher like almost double compared to Tampines.
Found this interesting graphical representation of population in Singapore by area:

The top few townships are easily double or triple of some of the others which is surprising given their popularity.

DevilPlate

Found this interesting graphical representation of population in Singapore by area:

The top few townships are easily double or triple of some of the others which is surprising given their popularity.

If can include total land mass by area would be better.
TPY/Serangoon mid low but seems to me very crowded.

drkcynic

It's densely populated everywhere in Singapore but relatively speaking still far better than many townships. I went to Tampines mall and Waterway Point recently, really cannot take it. True about the large malls, although with the proximity to town seems rather superfluous tbh.
You brought up an interesting point. I don't particularly enjoy NEX VIVO JP or TM, although have everything but just too many people.

Perhaps those self contained malls with smaller space like Poiz or WL mall or SK mall will be more suited for integrated owners because not everyone from other parts of SG will head there to make it crowded AF.

So maybe PTR with a smaller mall might attract less people from all over SG and let the owners upstairs enjoy the space. Profitablity though, still depends on entry prices I guess.

DevilPlate

You brought up an interesting point. I don't particularly enjoy NEX VIVO JP or TM, although have everything but just too many people.

Perhaps those self contained malls with smaller space like Poiz or WL mall or SK mall will be more suited for integrated owners because not everyone in SG will head there to make it crowded AF.
I would not touch those cui half baked integrated project…..Poiz machiam mixed devt if u ask me
The best is to stay nearby big malls but not on top of it….imo

For eg….Park Colonial would be an ideal choice

jeffong

They will soon be sleepy no longer and have to take their share of the population, lots of new high rise housing will be completed in Redhill/Queenstown in the next few years.
If you compare the BTO design for Queenstown versus ulu towns like Tengah / Punggol / Yishun, you will see that there is a big difference in the density and layout of the projects. Queenstown BTO's are nicely spaced out (ie. Margaret Drive, Dawson, Queensway) versus the cluttered mess in Tengah. Seems like a conscious decision by the architect to retain the prevailing estate design. Just my observation.

jeffong

Perhaps those self contained malls with smaller space like Poiz or WL mall or SK mall will be more suited for integrated owners because not everyone from other parts of SG will head there to make it crowded AF.

So maybe PTR with a smaller mall might attract less people from all over SG and let the owners upstairs enjoy the space. Profitablity though, still depends on entry prices I guess.
Problem with Vivo is that tourists (especially from Indonesia) make up a huge percentage of the mall goers. Being the gateway to Sentosa also adds a lot of those transient guests at all times of the day. My typical routine when visiting Vivo is to get in there around 9am, settle my grocery shopping at Finest/Donki and breakfast before exiting the mall before 1pm. Recently Vivo reclaimed a lot of parking spaces in B2 to further extend the shopping area which might turn off drivers to this place on weekends.

DevilPlate

If you compare the BTO design for Queenstown versus ulu towns like Tengah / Punggol / Yishun, you will see that there is a big difference in the density and layout of the projects. Queenstown BTO's are nicely spaced out (ie. Margaret Drive, Dawson, Queensway) versus the cluttered mess in Tengah. Seems like a conscious decision by the architect to retain the prevailing estate design. Just my observation.
I already told u due to height restriction mah.

U see latest Woodlands/Marsiling BTOs…..30+ storey high and no more cluttered.

Projects with less than 20 storey usually feels very cluttered no matter how u design them
*some bto projects with semi basement carpark (non mscp) feels alot better also.

marshmallow96

It's densely populated everywhere in Singapore but relatively speaking still far better than many townships. I went to Tampines mall and Waterway Point recently, really cannot take it. True about the large malls, although with the proximity to town seems rather superfluous tbh.
My Tampines friend always says Tampines very crowded and then she visited Zoolong... she said Zoolong is totally crazy worse than Tampines LOL... looking at the chart from Reddit, i didn't know Bedok has such a high population siah.
Problem with Vivo is that tourists (especially from Indonesia) make up a huge percentage of the mall goers. Being the gateway to Sentosa also adds a lot of those transient guests at all times of the day. My typical routine when visiting Vivo is to get in there around 9am, settle my grocery shopping at Finest/Donki and breakfast before exiting the mall before 1pm. Recently Vivo reclaimed a lot of parking spaces in B2 to further extend the shopping area which might turn off drivers to this place on weekends.
Huh Vivo parking situation already quite bad, and they still reclaimed the parking spaces??

DevilPlate

My Tampines friend always says Tampines very crowded and then she visited Zoolong... she said Zoolong is totally crazy worse than Tampines LOL... looking at the chart from Reddit, i didn't know Bedok has such a high population siah.

Huh Vivo parking situation already quite bad, and they still reclaimed the parking spaces??
Last time i park at Harborfront ctr easier…..not too sure about recent times

I guess many peeps feel Zoolang is the most crowded area if they happen to be at JE station during morning rush hour

I went to IMM recently and not too bad

Rxgn

yup at b3

i think they doing reno and adding more lots

jeffong

yup at b3

i think they doing reno and adding more lots
B2 lah.. Since when Vivo got B3 unless there is a copy cat Vivo in JB.. LOL!!!
Marshie.. they reclaimed the entire row of lots just outside the stretch from Ya-kun to Kopitiam including the drop off area that was near the B2 mall entrance.

marshmallow96

Last time i park at Harborfront ctr easier…..not too sure about recent times

I guess many peeps feel Zoolang is the most crowded area if they happen to be at JE station during morning rush hour

I went to IMM recently and not too bad
Nope she was in Zoolong malls during weekend. IMM is like the least crowded of the 3 malls in JE

ZacharyA

Go 10N Orchard!!!

page||

They will soon be sleepy no longer and have to take their share of the population, lots of new high rise housing will be completed in Redhill/Queenstown in the next few years.
I grew up in Queenstown for many years until jc.. first BTO in Telok Blangah.. sleepy and quiet town but the massive influx of new hdb and condo in QT…

Wife love to stay in D4… but my opinion is they don’t really gain much valuation for PC…

DevilPlate

I grew up in Queenstown for many years until jc.. first BTO in Telok Blangah.. sleepy and quiet town but the massive influx of new hdb and condo in QT…

Wife love to stay in D4… but my opinion is they don’t really gain much valuation for PC…
Telok Blangah still consider sleepy imo.
But not for long liao hehe

Advancer

😮😮😮 The SG local demand for property is REAL + HIGH!

*ELTA* 🔥
1170 cheques for 501 units
2.3 times oversubscribed

*Parktown Residences* 🔥
2369 cheques for 1193 units
1.9 times oversubscribed

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.