Another car caught fire today (Tampines)

Evcats

Japanese cars used to be king of the road, but now Chinese cars like BYD and NIO are stealing the show. Let me explain why Japanese cars are lagging behind, Singapore-style:

Slow EV Transition

• Japanese Brands: Toyota, Honda, Nissan all kancheong spider about EVs. Toyota still pushing hybrids (Prius, Corolla Hybrid) while the world goes electric.
  • Chinese Brands: BYD, NIO, Xpeng all-in on EVs. BYD even makes its own batteries (Blade Battery) – steady pom pi pi.

Tech Innovation

• Japanese Cars: Reliable but boring. Same old tech – CVT gearbox, naturally aspirated engines. No wow factor.
  • Chinese Cars: Packed with tech – big touchscreens, over-the-air updates, autonomous driving features. Like iPhone vs Nokia 3310.

Design & Features

• Japanese Cars: Design ulu (e.g., Toyota’s “bold” grilles). Interior feels like 2010 – plastic everywhere.
  • Chinese Cars: Sleek designs, premium interiors (e.g., NIO’s vegan leather, BYD’s rotating touchscreen). Wah lau, even the door handles pop out like Tesla.

Price Competitiveness

• Japanese Cars: High prices due to brand premium and import costs. Toyota Corolla Hybrid = $150k+.
  • Chinese Cars: BYD Atto 3 = $150k with better specs. Value for money – why pay more for less?

Global Strategy

• Japanese Brands: Focus on hybrids and hydrogen (Mirai). But EV market growing faster than they can adapt.
  • Chinese Brands: Aggressive global expansion. BYD selling EVs in Europe, Australia, and SG. NIO even has battery swap stations – next level.

SG Context

• COE Prices: High COE means buyers want value for money. Chinese EVs offer more features at lower prices.
  • Government Push: LTA promoting EVs with rebates and charging infrastructure. Japanese hybrids? No special treatment.

Brand Perception

• Japanese Cars: Reliable but old-school. Seen as uncle cars (e.g., Toyota Wish, Honda Stream).
  • Chinese Cars: New, trendy, and tech-savvy. BYD Atto 3 = Instagram-worthy.

Japanese cars lagging because they slow to adapt to the EV revolution. Chinese brands? Chiong all the way with tech, design, and affordability.

If Japanese brands don’t wake up their idea, they’ll be like Nokia – reliable but irrelevant. Steady bo? 🚗🇨🇳

SecretAgent

*typing furiously*. PCW :ROFLMAO:
... To be frank. Everytime I see such a thread about a car burn down I come in immediately anticipating it's an EV... So it will gives me a good reason not to buy one!

Today later, I will be an owner of one. I'll have to summerize that current generation of teslas, continental ev and koreans ev are more or less safe enough for usage and ownership liao. Although it will be a new thing and get used to about.

I value my life of course... I've done enough research and decided to commit.

keenklee

... To be frank. Everytime I see such a thread about a car burn down I come in immediately anticipating it's an EV... So it will gives me a good reason not to buy one!

Today later, I will be an owner of one. I'll have to summerize that current generation of teslas, continental ev and koreans ev are more or less safe enough for usage and ownership liao. Although it will be a new thing and get used to about.

IMHO.
There is one important research you need to do. If you get stuck inside a particular EV, how to get out.

ChuppaChups

Is it gang related activities? offended someone and trying to kill by putting their cars on fire

Evcats

You made the right choice – EVs are the future, and you’re now part of the green revolution. Don’t let kiasu fear-mongering stop you from enjoying your new ride.

Steady bo? 🔌🚗⚡

reno77

Buy diesel car the best, no chance to catch fire.
Only got slightly higher chance of getting lung cancer + contribute to acid rain

Evcats

IMHO.
There is one important research you need to do. If you get stuck inside a particular EV, how to get out.
Wah bro, you kancheong about getting stuck in an EV ah? Let me explain why this is not just an EV problem, and why your ICE car might be worse:

1. EV Crash Safety

• EV Design: No engine in front = more crumple zone to absorb impact. If kena crash, EV structure steady pom pi pi.
  • Battery Protection: EV battery pack armored like tank. Even if crash, battery won’t explode or leak.

2. ICE Crash Safety

• Engine Block: In front = less crumple zone. Crash = engine anyhow fly, maybe hit you.
  • Fuel Tank: If rupture, petrol/diesel can leak and ignite. Kaboom = not just stuck, but roasted.

3. How to Get Out

• EV:
    • Door Handles: Some EVs (e.g., Tesla) have electronic door handles. If power cut, manual release lever inside.
    • Windows: Use emergency hammer (keep one in car) to break glass. EV windows same as ICE – smash can liao.
  • ICE:
    • Manual Doors: Easier to open, but if fuel leak, better run fast fast.
    • Windows: Same as EV – use hammer or elbow (if you strong like Bruce Lee).

4. Your “Important Research”

• Bro, if you really worried about getting stuck, maybe take MRT better. At least train got emergency exits. 😂
  • But if you must drive, keep an emergency hammer in your car. EV or ICE, same same lah.

Conclusion

EV or ICE, crash is crash. But EV design confirm safer in most scenarios. Just keep an emergency hammer, drive safe, and don’t anyhow tekan until habis.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

P.S. If you still scared, maybe buy a tank. Confirm won’t get stuck. 😎

Evcats

Buy diesel car the best, no chance to catch fire
Wah bro, you say diesel car best because no chance to catch fire ah? Let me roast your logic a bit lah:

1. Diesel Cars Also Can Catch Fire

• Fuel Leaks: Diesel is less flammable than petrol, but still can burn. If fuel line leak + hot exhaust = kaboom.
  • Electrical Faults: Wiring koyak, short-circuit, then fireworks show.
  • Turbochargers: Diesel engines run hotter. Turbo overheat = fire risk.

2. Diesel Fires Are Nasty

• Hard to Extinguish: Diesel fires burn hotter and longer than petrol fires. SCDF need special foam to put out.
  • Toxic Fumes: Diesel smoke damn chao – full of soot and harmful chemicals.

3. Diesel Cars in SG Context

• High COE: Diesel car COE + diesel tax = wallet cry father cry mother.
  • Pollution: Diesel engines emit more NOx and PM2.5 – bad for our air quality.
  • Phase-Out: SG gahmen phasing out diesel vehicles by 2040. Buy now = chop carrot.

4. Your Logic Flaw

• “No chance to catch fire” – Bro, even bicycle can catch fire if you anyhow mod. Diesel car not immune lah.

5. Conclusion

Diesel car not fireproof, and definitely not the best choice in SG. If you really want safe, go EV – less fire risk, less pollution, and confirm cheaper long-term.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

ICE fires repeat like K-drama plot because:

1. Old Cars: Many ICE cars in SG are 10+ years old. Fuel lines rust, wiring koyak, engine overheat – all time bombs.
  2. Poor Maintenance: Skip servicing to save $$$. Engine oil leak, fuel lines crack, exhaust rust – accidents waiting to happen.
  3. Hot Weather: SG heat + stop-start traffic = engine pengsan, then kaboom.
So don’t kancheong – it’s just old tech giving up on life. EV is the future, whether you like it or not.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗

Comage

This is the third in a span of few days each :s22:

Cars don't catch on fire that easily - it's always the case of NJNL ngiao ji ngiao lan stingy-ass drivers who try to save a buck on vehicle maintenance, that results in such spontaneous vehicle combustion.

SecretAgent

My old car 20yrs last month scrap liao... For the last e.o change and servicing...I ngiao ji didn't go and exceeded by 1000km at least... Even the orange oil level low light come out during the last few days and the whole car very loud like wanna explode!

There was once the car overheats and smoke coming out from bonnet on the road is a few years back theres a leak from the radiator. Chua sai off engine and stop road side... Pour my drinking water into the leaking radiator then drive to workshop. Luckily the engine never burn down!

Comage

My old car 20yrs last month scrap liao... For the last e.o change and servicing...I ngiao ji didn't go and exceeded by 1000km at least... Even the orange oil level low light come out during the last few days and the whole car very loud like wanna explode!

There was once the car overheats and smoke coming out from bonnet on the road is a few years back theres a leak from the radiator. Chua sai off engine and stop road side... Pour my drinking water into the leaking radiator then drive to workshop. Luckily the engine never burn down!
At least you have the balls to step forward and admit that.

Most other just ignore what I say and don't dare to comment or respond when I call them out for being sh|tty car owners.

Cars don't catch on fire that easily - it's always the case of NJNL ngiao ji ngiao lan stingy-ass drivers who try to save a buck on vehicle maintenance, that results in such spontaneous vehicle combustion.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.