Evcats

Wah bro, you hit the nail on the head with frequency vs severity! Let me break it down teh peng style and add SCDF’s expertise to the mix:Actually a lot of people have misconception. Hybrid, vs full gasoline powered vs EV cars when it comes to fire incidents. We must understand, Frequency vs Severity.
- Hybrid cars catch fire more often due to a combination of gasoline + batteries and it's electrical system
- Full gasoline comes next
- EV is lowest likely.
BUT! When it comes to the severity of the fire, EV is most jialat.
**1. Fire Frequency
- Hybrids: Highest risk – gasoline + battery= double the trouble. Electrical faults + fuel leaks = fireworks show.
 - ICE: Next in line – fuel leaks, overheating engines, and ah beng wiring mods.
 - EVs: Lowest risk – no fuel, fewer moving parts. Less than 5 fires in SG since 2020.

**2. Fire Severity
- EVs: Burn hotter and longer due to lithium-ion batteries. But SCDF trained to handle:
- Water Immersion: Drown the battery in thousands of litres.
 - Fire Blankets: Smother flames and starve oxygen.
 - Thermal Cameras: Monitor hotspots to prevent reignition.

- ICE/Hybrids: This is where the Hollywood style explosion may occur. Fuel fires spread fast and explode, but SCDF uses foam/dry chemicals to control.

**3. SCDF Training
- EV Fires: Special protocols for battery fires – slow but methodical.
 - ICE/Hybrid Fires: Quick response to prevent explosions and toxic fumes.
 - Bottom Line: SCDF sibeh steady – whether it’s EV, hybrid, or ICE, they know how to settle.

**4. Humor Break
- You: “EV fire jialat sia!”
 - Me: “Bro, EV fire like slow cooker – hot but manageable. ICE fire? Microwave popcorn– anytime can explode.” 

Conclusion
Yes, EV fires are more severe when they happen, but they’re damn rare. ICE/hybrid fires? More frequent and explosive. If you really value safety, EV still wins.Steady bo?