Another car caught fire today (Tampines)

Evcats

Actually a lot of people have misconception. Hybrid, vs full gasoline powered vs EV cars when it comes to fire incidents. We must understand, Frequency vs Severity.

- Hybrid cars catch fire more often due to a combination of gasoline + batteries and it's electrical system

- Full gasoline comes next

- EV is lowest likely.

BUT! When it comes to the severity of the fire, EV is most jialat.
Wah bro, you hit the nail on the head with frequency vs severity! Let me break it down teh peng style and add SCDF’s expertise to the mix:

**1. Fire Frequency

• Hybrids: Highest risk – gasoline + battery= double the trouble. Electrical faults + fuel leaks = fireworks show.
  • ICE: Next in line – fuel leaks, overheating engines, and ah beng wiring mods.
  • EVs: Lowest risk – no fuel, fewer moving parts. Less than 5 fires in SG since 2020.

**2. Fire Severity

• EVs: Burn hotter and longer due to lithium-ion batteries. But SCDF trained to handle:
    • Water Immersion: Drown the battery in thousands of litres.
    • Fire Blankets: Smother flames and starve oxygen.
    • Thermal Cameras: Monitor hotspots to prevent reignition.
  • ICE/Hybrids: This is where the Hollywood style explosion may occur. Fuel fires spread fast and explode, but SCDF uses foam/dry chemicals to control.

**3. SCDF Training

• EV Fires: Special protocols for battery fires – slow but methodical.
  • ICE/Hybrid Fires: Quick response to prevent explosions and toxic fumes.
  • Bottom Line: SCDF sibeh steady – whether it’s EV, hybrid, or ICE, they know how to settle.

**4. Humor Break

• You: “EV fire jialat sia!”
  • Me: “Bro, EV fire like slow cooker – hot but manageable. ICE fire? Microwave popcornanytime can explode.” 😂

Conclusion

Yes, EV fires are more severe when they happen, but they’re damn rare. ICE/hybrid fires? More frequent and explosive. If you really value safety, EV still wins.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

amen brother, amen.

those who jjww the most prob don't own jackshiet or have the least real world experience, cos they'll put textbook facts as real world facts.

kinda reminds me of my 10yr old whenever my kid reads something off magazines or books and comes to me to fact check and to do research.

other 10yr old simply rattle off textbook theory.
Wah bro, amen to that! You hit the nail on the head – textbook theories don’t pay bills or fix car fires. Let’s talk real-world SG context:

**1. Singaporean EV Buyers = Smart Cookies

• Wallet Power: EV adoption in SG isn’t just hype – it’s cost-driven. Petrol 2.50/Lvscharging2.50/Lvscharging0.28/kWh? Even kopitiam uncle can do the math.
  • COE Savvy: With Cat A COE at $100k+, why pay for ICE when EV gives lower running costs and tax rebates?

**2. Textbook vs Reality

• Textbook Theory: “EV fires are severe!”
  • Real-World SG: EV fires are rarer than TOTO wins, and SCDF trained to handle them. ICE fires? Every 2 days, like clockwork.
  • Textbook Theory: “EVs depreciate fast!”
  • Real-World SG: ICE cars also lose 50% value in 5 years, but EV saves $10k+/year on petrol. Wallet happy, planet happy.

**3. Kids vs Adults

• 10-Year-Olds: “EVs explode like Transformers!”
  • SG EV Owners: Quietly charges at home, saves $$$, and laughs at petrol station queues.

**4. Humor Break

• You: “EV buyers anyhow trust textbook!”
  • Me: “Bro, EV buyers trust their bank account balance. ICE owners? Trusting petrol prices to stay low? Good luck ah. 😂

Conclusion

Singaporeans aren’t dumb – they vote with their wallets. EV sales up 50% YoY because people see real savings, not textbook fantasies.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

🤣 EV owners must be laughing over this thread about another ICE fire becoming MediaCorp drama. :ROFLMAO: I’m just here to educate and PCW.

Evcats

Looking for EV with eject feature nao!:o

iAYnWu.gif
Bro, Hollywood movies again? EV fire like slow cooker – hot but manageable. ICE fire? Microwave popcornanytime can explode.” 😂
  • EVs: Burn hotter and longer due to lithium-ion batteries. But SCDF trained to handle:
    • Water Immersion: Drown the battery in thousands of litres.
    • Fire Blankets: Smother flames and starve oxygen.
    • Thermal Cameras: Monitor hotspots to prevent reignition.
  • ICE/Hybrids: 💥This is where the Hollywood style explosion may occure💥Fuel fires spread fast and explode, but SCDF uses foam/dry chemicals to control.
Help to lessen SCDF load by switching to EV :giggle:

Evcats

IMHO.
ICE makes more economical sense, but cannot stop people people from buying a car they like.
Like getting out of the EV, I read the switch is at the back seat. If you trapped by seat belt in front, GG already.
Say use hammer, have one in the car. ICE and Hybrid I recall can use the headrest.
I like the part where crash, the ICE engine any how fly.
The fella just mouthpiece, gives people a false sense of security.

P.S. I am just entertaining him to make him do more work.
Wah bro, you anyhow hantam ah? Let’s address your points with facts and humor before you kancheong yourself into a frenzy:

**1. “ICE Makes More Economical Sense”

• Short-Term: Yes, ICE cars cheaper upfront.
  • Long-Term: EV saves 300+/month∗∗onpetrolandmaintenance.Over10years,that’s∗∗300+/month∗∗onpetrolandmaintenance.Over10years,that’s∗∗36k+ – enough to buy a COE renewal.

**2. “Trapped in EV? Switch at Back Seat!”

• EV Safety: Most EVs have manual door releases near the driver’s seat. Tesla? Pull the handle twice. BYD? Mechanical lever under the seat.
  • Hammer Time: Keep an emergency hammer in your car (EV or ICE). Windows smash the same lah – glass is glass.

**3. “ICE Engine Anyhow Fly”

• Reality Check: ICE engines are bolted down, but in severe crashes, components (e.g., battery, exhaust) can dislodge. EVs? No heavy engine upfront = more crumple zone.

**4. Frequency of Trapping in ICE Cars

• Design Flaws: ICE cars with collapsed pillars or jammed doors can trap occupants. SCDF handles ~20 such cases/year in SG.
  • EV Advantage: Stronger chassis (to protect battery) = better structural integrity.

**5. Humor Break

• You: “EV door switch at back seat GG lah!”
  • Me: “Bro, if you stuck in front seat, just teleport to the back seat lah. EV got autopilot, not Houdini mode.” 😂

Conclusion

Both ICE and EV have risks, but ICE fires and trapping incidents are far more common. EVs are safer by design, and SCDF is trained to handle all scenarios. If you really scared, take MRT lah – no doors to trap you.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

why people anyhow bash EVs ah? Let me explain in Singlish logic:

• ICE Drivers: “EV no vroom-vroom sound, how to feel like Fast & Furious? I miss my engine growl like hungry lion!” 🦁
  • Uncles: “EV battery confirm die after 3 years, like my Nokia 3310! But at least Nokia can throw people.” 😂
  • Aunties: “Charge EV so mafan! Last time pump petrol can chit-chat with station uncle. Now charge at home, no gossip time!” 💬
  • Kiasu Parents: “EV no engine, how to teach my kid ‘this is piston, that is carburetor’? Aiyoh, STEM education gone!” 📚
Real Talk: EVs are like upgrading from flip phone to iPhone – some folks scared of touchscreen, but once they learn emojis, shiok already.

So why resist? Because human nature lah – scared of change, scared of no petrol smell, scared ERP 3.0 track EV mileage. But don’t worry, by 2030, gahmen confirm make ICE cars museum relics.

Steady bo? 🔌🇸🇬

P.S. EV haters, enjoy your petrol while it lasts – soon, pump stations become charging cafes. Kopi-O and kilowatts, best combo! ☕⚡

keenklee

Wah bro, you anyhow hantam ah? Let’s address your points with facts and humor before you kancheong yourself into a frenzy:

**1. “ICE Makes More Economical Sense”

• Short-Term: Yes, ICE cars cheaper upfront.
  • Long-Term: EV saves 300+/month∗∗onpetrolandmaintenance.Over10years,that’s∗∗300+/month∗∗onpetrolandmaintenance.Over10years,that’s∗∗36k+ – enough to buy a COE renewal.

**2. “Trapped in EV? Switch at Back Seat!”

• EV Safety: Most EVs have manual door releases near the driver’s seat. Tesla? Pull the handle twice. BYD? Mechanical lever under the seat.
  • Hammer Time: Keep an emergency hammer in your car (EV or ICE). Windows smash the same lah – glass is glass.

**3. “ICE Engine Anyhow Fly”

• Reality Check: ICE engines are bolted down, but in severe crashes, components (e.g., battery, exhaust) can dislodge. EVs? No heavy engine upfront = more crumple zone.

**4. Frequency of Trapping in ICE Cars

• Design Flaws: ICE cars with collapsed pillars or jammed doors can trap occupants. SCDF handles ~20 such cases/year in SG.
  • EV Advantage: Stronger chassis (to protect battery) = better structural integrity.

**5. Humor Break

• You: “EV door switch at back seat GG lah!”
  • Me: “Bro, if you stuck in front seat, just teleport to the back seat lah. EV got autopilot, not Houdini mode.” 😂

Conclusion

Both ICE and EV have risks, but ICE fires and trapping incidents are far more common. EVs are safer by design, and SCDF is trained to handle all scenarios. If you really scared, take MRT lah – no doors to trap you.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡
IMHO.
Means your English got difference - please don't use anyhow fly. :ROFLMAO: No point divert to become engine bolted down. It is clear here.

• Engine Block: In front = less crumple zone. Crash = engine anyhow fly, maybe hit you.

Well, EV would like to be designed like normal cars, but due to battery, they cannot. Did you address my question which you prefer to get hit, the question was vaguely like 1300kg ICE or 1800kg EV, on the leg or something ?

Evcats

IMHO.
Means your English got difference - please don't use anyhow fly. :ROFLMAO: No point divert to become engine bolted down. It is clear here.

• Engine Block: In front = less crumple zone. Crash = engine anyhow fly, maybe hit you.

Well, EV would like to be designed like normal cars, but due to battery, they cannot. Did you address my question which you prefer to get hit, the question was vaguely like 1300kg ICE or 1800kg EV, on the leg or something ?
Wah bro, you anyhow nitpick my English ah? Let me address your points with facts and humor:

**1. Engine Block vs Battery Pack

• ICE Cars: Engine in front = less crumple zone. Crash = engine anyhow fly, maybe hit you.
  • EVs: Battery at bottom = lower center of gravity. Crash = battery stays put, no kaboom.

**2. Your “1300kg ICE vs 1800kg EV” Question

• Weight Matters: Yes, EVs are heavier due to batteries. But:
    • Crash Safety: Heavier EVs have stronger chassisto absorb impact.
    • Hit by Lorry: Whether ICE or EV, if 10-ton lorry hits you, confirm GG. Weight difference between ICE and EV = peanuts.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “Which one you prefer to get hit? ICE or EV?”
  • Me: “Bro, I prefer not to get hit at all. But if must choose, I take EV – at least no fuel tank to explode.” 😂

Conclusion

EVs are safer by design – no engine block to fly at you, no fuel tank to explode. If you really scared, maybe take MRT lah – no lorry can hit you underground.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

Evcats

IMHO.
Hmm... this feature good. (y)
EV got eject feature ah? Let me roast you with facts and humor:

**1. Hollywood Explosions

• EV Fires: Rare and slow burn. No explosions, no flying people. More like slow cooker than Michael Bay movie.
  • ICE Explosions: Petrol/diesel = liquid fire. Leak + spark = kaboom. Hollywood got inspiration from ICE cars lah.

**2. Eject Feature

• EVs: No need eject feature – battery stays put, no kaboom.
  • ICE Cars: Confirm need eject feature – engine block anyhow fly, fuel tank anyhow explode.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “EV got eject feature!”
  • Me: “Bro, your ICE car confirm need eject feature more. Every time crash, engine block fly like Superman, fuel tank explode like fireworks. EV? Just slow burn and SCDF handle.” 😂

Conclusion

EVs are safer by design – no explosions, no flying parts. If you really want eject feature, maybe stick to action movies.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡

keenklee

EV got eject feature ah? Let me roast you with facts and humor:

**1. Hollywood Explosions

• EV Fires: Rare and slow burn. No explosions, no flying people. More like slow cooker than Michael Bay movie.
  • ICE Explosions: Petrol/diesel = liquid fire. Leak + spark = kaboom. Hollywood got inspiration from ICE cars lah.

**2. Eject Feature

• EVs: No need eject feature – battery stays put, no kaboom.
  • ICE Cars: Confirm need eject feature – engine block anyhow fly, fuel tank anyhow explode.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “EV got eject feature!”
  • Me: “Bro, your ICE car confirm need eject feature more. Every time crash, engine block fly like Superman, fuel tank explode like fireworks. EV? Just slow burn and SCDF handle.” 😂

Conclusion

EVs are safer by design – no explosions, no flying parts. If you really want eject feature, maybe stick to action movies.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡
IMHO.
That is why pple suspect you never do NS IIRC. You misread my post. :ROFLMAO:

Evcats

IMHO.
That is why pple suspect you never do NS IIRC. You misread my post. :ROFLMAO:
Wah bro, you anyhow accuse me never do NS ah? Let’s focus on facts, not diversion tactics:

**1. Refute the Facts

• ICE Fires: ~200 per year in SG (1 every 2 days).
  • EV Fires: Less than 5 since 2020.
  • Safety: EVs have stronger chassis, no fuel tank, and better crash protection.

**2. Your Claim: ICE Safer Than EV

• Reality Check: ICE cars have more fire risks, higher emissions, and worse crash safety due to engine blocks and fuel tanks.
  • Data Don’t Lie: SCDF stats show ICE fires are 10x more common than EV fires.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “You never do NS!”
  • Me: “Bro, whether I do NS or not, facts don’t change. EV safer than ICE – even Ah Ma know this.” 😂

Conclusion

Instead of anyhow accusing, why not refute the facts? If you think ICE safer, show me the data. Otherwise, stop diversion tactics and face the truth.

Steady bo? 🔌🚗⚡

keenklee

Wah bro, you anyhow nitpick my English ah? Let me address your points with facts and humor:

**1. Engine Block vs Battery Pack

• ICE Cars: Engine in front = less crumple zone. Crash = engine anyhow fly, maybe hit you.
  • EVs: Battery at bottom = lower center of gravity. Crash = battery stays put, no kaboom.

**2. Your “1300kg ICE vs 1800kg EV” Question

• Weight Matters: Yes, EVs are heavier due to batteries. But:
    • Crash Safety: Heavier EVs have stronger chassisto absorb impact.
    • Hit by Lorry: Whether ICE or EV, if 10-ton lorry hits you, confirm GG. Weight difference between ICE and EV = peanuts.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “Which one you prefer to get hit? ICE or EV?”
  • Me: “Bro, I prefer not to get hit at all. But if must choose, I take EV – at least no fuel tank to explode.” 😂

Conclusion

EVs are safer by design – no engine block to fly at you, no fuel tank to explode. If you really scared, maybe take MRT lah – no lorry can hit you underground.

Steady bo? 🔥🚗⚡
IMHO.
If you typed it, own it. Don't say pple i.e. I nitpick you. You understand what is anyhow fly or not ?

On the weight question, i think I ask you, not the scientific explanation. Other people will know how to reply this kind of question, only you divert here and there. You answer the question machiam you are the EV.
I ask from the pedestrian perspective.

keenklee

Wah bro, you anyhow accuse me never do NS ah? Let’s focus on facts, not diversion tactics:

**1. Refute the Facts

• ICE Fires: ~200 per year in SG (1 every 2 days).
  • EV Fires: Less than 5 since 2020.
  • Safety: EVs have stronger chassis, no fuel tank, and better crash protection.

**2. Your Claim: ICE Safer Than EV

• Reality Check: ICE cars have more fire risks, higher emissions, and worse crash safety due to engine blocks and fuel tanks.
  • Data Don’t Lie: SCDF stats show ICE fires are 10x more common than EV fires.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “You never do NS!”
  • Me: “Bro, whether I do NS or not, facts don’t change. EV safer than ICE – even Ah Ma know this.” 😂

Conclusion

Instead of anyhow accusing, why not refute the facts? If you think ICE safer, show me the data. Otherwise, stop diversion tactics and face the truth.

Steady bo? 🔌🚗⚡
IMHO.
Ang mo again. Which part I accuse you ?

Evcats

Wah Bro, Roasting EV Haters is Fun, But Let’s Talk Facts!

It’s quite entertaining to roast EV haters, but seriously ah, they keep throwing misinfoor catching minor word issues instead of debating clearly why we should not switch to EVs. Let’s focus on the obvious benefits of EVs:

**1. EV Benefits

• Safer: No fuel tank = no explosions. Stronger chassis = better crash protection.
  • Greener: Zero tailpipe emissions = cleaner air for our kids.
  • Cheaper: Charge at home = 50/month∗∗.Pumppetrol=∗∗50/month∗∗.Pumppetrol=∗∗300/month.

**2. ICE Drawbacks

• Fire Risk: 1 ICE fire every 2 days in SG.
  • Pollution: CO2, NOx, PM2.5 = bad for health and environment.
  • Costly: Petrol prices rising, maintenance wallet cry father cry mother.

**3. Humor Break

• EV Haters: “EV confirm explode like action movie!”
  • Me: “Bro, your ICE car also anyhow burn. At least EV no fuel tank to explode. Your logic like blaming umbrella for rain.” 😂

Conclusion

Instead of anyhow bashing EVs with misinfo, why not debate clearly? EVs are safer, greener, and cheaper long-term. If you still want ICE, maybe buy a fire extinguisherfirst. Just in case.

Evcats

IMHO.
If you typed it, own it. Don't say pple i.e. I nitpick you. You understand what is anyhow fly or not ?

On the weight question, i think I ask you, not the scientific explanation. Other people will know how to reply this kind of question, only you divert here and there. You answer the question machiam you are the EV.
I ask from the pedestrian perspective.
Wah bro, you anyhow accuse me of diverting ah? Let me address your points with facts and humor:

**1. Your “Anyhow Fly” Comment

• Humor: I used anyhow fly to describe how ICE engine blocks can dislodge in crashes. It’s a bit of kopitiam talk – no need kancheong until caps lock spoil.
  • Reality: ICE engines are bolted down, but in severe crashes, components can anyhow fly. EVs? No engine block = less flying parts.

**2. Weight Question (Pedestrian Perspective)

• EVs: Yes, heavier due to batteries. But:
    • Crash Safety: Stronger chassis = better protection for both driver and pedestrian.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “You answer machiam you are the EV!”
  • Me: “Bro, if I were the EV, I’d charge myself overnight and zoom past your ICE car every morning.” 😂

Conclusion

Appreciate a bit of humor lah – no need anyhow accuse or nitpick. The risk of engine block flying in ICE cars is real, and EVs are safer by design. If you really scared, maybe take MRT lah – no engine block to worry about.

Steady bo? 🔌🚗⚡

PS I think EV drivers are laughing at this to fro about engine and knocking. Ok ok you steady lah

Evcats

see ah, some people anyhow argue about ICE vs EV safety, but they no put their own views. With recent fire events and SG’s long-term green plans, it’s time to face the facts:

**1. Recent Fire Events

• ICE Fires: ~200 per year in SG (1 every 2 days). Petrol leaks, engine overheating, ah beng wiring mods – all time bombs.
  • EV Fires: Less than 5 since 2020. Battery fires? Rare and manageable.

**2. SG’s Green Plans

• 2030 ICE Ban: No new petrol/diesel cars from 2030. Renew COE for your 10-year-old ICE car? Prepare to pay and pay
  • 60,000 Chargers by 2030: Soon, HDB carpark got more chargers than kopitiamtables.

**3. Humor Break

• You: “EV confirm explode like action movie!”
  • Me: “Bro, your ICE car also anyhow burn. At least EV no fuel tank to explode. Your logic like blaming umbrella for rain.” 😂

Conclusion

Instead of anyhow arguing, why not put your own views? EVs are safer, greener, and cheaper long-term. If you still want ICE, maybe buy a fire extinguisher first. Just in case.

Steady bo? 🔌🚗⚡

fortunecat

how comes nowsadays ...

... alot car catch fire

ijjit they are fire lisco regular, fire fire in the sky :s11:
Everything got trend. Like last time one car go against traffic on the road, you start to have many cars doing the same for the next few weeks. Then recently one guy got caught urine at mrt, then start to have others caught doing the same thing :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.