jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Even for kelvin kiptum (280km to over 300km weeks) his coach said it is not sustainable after a few yrs, but worth it for kelvin coz aiming for sub 2....which is fine of coz since going for once in a lifetime record.
I believe even when Kiptum did this high mileage, it only during his peaking phase, which for most who are on periodized training scheme is usually for 3 to 4 weeks only . Unlike Jake, his is >250km for two years with almost no rest days. But got to hand it to him, his body is sibei resilient to last this long.

Ender

Sure can progress gradually.

From normal to weighted squat to Bulgarian then single leg. 😃
Only managed to train to one rep of pistol squat in my mid 40s. then after that become full time runner with little strength exercise.
But I still try to do this squat after my run, the Kneesovertoeguy's ATG split squat to maintain my knee mobility.

Ender

sorry to hear about your mid 90s grandma incident. I suppose to have a fall and ended up with broken pelvis can be just as bad for younger people, which happened to a close friend of mine, slipped in the bathroom and kena the same thing. Even with successful operation, loss of mobility for a period of time can be quite bad and inconvenient. Worse if victim is the sole breadwinner of the family. Incidents like this, not sure if strong foundation via half pistol squats will help, to be honest.
Strength and strong bone to minimizer pelvis crack. Some people with brittle bones, sometimes the fall like not serious the pelvis also can crack.

sales69

Only managed to train to one rep of pistol squat in my mid 40s. then after that become full time runner with little strength exercise.
But I still try to do this squat after my run, the Kneesovertoeguy's ATG split squat to maintain my knee mobility.
Nice. Even one rep is damn hard to achieve!

I also like ATG just to vary the exercises.

Last time when running 21k, I hardly did any leg exercises. Wonder where all the running strength came from? 🤔😄

xllms

Strength and strong bone to minimizer pelvis crack. Some people with brittle bones, sometimes the fall like not serious the pelvis also can crack.
I can probably understand how strong bone via sufficient calcium intake can minimize pelvis crack. Could you elaborate more on the strength aspect? Are you referring to strength of bones or strength of specific muscle groups around the pelvic bone structure?

xllms

Nice. Even one rep is damn hard to achieve!

I also like ATG just to vary the exercises.

Last time when running 21k, I hardly did any leg exercises. Wonder where all the running strength came from? 🤔😄
I suppose everyone’s strength comes in various forms via lifestyle. Many of us completed 21km without any specific strength training. However with dedicated strength training, am sure it does help to complete it with greater ease and completing faster.

Ender

I can probably understand how strong bone via sufficient calcium intake can minimize pelvis crack. Could you elaborate more on the strength aspect? Are you referring to strength of bones or strength of specific muscle groups around the pelvic bone structure?
Muscle group. @WussRedXLi explain alot liao how strength can reduce risk of falling and recovery of balance loss.
Strength training is also load bearing exercises,load bearing and impact type of exercise strengthen the bones too.
Pelvis bone density, imo, running helps a lot via impact loading.

WussRedXLi

sorry to hear about your mid 90s grandma incident. I suppose to have a fall and ended up with broken pelvis can be just as bad for younger people, which happened to a close friend of mine, slipped in the bathroom and kena the same thing. Even with successful operation, loss of mobility for a period of time can be quite bad and inconvenient. Worse if victim is the sole breadwinner of the family. Incidents like this, not sure if strong foundation via half pistol squats will help, to be honest.

Just can do whatever we can, it's actually the whole range.......from strength for both upper and lower body to even forearm and grip strength in which even gripping resistance bands/barbells or pullup bar would help, to balance/stabilization to some impact exercises like sprints/running/even racewalking is decent, and finally supplements/diet like Mg, D3, sunlight whey which also contains a bit of calcium etc.
So that even if slipped in the bathroom or outside on wet drain covers and hit the ground in the process, can tahan.

For me for cycling i have ready hit the ground quite a number of times, pretty hard until big patches of blue black and road rash etc....anecdotally i think all the stuff i have done shd have prevented fractures be it pelvis (kena this hip area 2X, big patch of blue black), wrists (pained for like 3 weeks lol), and also side arm (also big patch of blue black) which would break the clavicle/collar bone or the humerus. Confirm worse than slipping in the bathroom. But then again i am not so old in my 70s or 80s, so........

Actually with that said, for those middle age or worse those in their 60s, if havent worked out, ran, or have a good diet/supplements, better dont play with cycling. ie those uncles esp aunties prone to osteoporosis in foldies, if they are just irregular recreational cyclists just getting around and group rides but i guess most of those covid riders have stopped already.

chopra

The last time I had shin splint, for my rehab the kettlebell was my resistance when I tib raised.

something like this in the video. But if you have resistance band, can loop it around a pole and your foot, dorsi-flex your ankle

Thanks. I just thinking if i shld scan my shin first. Dunno issit splint or hairline crack.
To elaborate, i dont feel pain during running. Only during walk n climbing. Will take note more n keep a diary.

i also wonder if it’s resulted by running or squats. I do both

chopra

Keep on running, just regressed volume and intensity such that pain level is low. The specificity at low volume is exactly what you need to strengthen.

And put resistance for your ankle dorsi flex to strengthen calf muscle at the tibialis.

Anyway shin splint is an over use injury. It means somewhere along the line your incremental is too much for your current level with volume or intensity.
Like this ah?

WussRedXLi

Like this ah?

Just try this for anterior tibialis if you do not have any equipment now. Then for calf raises that's self explanatory very common exercise out there.

Also hits both legs in 1 shot so this can save time for ya, well you can do 1 legged as well but vast majority out there untrained can't manage for more than a 1 or 2 so not much use. Or if next time with training you are aiming for no more 10 reps. (even for me having trained this for years, cant do 1 legged with moderate no. of reps)
If you want to increase resistance, then place feet farther away from the wall.

But dont strengthen if still pain now, if very mild pain can start liao.
That also means in some cases you cannot start if pain is moderate or high and you didnt hoot any NSAIDs. And it can be quite a while. So choose your poison.

This one confirm more than sufficient to make anterior tibialis very strong, i used it for racewalking training during covid time. The front of the leg damn solid, strong and defined,

WussRedXLi

10:00 for 3k @ 8000 ft.

After race needed O2

A71tIUR.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.