colonscopy quite expensive, tt y also deter pple for screening

dambio

Not just on the brain but even on our skins

Some studies suggest that wearing a smart watch 24/7 can be dangerous too
To me is they do hv an effect. But whether on a large full blown scale.

MiG123

wonder what specifically was forced on sinkies in the covid years around 2021/2022 that could have exacerbated this...

apparently unhealthy food, sedentary lifestyle, high sugar/sodium didn't exist before then.

EDMW-Hates-Me

wonder what specifically was forced on sinkies in the covid years around 2021/2022 that could have exacerbated this...

apparently unhealthy food, sedentary lifestyle, high sugar/sodium didn't exist before then.
If you bother to read the article, 2019 already increased significantly from the past.

coyote

I did my endoscopy and colonoscopy this year and found 7 polyps. They were non-cancerous and removed

I will probably have to do it again 2-3 years time due to family history

The endoscopy procedure is now far nicer than 20-30 years ago when you have to do it non-sedated

You can be a golden example of how modern medicinal advancement prolonged life!👍

GuiGuZi

I think you can just insist on getting a colonoscopy done if you are willing to pay
I think public hospital queue for colonoscopy is about 3 months, so my guess is they try to reduce scoping for this me below 50 without family history, to give those with more risks earlier detection.

coyote

colonscopy quite expensive, tt y also deter pple for screening

Go talk to your doctor before you said it's expensive... Singapore has one of the most advanced healthcare plus a comprehensive medisave, medishield etc...

I just did it this month. Go for it. You want to save your life than saving that few hundred dollars.

vbhelper

Go talk to your doctor before you said it's expensive... Singapore has one of the most advanced healthcare plus a comprehensive medisave, medishield etc...

I just did it this month. Go for it. You want to save your life than saving that few hundred dollars.
can you share how much was ur screening fee + subsidy?

coyote

can you share how much was ur screening fee + subsidy?

Singapore healthcare system is very comprehensive. First you go talk to your doctor at hospital and they will advise you what procedures you may need, then they will arrange the admin staffs to talk to you, they called it the "The care cost form"... Then the admin staffs will advise you, based on your recommended procedures by the doctors, based on th class of wards you chose and based on the insurance plan you bought, what will be the estimated "likely cost" and "complex cost".

So, everyone's estimation will be different. Just go ahead and talk to your doctor and move on from there.

Sango123

You can be a golden example of how modern medicinal advancement prolonged life!👍
No lah, i have a bad stomach from young and family history of stomach cancer (mum), so i need to scope more.

And unfortunately from the incidents happening to my mum, we come to understand that scope is the only way to detect stomach cancer etc. It is too easy to overlook the symptoms of excessive gas, stomach discomfort etc for any minor stomach problems.

Ironically for me, 6 of the polyps are in the colon area while 1 is in the stomach area, so i am glad to do colonoscopy with endoscopy. The procedure now is really pain free

DW

Make it a point to get your scopes down early. Even earlier if you have family history

arcturuz

Ironically for me, 6 of the polyps are in the colon area while 1 is in the stomach area, so i am glad to do colonoscopy with endoscopy. The procedure now is really pain free

i heard endoscopy is worst and cause more discomfort compared to colonoscopy

Geminiboy

In July 2022, he experienced heart palpitations and shortness of breath. He would feel unusually winded after walking short distances, something he attributed to the lingering effects of a Covid-19 infection.

Many buibuis also have these symptoms leh
haha. Covid related. The Great Experiment.

coyote

No lah, i have a bad stomach from young and family history of stomach cancer (mum), so i need to scope more.

And unfortunately from the incidents happening to my mum, we come to understand that scope is the only way to detect stomach cancer etc. It is too easy to overlook the symptoms of excessive gas, stomach discomfort etc for any minor stomach problems.

That's why I said you can be the golden example of how modern medicinal advancement prolonged life!👍

I have gastric and gases issue with my stomach once in a blue moon and it has been decades like that. So, in my recent colonoscopy, I asked to include gastroscopy as well. Immediately the nurses and doctor interviewed me on my request. They said the reason for colonoscopy is because patients will be asymptomatic untill at the end stage. Cancer in stomach however are usually symptomatic and thus usually detected earlier. That's why gastroscopy is not usually recommended unless patients exhibit symptoms.

I'm thankful I went through both and doctor did not find any polyps. And come to think of it, I am over 50 and I only heard of this polyps thing probably in the last 10+ years. So, we as the indeed lucky with all these medical advancement at our disposals.

coyote

i heard endoscopy is worst and cause more discomfort compared to colonoscopy

It's not the procedure. It's the preparation for colonoscopy that is awful. Have you drank 4 liters of laxative in 5 hours? Try doing that. The patient will be in semi-concious state during the procedure and feel very little... Please refer to post #72.

cet87

Was told the first culprit for colon cancer is a bad diet with insufficient fibres.

So eat your vege...
5f5c3ebc1c132ba05349131f85f0dfe3.gif

eating now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.