[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

artncraft

Removal of retirement age would mean that employers are bound by statutory law to prevent them asking their elderly staff to leave or convert to contract headcount once the retirement age is reached. Or lowball them with a lower salary.

It doesn’t mean you have to work till you die. The option is there for you to still retire if one day you feel like doing so.

Nowadays, companies fire the staff who are no longer productive or strategic to their business plan.

fly1111

In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :

Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121

OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them

So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
Retirement age for employment is difference from getting your money back for cpf….

klim668

They dare to suggest removing retirement age during this very election time, power sia.
WP are digging their own grave, let's get what they wish for.

Miss.Molly

Workers party advocate work for life?!

WP didn't say that it's mandatory to work more or longer.

For those who don't want to and/or have enough $ to stop, carry on.

For those who need/want to continue working, they can now do so.

So, what's the problem for employees? Only EDMWers seem to have an issue.

van123

AI : In Singapore, the Central Provident Fund (CPF) payout eligibility age of 65 is separate from the retirement and re-employment ages.

The payout eligibility age is NOT tied to the current retirement age of 63 or the re-employment age of 68, and will remain unchanged even if these ages are raised

You can start receiving CPF payouts at any time between 65 and 70, regardless of whether you continue working or not.

twinklingstars

Get to know our candidate - Eileen Chong Pei Shan 蒋佩姗

Eileen currently works in the social impact sector, where she leads the early childhood development, education, and youth mental health and wellbeing portfolios at Asia Philanthropy Circle (APC). She joined APC in June 2024.

From 2017 to 2024, Eileen served at the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At MFA Headquarters, she covered Singapore’s bilateral ties with China, Thailand, the Philippines, and Laos. She was subsequently posted to the Singapore Embassy in Beijing, where she served as First Secretary (Political) from 2020 to 2023, and concurrently as Deputy Head of the Political Section in her final year.

Eileen was awarded the Singapore Government Scholarship (Foreign Service) in 2011 and went on to pursue higher studies in China and South Korea. She holds an M.A. in Global Affairs and Policy from Yonsei University, South Korea (2017), and a B.A. in International Politics from Peking University, China (2015). She graduated from ACS (Independent) with an International Baccalaureate diploma in 2010, and attended Jurong Secondary School and Xingnan Primary School prior to that.

Eileen wants voters to know that she cares—not just about what Singapore is today, but what it could become tomorrow. She believes that open conversations, respect and empathy build a stronger Singapore. Eileen is committed to building a more inclusive Singapore where diverse voices unite rather than divide, and where every Singaporean feels heard and supported. To this end, Eileen has volunteered as a casework volunteer at the HOME shelter for domestic workers in distress and been a mentor for a youth social challenge organised by ItsRainingRaincoats.

Eileen hopes to see more kindness and empathy in Singapore’s political discourse. She believes this can set a positive tone for civil society and create safe spaces for open conversations that challenge biases and prejudices. Such exchanges are essential for building genuine understanding—not just tolerance—and for fostering a renewed social compact from the ground up, where diverse viewpoints strengthen rather than divide us.

Read her profile here: www.wp.sg/candidate/eileen-chong-pei-shan

#wpsg #WorkingforSingapore #StepUp #GE2025

Wow went neighbourhood secondary school then ACS IB.. family must be rich to afford the school fees.. anyhows.. Speaks very well.. definitely will get my vote.

Itsthatguy

With removal of retirement age, sg will go down hill further and sooner, especially the Civil Services.

Why not formulate more programs and initiatives to engage seniors after retirement to keep them mentally and physically active and healthy? Or financial assistance for needy seniors after retirement because we do not know what circumstances might have arisen?

Really stupid and crazy of WP to ask for removal of retirement age. Pui.

parchiao

This is an excellent idea.

But there must be something explicit to say that policies should not be premised on Sinkies working forever.

I see so many JLB people in parliament, sooner or later someone will think It means make Sinkies slog for life.

xdivider

With removal of retirement age, sg will go down hill further and sooner, especially the Civil Services.

Why not formulate more programs and initiatives to engage seniors after retirement to keep them mentally and physically active and healthy? Or financial assistance for needy seniors after retirement because we do not know what circumstances might have arisen?

Really stupid and crazy of WP to ask for removal of retirement age. Pui.
i think the issue is some of them still need to work despite hitting 60-70......that should be what we need to ask why......

Boiaukin

As an opposition supporter in my late 40s, I strongly disagree with this. With the current retirement age set at 65, many individuals with outdated mindsets occupy positions, waiting to retire while earning their maximum salaries. Their presence often hinders the advancement of younger employees, as they tend to focus on directing rather than fostering growth.

hachi

In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :

Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121

OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them

So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
Hmm? You also need a baby sitter to tell one when to retire? Wow.... No wonder we need so many FTs... Ageism alr exists.

hachi

i think the issue is some of them still need to work despite hitting 60-70......that should be what we need to ask why......
Sometimes by choice... Many need to impress people that don't care when they are young....

You see cheap bto many don't want... And trade in retirement to buy expensive hdb... Or condo... Cite inconvenience... Maybe govt make it convenient for people to work until old age... One faults or govt fault?

xdivider

Sometimes by choice... Many need to express people that don't care when they are young....

You see cheap bto many don't want... And trade in retirement to buy expensive hdb... Or condo... Cite inconvenience... Maybe govt make it convenient for people to work until old age... One faults or govt fault?
i dun sympathize with people who believe in nonsense like ASShat enhancement and end up get played. what im more bothered with is the old folks that still needs to collect cardboard or wash plates that govt promotes as exercise........

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.