Removal of retirement age doesn't mean cannot take out cpf at 55.Opp also want to delay ur cpf?
Correct Lor…..no wonder lky say sinkies are daftRemoval does not means you must work till die
Removal of retirement age would mean that employers are bound by statutory law to prevent them asking their elderly staff to leave or convert to contract headcount once the retirement age is reached. Or lowball them with a lower salary.
It doesn’t mean you have to work till you die. The option is there for you to still retire if one day you feel like doing so.
Retirement age for employment is difference from getting your money back for cpf….In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :
Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121
OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke![]()
Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them
So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
Workers party advocate work for life?!
Get to know our candidate - Eileen Chong Pei Shan 蒋佩姗
Eileen currently works in the social impact sector, where she leads the early childhood development, education, and youth mental health and wellbeing portfolios at Asia Philanthropy Circle (APC). She joined APC in June 2024.
From 2017 to 2024, Eileen served at the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At MFA Headquarters, she covered Singapore’s bilateral ties with China, Thailand, the Philippines, and Laos. She was subsequently posted to the Singapore Embassy in Beijing, where she served as First Secretary (Political) from 2020 to 2023, and concurrently as Deputy Head of the Political Section in her final year.
Eileen was awarded the Singapore Government Scholarship (Foreign Service) in 2011 and went on to pursue higher studies in China and South Korea. She holds an M.A. in Global Affairs and Policy from Yonsei University, South Korea (2017), and a B.A. in International Politics from Peking University, China (2015). She graduated from ACS (Independent) with an International Baccalaureate diploma in 2010, and attended Jurong Secondary School and Xingnan Primary School prior to that.
Eileen wants voters to know that she cares—not just about what Singapore is today, but what it could become tomorrow. She believes that open conversations, respect and empathy build a stronger Singapore. Eileen is committed to building a more inclusive Singapore where diverse voices unite rather than divide, and where every Singaporean feels heard and supported. To this end, Eileen has volunteered as a casework volunteer at the HOME shelter for domestic workers in distress and been a mentor for a youth social challenge organised by ItsRainingRaincoats.
Eileen hopes to see more kindness and empathy in Singapore’s political discourse. She believes this can set a positive tone for civil society and create safe spaces for open conversations that challenge biases and prejudices. Such exchanges are essential for building genuine understanding—not just tolerance—and for fostering a renewed social compact from the ground up, where diverse viewpoints strengthen rather than divide us.
Read her profile here: www.wp.sg/candidate/eileen-chong-pei-shan
#wpsg #WorkingforSingapore #StepUp #GE2025
Hopefully won't end up like another RKJialat, they recruited another activist.
i think the issue is some of them still need to work despite hitting 60-70......that should be what we need to ask why......With removal of retirement age, sg will go down hill further and sooner, especially the Civil Services.
Why not formulate more programs and initiatives to engage seniors after retirement to keep them mentally and physically active and healthy? Or financial assistance for needy seniors after retirement because we do not know what circumstances might have arisen?
Really stupid and crazy of WP to ask for removal of retirement age. Pui.
Hmm? You also need a baby sitter to tell one when to retire? Wow.... No wonder we need so many FTs... Ageism alr exists.In the WP manifesto announced on 17 April, the Workers Party annouced :
Under proposals for economic growth, WP called for the statutory retirement age to be abolished, to allow older workers to continue to participate in meaningful employment, improving their mental and physical health.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-workers-party-election-manifesto-5071121
OH NO! All the die hard opposition here going to suffer a stroke![]()
Even opposition parties agree that Singaporeans should continue to work when they are old because it IS good for them
So you guys can stop with the ‘work until die if PAP is the government, please vote wisely’
Sometimes by choice... Many need to impress people that don't care when they are young....i think the issue is some of them still need to work despite hitting 60-70......that should be what we need to ask why......
i dun sympathize with people who believe in nonsense like ASShat enhancement and end up get played. what im more bothered with is the old folks that still needs to collect cardboard or wash plates that govt promotes as exercise........Sometimes by choice... Many need to express people that don't care when they are young....
You see cheap bto many don't want... And trade in retirement to buy expensive hdb... Or condo... Cite inconvenience... Maybe govt make it convenient for people to work until old age... One faults or govt fault?