[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

marshalTan93

Siao Ah?

Limpeh buy my resale 620k, now price 700k++ going 800k.... maybe 1mil in 4 yrs time.

..... you want to reduce my flat price to 270k ??

o_O

CCCustom

I think main problem is because SDP cant attract enough young talented candidates. Too little volunteers for them to do things.

Even their social media, websites updates all lacking compared to WP
That’s not true. Was Vincent not young? Was Vincent not talented?

Danny The Democracy Bear was not a CSJ creation.

The problem is attracting the right kind of young talented.

Duapui-ti

Not practical at all.
First, more people will rush to apply, but many will end up unsuccessful in getting a unit.

Second, this will drive up resale prices even further, making it even harder for those who didn’t secure a BTO.

Third, those who do get a BTO will likely sell it later at a higher price in the resale market, hoping to cash in on the “lottery effect.”

I suggest allowing each Singaporean couple to apply for a BTO only once, but still granting them access to two HDB housing loans. This way, the profit they earn from their first HDB can give them a financial head start in life. To ensure long-term stability, a portion of the proceeds — say 50% — should be locked into their retirement account. This helps reduce the amount of money flowing back into the property market or being spent on non-essential things like gambling.

dezzo69

my only concern now is how is PAP going to give me fair value for the lease buyback scheme. because so far, they are just pussyfooting and dragging their foot to giving me a fair price.

my property is 750k yet buy back only gimme less than 1/4 of value and i have to meet a whole bunch of requirement that is gatekeeping me from doing it now?

ppl say property ponzi i don't believe in the beginning also but now my eyes are clearer.

my politics very simple one.

Mancunian2

His move to Bishan-TPY back then, was generally not met with optimism. Most thought he will fail, which he did.

Benjamin Pwee was thought to be a better option to hand over PP to, but he chose his wife eventually. Thus, after that SPP just went downhill.
Benjamin's father was a long time well known grassroot leader in the Thomson Sin Min area,
which was under TPY-Bishan GRC at that time

They thought can latched on father's legacy mah
PAP copied this idea after LKY passed on

Sforthought

I want good policy.
I dont want u to counter a existing policy without coming up with better.
Even u come up with a "better" policy that sounds good, may not fit in well and may have repercussion.
-
repercussion who bear the responsibility ?

mike-q

That’s exactly the thing … Gombak and Nee Soon voters did not vote for Ling How Doong and Cheo Chai Chen … they voted for Chiam See Tong. They saw this as 过河拆桥.
it shows the SDP CEC did not like Chiam’s leadership

iammole

CSJ is pap IB... planted to destroy the whole opposition image

zohn1999

WP have really raised their professional image and PSP have overtaken SDP in the public conciousness.

SDP don't seem to have much renewal or public engagement or media pressence. Till this day, they are still the CSJ kpkb party.

Dunno what Paul Tambyah still hanging around with them.
Fair statement.

asymmetric

SDP’s vote count grew from 55,685 in 2011 to 85,893 in 2020, an overall increase of 30,208 votes (approximately 54.3% increase over the three elections).

WP’s vote count decreased from 288,176 to 270,434, a drop of 17,742 votes (approximately 6.2% decrease).

SDP has outperformed WP.

hotamp

must as well propose all you order eat cai fan capped at $5 dollars :p

mgx-alander

If SDP really manage to get a MP slot, i hope it will be Paul Tambyah.

Our healthcare system really needs a reform, costs are soaring through the roof but waiting time/hospital beds situation is getting worser.

Nurses, etc. are overworked and underpaid.

The hospital's C-Suites, corporate shareholders and insurance companies, etc. meanwhile are profiting in this current set of circumstances at everyone else's expenses.
The healthcare problem root cause is over pop with denand exceeding supplies

U cannot fix it unless they stop their import

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.