[GE2025] Punggol GRC

twerkerwerker

I might be wrong but personally, i felt putting big names like Gan Kim Yong in Punggol serves one clear purpose, fearmongering. It plays on voters’ fears, making them second-guess their decision by suggesting that voting out a minister with an “important role” could somehow destabilize Singapore.

But in the bigger picture, having an important title doesn’t automatically mean they are doing good for the people. Especially, if the minister is not consistently speaking up for Singaporeans, questioning policies, or delivering real results, then their so-called "important role" means little at the ground level where it matters most.
no worries, it happened in Aljunied and Sengkang but the sun still rise from the East.

No one is irreplaceable.

pclow59

To Pritam

May4th.gif

and your WP teams!

Carnage

But I feel that this time Punggol will still remain in PAP's hands, it's still not as bad as Aljunied in 2011.

Back then you could literally feel the anger the residents had against Lim Hwee Hwa and Cynthia Phua for what the way they behaved in front of residents.

I was at the WP's rally last night and I don't think Punggol residents have quite reached that level yet.

forests_gump

Comon....even our beloved saf Guards Recce @Dilemma6, don't know about "leave no man behind" can't really fault Put2cherry ~ this is total failure of total defence/saf, because we had a ball-less mindef minister (who by professional is a Doctor) in support of translator big boss.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...w-citizen-dont-need-ns.7122384/post-156016178

the big boss has a long tradition of putting up mismatch professionals as lead minister (not in the related field of professions nor experience, in order to be his yes man)

iceblendedchoc

Cck so safe why come to punggol. Should arrow shoot Edwin Tong to punggol. He is younger than Gan. Has ET reach retirement age?
I think it is firstly for the arrows Lawrence keep receiving from him before he was PM.
Gjy is near retirement already so losing him won’t matter much to Lawrence who want a new team that will listen to him. Most of the old guards are out this year if you notice

Courage

I don't see what's so special about GKY. He failed in tariff negotiations and did not impress like Khaw Boon Wan during Covid. This guy is 100% replaceable. I can't remember a single good policy under his ministry

algerr

This trade war is serious matter. Singapore's trade is 3 times our GDP. Trade war will seriously affect us. It's a matter of job and livelihood.
With Gan Kim Yong being the key man in fighting this trade war, even if not happy with PAP, I think got to think twice taking risk with our vote this round.

No one is indispensable.
Even if Gan got voted out, life still goes on. Can always appoint another person to the task force.

If Gan gets voted in, he may just likely be a 1-term MP just like Heng who retired 5 years after revealing the East Coast Plan.

Did East Coast collapse after he left? No worries, there's a lot of civil servants in line to fill up the void.

KPO_SAHM

I think it is firstly for the arrows Lawrence keep receiving from him before he was PM.
Gjy is near retirement already so losing him won’t matter much to Lawrence who want a new team that will listen to him. Most of the old guards are out this year if you notice

Is he on pension scheme? If he lost, would government pay him pension? If yes then he should be enjoying his Swiss standard of retirement in Singapore as he said he doesn wan to be DPM

Carnage

Of cos not lah ...... she walked to my ward yesterday, one bus stop away from her ward. .... why would she if it's not part of a GRC. It's like finally seeing the SXL in person.... but she didn't bothered to engage me. Maybe she expected me to go shake her hands first.

Some of the arguments put forth here are really I dunno what to say....SXL walked her ward.....nothing to do with me. Why didn't she fill in for my MP who walked to One Punggol only? 🤣
Same argument could be used for WP. None of their candidates walked in Punggol before 26th April.

itedino

If Punggol really vote for Alexis rather than sxl who walked the grounds for so many years, really nothing much to say.
This is big GRC so sxl votes may not enough to cover especially the tide is against pap this election due to high col

KPO_SAHM

Let him enjoy retirement with his own cpf lor.

My hubby late auntie was retired civil servant who was under pension scheme worked near to 40+ years. No CPF for her as she opted for pension scheme during her time.

Nightscapez

foreigner come here dont need do ns can be minister
local born here need serve ns need give job to foreigner need go back ict ippt
and have to see our sexual assault crime rate keep increase, worry about our daughter wife mother safety.
due to keep asking someone come here take PR.

the_dog

People say be doctor save life is like NS

He said that in 2011 when he first entered politics. Someone pointed out to me that he did serve in the Volunteer Corps, and after checking, looks like that is true.
However if the info on his Wiki is correct, he served in VC in 2014 - which means he probably realised nobody bought that crap about his saving lives as doctor being equivalent to NS...

:ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.