Votes: 231 27.0%
  • Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

eatingtunic

Democracy doesn't work because the world is full of idiots.

And these idiots are voting not because of policies but because their families and friends are voting the same way.
Plus, they want the satisfaction of feeling like they've won and not be left with dissatisfaction. But when it comes to complaining, I had firsthand experience with 'sleeping voters..those who complain without realizing that they are the ones holding the baton of support for that idea.

Ubi-Warrior

Nol lah.. WP will win all 26 seats... the rest of the opposition will win another 26seats. Opposition will win 52 seats in total. PAP total 45 seats. We will see a hung parliament with no clear government in place.

Tell your friends about it ok. Especially tell the boomers and strawberries that great times are coming.

This would be oitrageous if it happen.

Maybe make MAS "gradual weakening" of SGD easier 🤣🤣🤣

yperic

AI, deepfakes and the threat to elections

New artificial intelligence (AI) and deepfake tools are creating images and videos that look so real, it is becoming harder to tell what is fake. The technology is also becoming more accessible and easier to use.

While making Ghibli-style versions of your friends can be fun, what happens if this tech is misused – especially during elections?

ST asks experts to weigh in on the use of deepfakes and how you can guard against their dangers.

yperic

West Coast-Jurong West team working to expand childcare and infant care support: Desmond Lee

PAP’s Desmond Lee said that he and his West Coast-Jurong West team will work with the authorities and the Early Childhood Development Agency to provide more childcare and infant care support for young parents, especially those living in new Build-To-Order estates.

In a video posted on Facebook, Mr Lee said: “Raising a family should be filled with hope, not fears.

“The work doesn’t happen overnight – it comes from years of hearing and understanding what your families need, walking the ground and building strong partnerships that last.”

yperic

PM Wong’s message to first-time voters: ‘Give me and my team a chance’

6ac18d.JPG

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong’s message to first-time and younger voters is to give him and his PAP team a chance.

Responding to a question from a reporter on what he would like to say to first-time voters, PM Wong said he understands that the connection and the familiarity with the PAP may not be the same as with the older ones.

“You may feel that the party has done all these things in the past, but so what? Let’s talk about now, let’s talk about the future. The connection with the party may not be so strong, and there may be a feeling of, ‘Let’s support the underdog because the PAP is already so dominant, and the opposition party is still relatively small in terms of their presence in Parliament. Let’s support the underdog.’

“I think these sentiments do exist, and I understand that,” PM Wong said.

“What I would appeal to younger and first-time voters is: Give me and my team a chance to work with you, to empower you, give you space and voice to make Singapore better and to pursue your dreams,” he said.

Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong echoed his sentiments when asked a similar question.

“We hope to be able to talk to our younger people, engage them, to hear their views, their aspirations, and what they would like to see happening – not just in Punggol, but for themselves,” said DPM Gan.

READ MORE HERE

ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG

yperic

Political newcomer David Hoe on his race to meet residents in Clementi

Mr David Hoe, part of the PAP’s slate for Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC, has put up social media posts that show him, often drenched in sweat, running from unit to unit in various Housing Board blocks in Clementi.

Speaking to the media during a lunchtime walkabout at Bukit Batok West Hawker Centre on April 29, the political newcomer said: “I don’t deny the fact that, because I’m quite new to the residents, I don’t really know (them) yet. That’s why to me, every minute matters – if I can save a few seconds from walking by running, it gives me a few more seconds to speak to the residents and understand their concerns.”

Mr Hoe, director of philanthropy at The Majurity Trust, said he also wants to ensure that people with disadvantaged backgrounds have access to opportunities.

yperic

SDP rally: PAP needs meaningful opposition to govern Singapore better, says Chee Soon Juan

7adbd2.jpg

In his lunchtime rally speech, Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) chief Chee Soon Juan listed a litany of missteps by the PAP government in the last few years, from the series of MRT breakdowns to the late disclosure of extramarital affairs between its MPs and the controversies over the Ridout Road bungalow rentals.

“The PAP is most certainly not the exceptional party that it says that it is. And if you are not exceptional, then be humble. Don’t demand exceptional salaries... Acknowledge and accept the fact that the PAP needs meaningful opposition in Parliament to govern Singapore better,” said Dr Chee, who is contesting against the PAP’s Ms Poh Li San in Sembawang West SMC.

He added that he realised Prime Minister Lawrence Wong is not off to a promising start and is “cut from the very same old PAP cloth” when the latter called for elections just one month after the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee report was out.

Earlier, SDP chairman Paul Tambyah told the crowd that he was puzzled when the current PAP leaders said having more opposition in Parliament is bad for Singapore.

0affd2.jpg

Recounting his own experience, he said he learnt to pick up survival skills when he competed with the world’s best during his post-graduate training in the US. Had he remained in the comfort of Singapore, he would just be a big fish in a small pond at best.

“I firmly believe that healthy competition can only make someone better,” said Professor Tambyah, who is contesting Bukit Panjang SMC against the PAP’s Mr Liang Eng Hwa.

“The best football teams in the world get better by playing against teams which are stronger than them, not by shifting the goalposts, shortening the training periods for their opponent, or committing professional fouls,” he added.

Speaking to reporters after the rally, Dr Chee said the PAP should be able to stomach some losses and still put together a Cabinet even if some ministers are not elected.
“Surely amongst the group, you’re able to, from within your ranks, pull out some of your members and MPs and form a Cabinet.”

“That’s what democracy is about, that’s what parliamentary system is about,” said Dr Chee.

ST PHOTOS: KEVIN LIM

yperic

‘Let’s reject this kind of negative politics’: PM Wong on attacks towards candidates

432a9e.JPG

PM Lawrence Wong said today it is “disappointing” to see negative attacks by the WP on DPM Gan Kim Yong and the rest of the PAP Punggol team.

“We may have our differences, but there is no need to go into negative attacks on individuals, especially (towards) someone like Gan Kim Yong, who has done so much for Singapore and he continues to do so. I made him my No. 2 and my deputy because I’ve seen him in action. I know what he’s capable of,” said PM Wong. "Who in the WP will take over the work of Gan Kim Yong?"

“Why do you need to do that? What good does it serve you? And what does it reflect on your party to treat these matters so lightly?” PM Wong said.

“So it’s regretful and disappointing that the WP will make such negative attacks on someone who is spending so much time tackling national issues, trying to make things better, who has done so much for Singapore and continues to do so much for Singapore,” he added.

PM Wong then called on voters to reject this sort of politics. “I would say to Punggol residents: Let’s reject this kind of negative politics... Look at the teams. Assess the individuals. You can make a judgment for yourself – which team is better to serve you and improve your life.”

READ MORE HERE

yperic

WP didn’t step up, it stepped away from Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC: PM Wong

51d6e5.JPG

Speaking to the media this afternoon, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong emphasised that Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong, who helms the PAP’s Punggol GRC team, is a “heavyweight” candidate, replacing Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean, who earlier had announced his retirement from politics.

“No doubt the WP would have preferred me to field a new minister here (in Punggol), or maybe even just go with the existing team and the new candidates, and perhaps that’s why they decided to drop everything and parachute here into Punggol,” said PM Wong.

“So let’s be clear that WP didn’t step up. They stepped away from Marine Parade-Braddell Heights. But here in Punggol, we have a good team. We are ready to serve residents and do our best for them,” he added.

Referring to the WP’s negative comments about DPM Gan, PM Wong said: “It is remarkable that the WP would take so lightly the loss of a person like that... It is a cavalier and irresponsible approach towards the livelihood and well-being of Singaporeans.”

READ MORE HERE

yperic

Watch: Why your vote matters

Does it matter if you vote?

ST journalists Wong Yang and Christie Chiu unpack how every vote plays a role in shaping policies and decisions for Singapore’s future – even seemingly small ones, like being able to legally keep cats in Housing Board flats.

kmkimlo

You know my parents old liao, cant even walk properly... then i told them they dun void is ok nevermind wan... then wat they reply really I make me give up...

My mother say cannot dun vote (n must vote "correctly"), garment (lightning) say 犯法, n they will know later if what to need help do things will have obstructions and we (their kids/grandkids etc) will not hv priorities or may jus kanna something... wait even cdc vouchers or money cannot give us... I was like... aiyo...

Really give up liao
tell her that those CDC voucher, SC&C rebates are all taxpayers's monies..

yperic

PM Wong’s wife joins him on walkabout in Punggol

cbc1a7.jpg

Ms Loo Tze Lui (above right) was seen accompanying her husband, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong, on his walkabout at One Punggol Hawker Centre on Tuesday afternoon.

PM Wong is in Punggol to lend support to the PAP team led by Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong, who is up against the WP in GE2025.

evildoer

WP didn’t step up, it stepped away from Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC: PM Wong

51d6e5.JPG

Speaking to the media this afternoon, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong emphasised that Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong, who helms the PAP’s Punggol GRC team, is a “heavyweight” candidate, replacing Senior Minister Teo Chee Hean, who earlier had announced his retirement from politics.

“No doubt the WP would have preferred me to field a new minister here (in Punggol), or maybe even just go with the existing team and the new candidates, and perhaps that’s why they decided to drop everything and parachute here into Punggol,” said PM Wong.

“So let’s be clear that WP didn’t step up. They stepped away from Marine Parade-Braddell Heights. But here in Punggol, we have a good team. We are ready to serve residents and do our best for them,” he added.

Referring to the WP’s negative comments about DPM Gan, PM Wong said: “It is remarkable that the WP would take so lightly the loss of a person like that... It is a cavalier and irresponsible approach towards the livelihood and well-being of Singaporeans.”

READ MORE HERE

lol .. thought it was his ideal to field gan in the first place.. i think he is genuine worry

yperic

SDP rally: Young Singaporeans do not see the same ROI for their hard work, says Ariffin Sha

5466ed.jpg

In his lunchtime rally speech, Mr Ariffin Sha, who is part of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) team running in Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, pointed out what he called a “cold, hard truth” for young Singaporeans.

“We do not see the same ROI, the same return on investment for our hard work any more. And no, this is not us being a ‘strawberry generation’. This is (we) laying out the cold, hard truth,” he told the crowd, which had gathered under the hot sun at the promenade beside UOB Plaza.

“When we were young, we were told: ‘Don’t worry, study hard, work hard, keep your head down. You will be OK.’ But let me tell you, as someone coming from the younger generation, this maxim does not apply to us any more,” he said.

He added that it is not true that Singaporeans are no longer after the 5Cs – cash, car, credit card, condominium and country club membership – as some from “the powers that be” have said.

“Singaporeans do not dream of the 5Cs any more simply because the 5Cs are unattainable,” the 27-year-old said.

Other SDP candidates, including Mr Jufri Salim, Mr Alfred Tan, Mr Damanhuri Abas, Dr James Gomez and Mr Bryan Lim, also spoke at the rally, addressing issues from the high cost of living to job insecurity.

90e373.jpg

ST PHOTOS: KEVIN LIM, KELVIN CHNG

yperic

Seah Kian Peng, Tin Pei Ling thank volunteers as Meet-the-People Sessions resume for Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC

PAP’s MPs-elect for Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC, Mr Seah Kian Peng and Ms Tin Pei Ling, took to Facebook on Tuesday to thank their volunteers as Meet-the-People Sessions (MPS) for the area resumed on Monday evening.

Mr Seah shared that the evening started on a “very sweet note” when a resident dropped off a thank-you card and chocolates for his volunteer team. He expressed appreciation for the volunteers’ dedication in helping residents with their appeals every Monday evening.

Ms Tin Pei Ling said it was a “very busy night” as many residents turned up for MPS. Despite losing her voice, she said she managed to communicate with residents about their issues. She also thanked her team of “very passionate volunteers” for their hard work.

yperic

Watch: K. Shanmugam on funniest online comment about him

In a light-hearted video posted on Facebook today, Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam, who is leading the PAP team in Nee Soon GRC, answered questions including one about the funniest comment he has seen about himself on the internet.

Find out what it is in this clip.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.