[GE2025] Results, all Mediacorp & SPH platforms

3sth3r

I anecdotally feel the poor showing of smaller opposition parties has something to do with her calling them mosquitoes parties that should just go away. How many of us are using mosquitoes parties before she mainstreamed it.

cheechong

Hahahahaha, this NSP and PPP really make me LMAO, spoilt votes more than the votes for them, both can balik kampong and dissolve liao, and even the PPP team in AMK got more votes than UFO Goh
Means voters are more discerning than the past. 4-cornered fight doesn't really will dilute votes, unless the third opposition is someone like Dr Chee in a three-cornered fight with PAP and WP.

yperic

The WP's Mr Dennis Tan, who today defended his seat in Hougang SMC with 62.17% of the votes, told the jubilant crowd at the coffee shop at Block 322 Hougang Avenue 5 to disperse.

"Please disperse in an orderly way, ok! Please spread the message, so that we can all go home. Thank you very much... I love you all," said Mr Tan at the coffee shop, where WP supporters had traditionally gathered to wait for election results.

yperic

“To our opponents, many across Singapore voted for change and a better Singapore. Don’t ignore their voices,” said Harpreet Singh, candidate of WP's Punggol GRC team as they addressed supporters at Serangoon Stadium. They lost against PAP with 44.83% of the votes.

Read more: https://bt.sg/7Z5Q

3sth3r

Want endearing can go kopitiam. LMW thought he was being good, but he comes across as lame.

When all these jokers go away, the people who are the fence will likely swing towards the WP, knowing that there’s hardly any contests in the West.
Well, if you read headings and ST, sure LMW is disruptive and dumb and whatever.
A good example is TKL, we laughed at his facebook post but if he is so incompetent he won’t have lead NTUC income. Even when he spoke up against NTUC allianz deal, it’s gained no traction until Tan Suee chieh came out and basically agreeing with TKL. Sometimes packaging not good doesn’t mean product not good.
LMW is basically trying to ask for data on PMETs employment. I would want to know more other than telling me ppl are employed no problem here.

Visor9999

oh, RDU didn't lose any deposit! good to know.

btw i feel AMK die hard oppo supporters very kind hearted and considerate. They seemed trying their very best to not let any oppo parties lose deposit!
🥹🥹

Amk if only 1 opposition, they will have chance to get back deposit

Joelleyuan

Amk if only 1 opposition, they will have chance to get back deposit
definitely lah!!
there's a certain percentage of hardcore oppo de,
but i guess a huge chunk "fade away" liao.... otherwise 28%+- shouldn't be a problem.

and now 3 corner fights each got 10% so cute,
that's why i mentioned the above.

Eureka75

definitely lah!!
there's a certain percentage of hardcore oppo de,
but i guess a huge chunk "fade away" liao.... otherwise 28%+- shouldn't be a problem.

and now 3 corner fights each got 10% so cute,
that's why i mentioned the above.
Hardcore opposition voters is only 20% in the West and Central and 30% in the East, that's why independant candidate in Moutbatten can get 37% of the votes

vegaspace

This is despite bloodbath of PSP and mosquito parties

I'm worried about the future. PSP and SDP were good at distracting the PAP from the battlegrounds in the East but with both of them collapsing, PAP will be able to focus its firepower eastwards without putting in any effort elsewhere.

Emperor_Hippo

The opposition also not working together to split votes properly.

There shouldn't be any 3-4 way fight in the 1st place .
In the first place, all the opposition parties have their own 私心.

This is why, even if all the smaller parties band together to try and form a "united opposition", it will definitely split right before GE because all the SecGens can't see eye to eye and they will be arguing during the horse trading process.

And if on the assumption, one day, this loose coalition of multiple "united opposition" (excl WP) bands together and in the unlikely event this "united oppies" managed to take more than 50 seats, kick WP off and in some idiotic oppie's words "can second some opposition MPs as Ministers, so easy what", the whole govt will be paralysed, becos all the SecGens and party members will over estimate their ability to try and take cabinet position.

Emperor_Hippo

I'm worried about the future. PSP and SDP were good at distracting the PAP from the battlegrounds in the East but with both of them collapsing, PAP will be able to focus its firepower eastwards without putting in any effort elsewhere.
Like I'd said:

PSP inside no real leader, SDP only rely CSJ as its main cult leader.

the moment TCB and CSJ dies/retires, both parties will completely implode.

no, LMW and HP are not the real leaders in PSP and Paul Tambayah or whichever "young potentials" SDP is touting (some blog owner?!) all totally CMI when it comes to being a political leader.

Emperor_Hippo

I think a hung parliament or coalition government will paralyse Singapore. I also agree that the nation should come before self and even family. Which is why WP's brand of politics appeal more than confrontational and even aggressive types.

But for me who is idealistic by nature, mandate can result in group think as well. I just want a country that is not solely governed by GDP and KPIs. One where good ideas for out country are welcomed and not put down & ridiculed in parliament, then recycled. Just because someone doesn't speak good English, isn't a CEO or member of several board of directors doesn't mean he/she doesn't have good ideas and intentions.

We are a nation and not a MNC, and we have to take care of the marginalised, our own citizens.

But I'm a firm believer of the saying that Power Corrupts, and Absolute Power Corrupts Absolutely.

OMG missed the Jalan Kayu result as I'm typing this.
Everything all as I'd predicted.

yes, true that. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. History had demonstrated in the "5 Greats" - Mao, Stalin, Hitler, Tojo, Kim.

But the 5 nations above, all had a strong history of monarchy - Emperors, Kaisers and Tsars with a large subjugated peasant community which made it easier on dictators rising or making use of a silent monarchy to exercise their power. The system is pretty much unlike Singapore with segregation of power branches for the past 60yrs.

It would be foolish to assume that such a dictator would not arise at all in Singapore. After all, it takes a great liar and a charlatan appointed to power in PAP + win a super majority in Parliament to allow the amendment of constitution to consolidate power at the pinnacle around a single person + the person needs to lead, command and takeover the entire PAP cadre system.

i'd think the nature of our system itself, already provide this level of check and balance naturally to prevent the rise of despotic dictators. U need not worry tbh.

yperic

Analysis: Trump fears, unrivalled ‘ground game’ hand PAP the mandate it wanted

Bhavan Jaipragas Deputy Opinion Editor

235f5e.png

In my view, US President Donald Trump’s threat to the world order and a strong “ground game” gave PAP the mandate it wanted.

The message – that now is not the time for political experimentation – resonated powerfully, materialising in election results best characterised as total dominance for the PAP.

As PAP activists put it, the strong results must be attributed mainly to continued efforts to work the ground – elections here, they say, are won through addressing constituents’ daily concerns, and establishing reputations as consistent deliverers on municipal matters, not merely orators.

READ MORE HERE

Yuripa

Analysis: Trump fears, unrivalled ‘ground game’ hand PAP the mandate it wanted

Bhavan Jaipragas Deputy Opinion Editor

235f5e.png

In my view, US President Donald Trump’s threat to the world order and a strong “ground game” gave PAP the mandate it wanted.

The message – that now is not the time for political experimentation – resonated powerfully, materialising in election results best characterised as total dominance for the PAP.

As PAP activists put it, the strong results must be attributed mainly to continued efforts to work the ground – elections here, they say, are won through addressing constituents’ daily concerns, and establishing reputations as consistent deliverers on municipal matters, not merely orators.

READ MORE HERE
Lame article

Every GE same type of analytical article

Not clicking to add any value for them

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.