where to get help for this family issue?

happycamper_222

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?

Go Fly Kite

Maybe ya can try fei yue family service or something mi forgot the name.

Lchlch

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?
You hv siblings to help out one another?

mynickname

https://www.aic.sg/

Call them

Lchlch

got, but they got their own families, got children also got their expenses.
If possible, tell them your financial difficulties and whether they can chip in few hundred dollars also good, not for you but for parents.

begintoend

Jus get govt aid or resources to tide thru
U low on savings liao
It'll be a long road to walk.
Good luck.

Taloona

How long ago did you see your MP? Go again or pop by the nearest family social service centre.

Your maid levy should be quite substantial or even waived altogether. There are also funds to install grab bars in your home. A social worker is the best person to help you as he or she knows where you can access all the resources.

Are you the only child?

BlackWing1977

First get the parent who you suspected of dementia checked out, bring to polyclinic tell doctor that you suspected such and they will refer, or if that parent already got some appointments at hospital can get them to refer also. Depending on which health group they belong to they might only refer to the hospital of the same healthgroup if there is particular hospital you find more convenient to bring for repeating hospital appointments, best find out which health group they belong to like SingHealth or National Health Group etc.. then go to the related polyclinic to get referral.

Once if you can get your parent diagnosed, dun be afraid to seek help with the Medical Social Worker in the hospital. The medical social worker can better advise you on what type of aids or assistance is available to you.

For some cases like my mum she was qualified to receive Home Caregiving Grant as she always require some assistance to perform 3 or more Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). This have to verify by doctor, in her case I ask the doctor in charge of her dementia to help. This will give you a monthly sum to help offset with her care... either domestic helper or day care center etc.. now is $400, next year would be increased to $600. It started out couple of years ago at $200 only, even government knows COL have gotten out of hand thus have to keep increasing this grant.

https://www.healthhub.sg/a-z/costs-and-financing/home-caregiving-grant#:~:text=The Home Caregiving Grant (HCG,of Daily Living (ADLs).

Taloona

got, but they got their own families, got children also got their expenses.
Shouldn't be an excuse unless they stay in rental flats. Even $100 a month also good. If they cannot help much financially, they should chip in with their time/labour eg help you to access the resources available, visit your parents regularly so you can have some me-time, bring your parents to stay with them for a few days so you can take a holiday.

Having a family of their own is not an excuse to be totally hands-off when it comes to the care of your parents.

happycamper_222

First get the parent who you suspected of dementia checked out, bring to polyclinic tell doctor that you suspected such and they will refer, or if that parent already got some appointments at hospital can get them to refer also.
this part easier said then done, father keeps insisting bo daiji. go see doc for what? he very stubborn don't want to go see then got mood swings...sian

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.