where to get help for this family issue?

Taloona

While government is doing something for people like caregivers.. but I do think they can do more and better.

Their ComCare have very strict criteria and are simply out of reach for most people in our situation, they say your bank account still got some savings.. so cannot... then I never even bother asking the CDC for help after... :sick:
Agree. It is the middle class that suffers. Too "rich" for subsidies and have to dip into savings (which will run out one day) and worry we don't have enough for our own retirement and medical emergencies.

MarkerForProjector

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?

you are not alone in handling this, there are help available.
please reach out to seek assistance.

https://www.carecorner.org.sg/services/caregiver-support/
https://www.dementiahub.sg/supporting-caregivers/services-for-caregivers/
https://www.aic.sg/financial-assistance/

Ethan_

Putting in a nursing home can be a double edge sword.

It may provide a relief to the caregiving burden, but on the other hand, it can create financial stress due to lower subsidy if TS is working full-time.
Think unless the salary is super high to tank it. If not, one working adult need to support two nob working elderly with medical issues seems like can qualify for quite some subsidies and help bah.

Think that's one problem with local system. Think the so called mp are supposed to find out and bring such help to the people under them. But they don't. They just sit there and wait for people to become really desperate liao go to them. And then seems to act like a third party relay message only. The system add more stress to people than anything. Don't bring much relieve.

MajiMax

Service Provider are based on service boundary.

TS you can key in your postal code in the link to find the nearest service provider, https://supportgowhere.life.gov.sg/services/SVC-COTC/community-outreach-teams-crest

Taloona

I can emphasise with you. I was a caregiver from age 13 onwards. Mum had a stroke when I was in Sec One. Overnight, I also had to take care of my disabled sister too when Mum got a stroke. That was in the early 80s and no government help was available, at least not that my family knew of at that time.
In my case, I come from a big family. At that time, some of my siblings were living overseas and the older ones were all married and had moved out. Fortunately, my older siblings are not that heartless. They contributed financially and my eldest sister would also drive my mum for her medical appointments.

And when I got married, I also had to take care of my mother in law in the last few years of her life. Fortunately, she had savings and was in pretty good health until the last year. I accompanied her for most of her medical appointments since hubby is working. And my ML was also very kiasi and followed all her doctor's advice. She took all her medication and went for whatever surgical procedure her doctor advised. She never complained about hospital food or having to stay in hospitals. In fact, she was a social butterfly and made friends easily. By the first day, she knew everyone in the ward. Our job was so much easier!

MajiMax

Think unless the salary is super high to tank it. If not, one working adult need to support two nob working elderly with medical issues seems like can qualify for quite some subsidies and help bah.
If the parent is deemed to have mental capacity for NH placement, then TS will be stuck if parent insist not wanting to be admitted into a NH.

Cyber_Ghost

First get the parent who you suspected of dementia checked out, bring to polyclinic tell doctor that you suspected such and they will refer, or if that parent already got some appointments at hospital can get them to refer also. Depending on which health group they belong to they might only refer to the hospital of the same healthgroup if there is particular hospital you find more convenient to bring for repeating hospital appointments, best find out which health group they belong to like SingHealth or National Health Group etc.. then go to the related polyclinic to get referral.

Once if you can get your parent diagnosed, dun be afraid to seek help with the Medical Social Worker in the hospital. The medical social worker can better advise you on what type of aids or assistance is available to you.

For some cases like my mum she was qualified to receive Home Caregiving Grant as she always require some assistance to perform 3 or more Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). This have to verify by doctor, in her case I ask the doctor in charge of her dementia to help. This will give you a monthly sum to help offset with her care... either domestic helper or day care center etc.. now is $400, next year would be increased to $600. It started out couple of years ago at $200 only, even government knows COL have gotten out of hand thus have to keep increasing this grant.

https://www.healthhub.sg/a-z/costs-and-financing/home-caregiving-grant#:~:text=The Home Caregiving Grant (HCG,of Daily Living (ADLs).
your post is very helpful for those who need help but not sure how to go about it beside seeking help from the MP.

Ethan_

If the parent is deemed to have mental capacity for NH placement, then TS will be stuck if parent insist not wanting to be admitted into a NH.
Think with both needing help, it may be more efficient to provide for home care bah. Those that went through it may know. NH is not necessary a relief. Its heartbreaking to see them begging to go home when leave them there. Its no choice then have to do. If can provide for home care, then home care is better.

And think for elderly, especially those with dementia, its better for home care as they are in familiar environment which can help them more. Think most elderly tend response better when they are in their familiar environment. They feel safer. It tend create more stress for them when move them out of that.

Kain999

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?
Got caregiver grant if one of them needs help for maybe 2 or 3 daily activities. I blur blur didn't know and didnt apply for years.

Is 400 per month. If pioneer plus another 100.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
am sure there are many avenues out there to help u cope

espc those here whom had already chipped in w/ advise & info

hopefully it would be of help somehow
🤞

8zaoyu

this part easier said then done, father keeps insisting bo daiji. go see doc for what? he very stubborn don't want to go see then got mood swings...sian
In fact, get a maid best, the dementia will get worse for the maid to handle later.
Your salary surely more than the maid costs? You go out to work will keep your sanity,
I had been through it for both parents' last dozen years!

xiaozhi86

Best is TS have a house is staying ownself so like that can apply gov help. If not, I guess your salary is high enough and won't get or really minimum help which not solve the issue.

Guess you believe pap always say will help you but get pwned. Can only say you deserve the government you vote

8zaoyu

Doubtful you'll get much subsidies
Or not long term
Last time maid levy was $240, now only $60 , although maid salary is now $600.
Update: What I mean is it is easier and not that unaffordable to get a live-in maid in Singapore.
If they stay with you, you get tax reliefs on each to cut down your taxes if they staying with you in same address.
Your maid can bring them downstairs to sit at the multi purpose halls - you will see others in the same situation. Some Senior Activities Centres have activities for them to sit, sing and games together -free by volunteers, The only thing not free is diapering, keep hygienic, tube-feeding, colostomy care, timely medications by a helper. When our parents passed on, we gave the helper a reward as a token!

mickey88

seen liao...sigh...mp say help me write letter...until now still nothing much done. I am the sandwich middle class, earn more than the qualifying subsidy but not rich enough to cover expenses comfortably.
No siblings to help??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.