hiring helper or nursing home?

skylink67

Nursing home have vacancy meh? Their patient 10-20 years no discharge de. Hiring helper is the best option bah.

jericho75

i currently help carry my father at home. even i find it heavy to carry liao.

if u hire maid need to get those can carry heavy weight one

000cf1bdd03f11831caa01.JPG

MajiMax

I engaged helper to take care of ky dementia mum. I am only child and my mum's brothers and sisters did not lend me a helping hand. Through my friend who operates a maid agency, I hired a Myanmar helper. Talk to social worker recently about sending my mum to a home and was told I can't get much of the subsidies as I am a middle class family. The home after 25% subsidy will be around 3 to 4k... Talk to my mum's doctor and was told talk to gov loh... they don't seem to care much on the caregivers.
Next year, MOH will update the household income tier for the subsidy,

https://www.mof.gov.sg/docs/librariesprovider3/budget2025/download/pdf/annexf3.pdf

robie_aibo

gov always suubsidize family have kids. but forgot about ppl caring for ageing parents oso need subsidies.

so those have kids think gov nice to u, think again. when u n ur kids old gov will ask u f off
Our combine income just nice for daily expenses , paying for my child's education, helper's salary and reno loan. Social worker took my case, a few follow-ups and now no sight no sound.... our Healthcare cares more on patients than caregivers. They bombarded me if I missed one medical appointment...

hctawsgs

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

Nursing home rate should be b4 subsidy bah.

Taking care of stroke patient is no joke, especially where mobility is limited. Hiring a helper may be cheaper, but does she has the skill sets and patience as a caregiver? Do you trust her to be alone with 2 old folks at home?

Cost is an important consideration but should not be the only one.

grevq80o

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
Can u ask social worker for financial support? Especially from AIC, can get up to $500 per month. $400 caregiver support and $100 disability support. This can help defray cost of helper

And also rem to get a Functional Assessment Report from the ward's nurse b4 discharge
Go print a copy and let them fill in. Need to chop and sign. Better do this b4 discharge otherwise very ma fan once ur dad out of the hospital system

JonWeak

My parents say donch want helper. Next time just go nursing home cos they donch like stranger live with them. But next time see how lah especially the cost

drkcynic

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
That day got someone got helper to release, can take care of old people. The thread got moved. You can ask him/ her.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/helper-available-for-transfer.7127786/

MajiMax

May I ask what is the meaning of household income per capita of $4800?
If five persons in the household, total income is $24,000, then the household income per capita is $4,800.

Basically is to take total income divide by number of persons in the household.

StoicGuy

If your dad still recognise and talk to you then hiring helper is the option.

Else he go nursing home will be very lonely and feel neglected..

JonWeak

I engaged helper to take care of ky dementia mum. I am only child and my mum's brothers and sisters did not lend me a helping hand. Through my friend who operates a maid agency, I hired a Myanmar helper. Talk to social worker recently about sending my mum to a home and was told I can't get much of the subsidies as I am a middle class family. The home after 25% subsidy will be around 3 to 4k... Talk to my mum's doctor and was told talk to gov loh... they don't seem to care much on the caregivers.
gov always suubsidize family have kids. but forgot about ppl caring for ageing parents oso need subsidies.

so those have kids think gov nice to u, think again. when u n ur kids old gov will ask u f off
That's what WP have been voicing out for. More support for caregivers which I support. But sinkies made their choice 3 weeks back so donch kpkb le

menthol28

i currently help carry my father at home. even i find it heavy to carry liao.

if u hire maid need to get those can carry heavy weight one

000cf1bdd03f11831caa01.JPG
Hiring FDW to take care of elderly with stroke is a nightmare. Most maids cant tahan and will ask to leave within 1-2 months. Exhausting process. I've to shower my mother daily when in-between maids.
Ideally is dun direct discharge and go home for stroke patient, stay at hospices or elderly care for 3-6 months. The nurses there will guide your parent on how to be accustom to disability condition, for eg how to walk, sit down, get in a car etc..... and physiotherapy sessions. First year of stroke, it's very dangerous for the victim falls down again, might lead to death

robie_aibo

If five persons in the household, total income is $24,000, then the household income per capita is $4,800.

Basically is to take total income divide by number of persons in the household.
My current per capta is around 2k and yet can't get the 75% subsidy. Was rejected after submitting the application form

menthol28

That's what WP have been voicing out for. More support for caregivers which I support. But sinkies made their choice 3 weeks back so donch kpkb le
Actually dun need to drag in politics for everything. My pap MP also did helped a lot for my family when my mother was disabled due to stroke. Current government health-care policies are quite ok

focus1974

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

most likely old people want to be in the comfort of their own house.

so i think hiring helper is the best option.

i would do that for my parents.
1 helper each.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.