hiring helper or nursing home?

jericho75

as your dad grow older, he will lose weight naturally,
u just need to hire a maid, particular bigger size maid that can help carry your dad

Huh. 83 still not old? Still heavy lor. I think doubt maids cam carry. U need construction worker

johnsonheng

johnsonheng

if you’re looking into hiring a helper and needs time before 1 arrives, get the medical social worker to request for your father to be send to a tcf first. everything in, just like in hosipital…

depending on subsidy level, in my mum’s case its $75/day and medishield covered about 70 - 80%…
need around 1-2 month.
coz need to apply insurance / check up airticket and interview....

johnsonheng

Yes, good to hire 2 if you can. She cannot eat normal food already or the doctor asks her to take Ensure? Ensure can make you buibui easily.
u should stop taking ensure.

once she getting too far, need to keep her weight down,

johnsonheng

If they do a bad job, still will kena gossip and hiam by relatives say useless no good
Think they pay that and give lodging is already very kind hearted :s22:
Tw got a saying 站著看腰不會酸
for myside, all try to treat the maid well.
over at my side,
i told her , it zi ji ren

what ever you want to eat or cook just take from refrigerator director, dun need to ask if you need buy or eat anything let me know i buy the stuff need or taobao.
alway tell her, if nothing to do just rest at home at night if my mum is alway she can tv or play with the phone , facebook as she like .

hmyoth

day care not cheap , if you do not drive. you need to enage their service to pick your dad up.
smelly per month is around 1.5 or less.
also u need to still look after at night and prepare food for your parents.
end up u still need to hire a maid
My mother daycare plus transport monthly only $190 plus . She is on 80% subsidy.

johnsonheng

Nursing home fee based on household income per capita. If is low then can get quite good subsidy . There is caregiver fund $400 max if cannot perform 3 of the 6 ADL n $100 if patient is pioneer generation, next year June caregiver fund increased to $600 max. So total max can get $700 . But if stay nursing home i think not entitled to caregiver fund if I not wrong. See which one is more suitable for ur case. Some elderly will never accept nursing home arrangement so also must respect their choice.
yeah, my mum say she rather sleep on the street than going to nursing home.

coz my bro insist in send her there, while i want hire maid, as it way cheaper.

johnsonheng

I got my FDW who worked in Taiwan for 5 years and can speak mandarin. Got to pay her higher than market rate. Dun expect her to cook or clean the house. Mainly caregiving duties.
mine is cooking and cleaning house and look after my mum,

i alway buy tibits for her to eat and ask her if hot just on aircon and rest.
for me i see her alway play with her phone at home.

johnsonheng

take care ts. its a damn shag road ahead.

i stay with my parents, and my grandparents, all under 1 roof cause booth my grandparents had dementia last time so needed care giving and we all agreed to take turns to be around the home to look after them

end up got 2 helpers helping around the house with us all chipping in. not easy esp since all of us were working full time also

there was a period moi remembered, i was driving back and forth to the hospital almost weekly. could be a&e, or check ups etc.

:s22: :s22: :s22:
i resign from my job to take care of my mum, i also surrender, coz no matter what you tell them they will never listen,

sneaking out at night, dun want sleep at midnight.
everyonce i went out at midnight to look for my mum till 5 am.

so in the end i gave up and hire a maid to take care of her.

CyberTan

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
Hiring helper will be better. Nursing is crap. some nursing homes only allow 2 max per day, each time max 1. Some elderly will make lots of noises.

BlackWing1977

That's what WP have been voicing out for. More support for caregivers which I support. But sinkies made their choice 3 weeks back so donch kpkb le
Yeah I was happy when the government announced they going to increase the Home Care Giving Grant to $600 from $400 but end up need to wait until next year while GST increase already hit bad on COL this year... :cry:

Yeah mine case option 1.. I ownself take care of my mum when WFH part-time (adhoc)... :sick:

hmyoth

Yeah I was happy when the government announced they going to increase the Home Care Giving Grant to $600 from $400 but end up need to wait until next year while GST increase already hit bad on COL this year... :cry:

Yeah mine case option 1.. I ownself take care of my mum when WFH part-time (adhoc)... :sick:

My mother also get $400 n another $100 under pioneer generation. She also got $860 per quarter from silver support scheme. This amount helps to cover part of the maid expenses.

ahboy82

Which maid agency u all recommend to find maid who can speak Chinese?:(

Lss

My parents say donch want helper. Next time just go nursing home cos they donch like stranger live with them. But next time see how lah especially the cost
Let them know the costs and check if they can afford it.

Lss

dunno about ts case, but i was quoted 1.8k - 2k, after subsidy for my mum.
what puts me off is that daily consumables is on us…
I recall you can use your own to reduce costs.

Lchlch

No parents want to go to nursing home.
No doubt, they say say okok stay there, but their heart prefer stay at home.
Even if I sm old, if my children send me yo nursing home, I will be very sad.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.