DIY PC Rig Recommendations For 2025

soreloser

Hi guys, do you recommned the following build for 4k gaming pc?

Case: Montech Air 100 (4 ARGB Fans) - Black
Processor: Ryzen 7 9700X
Motherboard: Gigabyte B650M Gaming Wi-Fi & Bluetooth (DDR5)
Cooler: Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 EVO
Graphics Card: RTX 5070 Ti 16 GB (Gamerock) - Palit
SSD: Lexar NM790 1 TB Gen.4 - R:7400/W:6500
Ram (DDR5 AMD): Lexar Thor DDR5 32 GB 6000 MHz - Black
Power Supply: Thermalright 850W 80+ Gold

or should i change out any of the components for better/more efficient ones. Thanks!
Also, whats the price for the SSD? If possible switch to one with DRAM(samsung 970/980/990 pro) etc, will be better for handling your OS + gaming. Ensure the RAM is CL30/32/36. GPU is a good model with good cooling, I'd recommend Montech Air 903 Max for the case.

NotLikeThis

enable resizable bar ?
Let me check that out :) Thanks!

idle temp seems abit high if it hits 50degC to me~
but i dun own a 9950X3D so not sure if its the norm~
My is 43 to 57 and 62.5(when opening one more chromium tab). Should be fine as long as not too low as well
Whats-App-Image-2025-05-20-at-16-07-27-77aa3c03.jpg
I am thinking of getting some new thermal paste and re-sitting my AIO cooler, I'm wondering if I didnt sit it properly cause I had hard time struggling to screw the AIO on to the AIO bracket :cry:

Side note: Any recommendations to get a small amount of Isopropyl Alcohol? Kind of don't want to get so much end up sit in my room for a long time ):

-Synchronicity-

Side note: Any recommendations to get a small amount of Isopropyl Alcohol? Kind of don't want to get so much end up sit in my room for a long time ):

Don't think so much. Just get alcohol swipes. The very same ones nurses use on you to disinfect before taking a jab.

Small, disposable, just the right size for a cpu, uses isopropyl alcohol(though probably 70%) and most importantly, doubles up as use in first aid kits.

deepblue_82

Let me check that out :) Thanks!

I am thinking of getting some new thermal paste and re-sitting my AIO cooler, I'm wondering if I didnt sit it properly cause I had hard time struggling to screw the AIO on to the AIO bracket :cry:

can be found at Watsons

tales23

Hello all sifus here.

I see a bundle by aftershock as follows:

AMD Ryzen 7 7700
ID Cooling SE 214XT
Gigabyte B650M Gaming Wifi 6E
PowerColor Radeon RX7800XT 16GB
32GB Patriot SL Sig DDR5 6000MHaz (16x2)
1TB Lexar NQ780 Gen4 SSD
750W Thermalright 80+ Gold (ATX3.1; PCIe5.1)

This falls probably within my midrange budget - is there anything in here which I can ask to upgrade/change so that the performance is optimised?

Thank you.

Vanyel

Hello all sifus here.

AMD Ryzen 7 7700
ID Cooling SE 214XT
1TB Lexar NQ780 Gen4 SSD

This falls probably within my midrange budget - is there anything in here which I can ask to upgrade/change so that the performance is optimised?

Thank you.
for me i find that so long as meet ur budget can liao~

anything better is generally always equal to pay more $$

NightRaven49

AMD Ryzen 7 7700
ID Cooling SE 214XT
1TB Lexar NQ780 Gen4 SSD

ah yes another standard aftershock build. u can see some comments on a similar build here, and maybe check with aftershock on what are the latency timings on that ram. seeing that this build costs $1285 on their website, i think its probably easier to just go with invaderpc with better parts for not much ($10) more.

tales23

ah yes another standard aftershock build. u can see some comments on a similar build here, and maybe check with aftershock on what are the latency timings on that ram. seeing that this build costs $1285 on their website, i think its probably easier to just go with invaderpc with better parts for not much ($10) more.
It is $1,385 - the one I saw for invaderpc for $1,295 is a little different. Is Gigabite mobo not recommended for this build? And is the RX7800XT not great compared to a RTX5060?

-Synchronicity-

It is $1,385 - the one I saw for invaderpc for $1,295 is a little different. Is Gigabite mobo not recommended for this build? And is the RX7800XT not great compared to a RTX5060?
Pls don't put the whole brand under scrutiny(unless it's orico). This particular gigabyte board isnt great.

7800xt is miles ahead of the 5060. The 5060 is basically a 4060ti which is basically a 3070.

Post the invader PC build here. Not sure what's the motherboard offered now.

NightRaven49

It is $1,385 - the one I saw for invaderpc for $1,295 is a little different.
oh i missed that the one ur looking at was with the ryzen 7 7700, i thought it was just a regular 7600 + 78xt build. invader offers the 7700 + 78xt for cheaper actually by $25.
Is Gigabite mobo not recommended for this build?
only the specific model that aftershock uses, the b650m gaming. it is an extremely basic motherboard with very little going for it, even its power delivery is so weak that a ryzen 7 cpu would be near the limits of what it can handle; i would consider it to be more like an a620 rather than a b650, especially when stuff like pbo is also disabled. most of gigabytes mobo range is decent if ur buying something that isnt bottom of the barrel, then again this can be said of other brands as well.
And is the RX7800XT not great compared to a RTX5060?
dont think i made any comparison to the 5060 :s13: as synchronicity said, the 78xt is a much better card. some might say the 5060ti 16gb (not 8gb) is a better choice around the same price point though.
Post the invader PC build here. Not sure what's the motherboard offered now.
for $1359:
AMD RYZEN 7 7700 3.8GHz 8CORE/16THREAD
MSI B650M GAMING PLUS WIFI 6E
THERMALRIGHT ASSASSIN X 120 R SE ARGB
CRUCIAL PRO DDR5 BLACK 6000MT/s 32GB(16GBx2) CL36
ASUS DUAL AMD RADEON RX 7800XT O16G GDDR6
ADATA LEGEND 860 1TB 6000MB/s PCIe GEN4 NVMe M.2
SILVERSTONE TRITON 750RX 750W GOLD ATX3.1 PCIe5
SILVERSTONE LD04 BLACK ARGB TEMPERED GLASS

tales23

Thank you NightRaven49 for your kind explanations.

Take it that I get this bundle, what:

1. 2x Monitors, and
2. Speakers

will you recommend?

I tend to always go for value instead of pushing the highest spec. Also for monitors, 1 would be for gaming, the other for general use. Probably looking at 27" max size, I am generally ok with 24" too actually.

Thank you once again.

-Synchronicity-

1. 2x Monitors, and
2. Speakers

will you recommend?

I tend to always go for value instead of pushing the highest spec. Also for monitors, 1 would be for gaming, the other for general use. Probably looking at 27" max size, I am generally ok with 24" too actually.

Thank you once again.

U want value monitor? Go acer for your cheap 2nd monitor.

soreloser

1. 2x Monitors, and
2. Speakers

will you recommend?

Thank you once again.
Speakers I can recommend edifier, either local or taobao up to you.
Can get the R2000DB, $200 local or cheaper on taobao. I got my S1000MKii on taobao for $180... now waiting for shipment to arrive. If you have a lower budget, can go for the R1700BT, or R1280DB.

deepblue_82

anyone got use Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut b4?
be it for the cpu or gpu?

coz hardware unbox said it will not dry up so i am thinking of buying to try out
or i shiould just go for mx 4 mx 5?

soreloser

anyone got use Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut b4?
be it for the cpu or gpu?

coz hardware unbox said it will not dry up so i am thinking of buying to try out
or i shiould just go for mx 4 mx 5?
Get the duronaut, thermal grizzly alr announced that it's the kryonaut successor and got a longer lifespan compared to kryonaut

Yooara

Tbh, is the thermal paste brand even that important? the difference are only like 1- 3C ?

deepblue_82

Get the duronaut, thermal grizzly alr announced that it's the kryonaut successor and got a longer lifespan compared to kryonaut
i find find only from their website then can buy duroant but kryonaut can be found easily...

Hat0218

looking to get a new gaming rig from invader (mhwilds, poe2 etc)

MASTER M71

AMD RYZEN 7 9800X3D
MSI
B650M GAMING PLUS WIFI 6E

THERMALRIGHT AQUA ELITE 240 BLACK V3 ARGB AIO
-> THERMALRIGHT PHANTOM SPIRIT 120 EVO BLACK HEATSINK COOLER x 1

CRUCIAL PRO DDR5 BLACK 6000MT/s 32GB(16GBx2) CL36
-> TEAM T-FORCE RGB 6000MHz 32GB(16GBx2) CL30 x 1

SAPPHIRE
AMD RADEON PULSE RX 9070XT 16GB

ADATA LEGEND 860 2TB PCIe GEN4 NVMe
-> CRUCIAL T500 PRO 2TB x 1

THERMALRIGHT TR-SG850S 850W ATX3.1 80+ GOLD
->COOLER MASTER MWE GOLD 850W V2 ATX3.1 x 1

SAMA 2851M M-ATX CURVED TYPE-C ARGB BLACK
-> LIAN LI LANCOOL 217 BLACK TYPE-C x 1
total $2636

opinions wanted :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.