JB landed - With security guard house, swimming pool and gym. 1.5m ringgit

artncraft

My landed is practically maintenance free, what is your maintenance about?

Sure we have leaks but that is far in between, like a few years once, we know how to hire direct workers from India to fix.

We got direct China contractors to do some awnings.

Other then that just usual AC maintenance and not to mention we have free parking for 6 cars, that alone saves us about $720 every month if paying season parking in HDB and solar energy saves about $500 of our bills, so can save $1k plus per month by living in landed, so a little repair here and there is still cheaper than living in HDB or condos.

Mine is strata title with facilities, so one month is RM 450.

It is still cheap considering the number of facilities and landscaping to maintain.

Yours should be individual title.

artncraft

Jhk/Jhb stay spacious and landed house, whereas sinkie stay in hdb pigeon hole

I also think so, that's why I'm joining them in my retirement, which is a few more years from now. I'm just putting the pieces together in my planning.

Firstclass1188

Strata. It will be neater in the long run without the crazy individual extensions. The garden and facilities will also be better maintained.

Yes I agree, anyway strata vs individual title very debatable and both have pros and cons, my main decision for individual title is ownership, I own the land I buy, strata means you only own a share of the entire estate.

To each his own.

Firstclass1188

I also think so, that's why I'm joining them in my retirement, which is a few more years from now. I'm just putting the pieces together in my planning.

Great planning and same for me, sourgrapes people like to say, if have money won't buy Johor house, anyway it will not be my single primary residence, MY will be my holiday / retirement home and with RTS and other major developments coming, I can't wait.

Coffeelix

walan.. like this you feel good

you go horizon hills .. even more exclusive ..and got golf course and the club house with swimming pool ..is like uh .. a country club
Horizon hills is building a mall close to its club house and will be completed next year.
Sg invictus international school is oversubscribed in horizon hills.
It is selling out fast with the last piece of land of development with long waiting list.
Very much sought after by expat in rental cos its central locale, double gated security and many exits / entrances to your desired destinations.
Quietly perched atop of hills with lots of greenery and lots of amenities just outside it

artncraft

Yes I agree, anyway strata vs individual title very debatable and both have pros and cons, my main decision for individual title is ownership, I own the land I buy, strata means you only own a share of the entire estate.

To each his own.

I have individual titled ones as well in JB.

It is just that those with condominium facilities are strata titled :)

artncraft

Horizon hills is building a mall close to its club house and will be completed next year.
Sg invictus international school is oversubscribed in horizon hills.
It is selling out fast with the last piece of land of development with long waiting list.
Very much sought after by expat in rental cos its central locale, double gated security and many exits / entrances to your desired destinations.
Quietly perched atop of hills with lots of greenery and lots of amenities just outside it

Most of the freehold landed in Iskandar Puteria are snapped up very fast now by Malaysians, Singaporeans and Chinese. I could not get a Horizon Hill unit last year in October so I bought this one. Eco Botanic 3 is launching soon.

coyote

While it's understandable Singaporeans like landed properties because they stayed in HDB, I will still suggest to only choose smaller single storey interterrace because

1, easier to maintain than corner terrace with grass patches.
2, front porch should be full cement again for easy maintenance
3, install auto gate, so that you stayed in the car, open the gate with remote, drive your car in, close the gate, check no burglars are in the front porch, then you open your car doors. This is for safety reasons.
4, choose single storey terrace with 4 rooms if possible, edmwers all getting old, it's useless to have 10 bedrooms in second floor. It's better you can ulride your wheelchair or pma/pmd in your house. You won't need more than 3-4 rooms at first floor regardless as your family, even if have will unlikely to follow you retiring in Malaysia.
5, advantage of single storey = higher ceiling and more refreshing. Can hang some beautiful chandelier also.
6, lesser volume in single storey interterrace also means less expenses on electricity cooling down the whole house. Most Singaporeans stay in Malaysia for retirement. Bigger isn't always better. Saving electricity bill is.
6, interterrace is also easy to be secured as solid cement wall from both sides. Front and back door protected by metal gates. The only weakness is the attic, which can be further secured. Most burglars in Malaysia are small time thieves. If they find your house too small and need to climb from the roof to break-in, they will target bigger bungalows with more glass windows or side gates that can be easily compromise and bungalows also means "richer".

So, get yourself a single storey terrace house with high ceiling. Some can even build an additional room at the middle higher ceiling dinning area...

Firstclass1188

While it's understandable Singaporeans like landed properties because they stayed in HDB, I will still suggest to only choose interterrace because
3, install auto gate, so that you stayed in the car, open the gate with remote, drive your car in, close the gate, check no burglars are in the front porch, then you open your car doors. This is for safety reasons.
4, choose single storey terrace with 4 rooms if possible, edmwers all getting old, it's useless to have 10 bedrooms in second floor. It's better you can ulride your wheelchair or pma/pmd in your house. You won't need more than 3-4 rooms at first floor.
5, advantage of single storey = higher ceiling and more refreshing. Can hang some chandelier also.
6, lesser volume in single storey interterrace also means less expenses on electricity cooling down the whole house. Most Singaporeans stay in Malaysia for retirement. Bigger isn't always better. Saving electricity bill is.

I agree but I was always under the impression that foreigners cannot buy single storey houses.

So I have a double storey house and going to make the ground floor guest room the master bedroom and also install chair lift to avoid climbing.

artncraft

While it's understandable Singaporeans like landed properties because they stayed in HDB, I will still suggest to only choose interterrace because

4, choose single storey terrace with 4 rooms if possible, edmwers all getting old, it's useless to have 10 bedrooms in second floor. It's better you can ulride your wheelchair or pma/pmd in your house. You won't need more than 3-4 rooms at first floor.
5, advantage of single storey = higher ceiling and more refreshing. Can hang some chandelier also.

I agree with the above, unfortunately, foreigners cannot buy a single-storey landed property in Malaysia.

I recommend one with facilities like a swimming pool, a gym and a garden for a healthy lifestyle, if getting one for retirement or a holiday home.

niefeng80

Beware when your neighbour rents out his unit.

Had a friend who bought a condo in JB, fully furnished it but goes once in a month for 3-5 days. His neighbour puts up for rent, some tenant rented the unit and hacked a big hole on the adjacent wall and stole every thing.

Money no have

To each his own.

You really sure you own the land?
are you sure it’s not an illusion?

anytime the govt can just wave the pen and just confiscate.

Firstclass1188

I agree with the above, unfortunately, foreigners cannot buy a single-storey landed property in Malaysia.
I recommend one with facilities like a swimming pool, a gym and a garden for a healthy lifestyle, if getting one for retirement or a holiday home.

Thank you for confirming that foreigners cannot buy single storey properties.

coyote

I agree but I was always under the impression that foreigners cannot buy single storey houses.

So I have a double storey house and going to make the ground floor guest room the master bedroom and also install chair lift to avoid climbing.

I am not familiar with such rules of foreigners cannot buy single storey houses. Have to check. What I know is that, the rules differ from states to states. I learned from a friend from Melacca he said the laws in Melacca prohibits foreigners inheriting terrace houses from their Malaysian parents. Seemed like Perak allows foreigners to inherit leasehold terrace houses from their Malaysian parents. So, it really depends on which states one is residing...

Lift is another big elephant in the house. One landed owner in Singapore told me he paid $20,000 per year to get his lift maintained and certified to be safe... Malaysia probably has no such restrictions but the cost to maintain the lift should be exorbitant because double storey usually have two to three flights of stairs to second floor, how to make the lift turns, I have no idea. So single storey made the maintenance easy and simple. I have heard some storey that the tenant chosen to rent the single storey at same price as the bigger, more spacious double storey house because she is late 40 and scared of tripping and falling from climbing up second floor.

aqf

I bought Phase 2
;)
There will be another final release of about 30+ units for phase 2 around September this year.
IMG-20250514-144517.jpg

Hello. I'm in phase 1 doing reno now

Firstclass1188

I am not familiar with such rules of foreigners cannot buy single storey houses. Have to check. What I know is that, the rules differ from states to states. I learned from a friend from Melacca he said the laws in Melacca prohibits foreigners inheriting terrace houses from their Malaysian parents. Seemed like Perak allows foreigners to inherit leasehold terrace houses from their Malaysian parents. So, it really depends on which states one is residing...
Lift is another big elephant in the house. One landed owner in Singapore told me he paid $20,000 per year to get his lift maintained and certified to be safe... Malaysia probably has no such restrictions but the cost to maintain the lift should be exorbitant because double storey usually have two to three flights of stairs to second floor, how to make the lift turns, I have no idea. So single storey made the maintenance easy and simple. I have heard some storey that the tenant chosen to rent the single storey at same price as the bigger, more spacious double storey house because she is late 40 and scared of tripping and falling from climbing up second floor.

Yes lift maintenance is killer, I am proposing to install chair lift, meaning a railing with electric chair going up and down, was quoted RM59k, maintenance is way much less than an actual lift.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.