[GLGT]39 yo S’porean man chooses to live in Thailand & fly to S’pore for work because it’s cheaper

jimboyboy

"There may be proof or evidence in other threads in the same forum but I don't have the time to check everything then confirm with you."

Win laew, in the end your post is based on AI and you are just assuming without checking. Boy, I tell you. DTV is a mess. Every person might encounter different thing when applying the DTV and when re-entering Thailand. But please make sure your documents are in order and is factual. They didn't say ABC cannot, you don't submit ABC assuming it can work. Lots of updated info from the DTV holders and visa agents and the immigration officers. You don't want to talk to them but trust the AI? It's ok, no point showing you the ropes. Hope Thailand don't welcome such sinkies, see until no eyes to see.

I totally agree with you, that is why I mentioned need to do your own due diligence first.

henghengonedragon

Hello Bro,

I wonder why you said a big no? Seems you have confused yourself with the various types of visa available? If you think I am providing misinformation, kindly show proof. My post is about DTV only, not other visas.

The latest DTV is easy to obtain. The easiest category seems to be below where you can get DTV just by learning Muay Thai there!

Thai soft power related activities
For Thai soft power related activities
Eligible Activities
  • Muay Thai
  • Thai cuisine
  • Education and seminars
  • Sports
  • Medical treatment
  • Foreign talent
  • Events related to art and music
Details from this visa agent specialising in Thailand:
https://dtv.in.th/

You need to have 500,000 baht or about S$20,000 in your bank account plus fulfil some other pretty straightforward conditions.

The application cost is about S$500 for Singaporeans. One can go through the unofficial DTV test first to see if he or she qualifies, before going to embassy to apply officially and pay for it.
Dude, go read what I reply to you again. I reply to what is on that paragraph.

Plus you wrote the below later after. I am not wrong with what I said.
  • Show proof of work, such as an employment contract or a portfolio.

Last of all, no need to argue with AuraKUPO, he knows what he is talking about. Normally I will Suan Siao him a little but for this one I won't.

jimboyboy

It seems DTV scheme is achievable for people who can show proof of regular income. Latest case of a Singaporean who successfully applied under the Workcation category of DTV:

Applied for DTV from Singapore as a Singaporean Citizen through digital nomad scheme.
Applied on 23rd feb
Requested more info on 24th feb
Changed to pending approval on 25feb
Changed to interview request on 12th March 4pm
Interview at 1030am on 13th March*
Visa approved 9am 14th March
*I was asked for my exit stamp from Thailand to ensure that I was not applying for the VISA from Thailand. However, I could not provide this as I departed via self-service gantry where there is no officer to stamp your passport. Prepare to bring alternative evidence like your plane ticket and SG arrival card.
Also please check your email regularly as my interview was scheduled the very next day!

Link:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1828879247635023/

jimboyboy

Dude, go read what I reply to you again. I reply to what is on that paragraph.

Plus you wrote the below later after. I am not wrong with what I said.

Last of all, no need to argue with AuraKUPO, he knows what he is talking about. Normally I will Suan Siao him a little but for this one I won't.

Ok I got it. You have a problem with this statement:
====
Yes, it is possible stock or online trading is accepted as a freelance work when applying for Thai digital nomad visa or DTV. Some people from UK have done it successfully. Seems different embassies might have different approval criteria. Just apply and see how.
---
Please don't give misinformation of just apply and see. There is an application cost.
====

You're a very kind person, scared that people will lose SGD$500 application fee if they just take my advice to apply without doing due diligence.

During application stage, one will be asked to submit certain documents. The applicant would have a good idea of what to do next. Don't think a person will want to try try with $500 at that stage if they lack the required documents or are not confident enough to proceed.

No lah.... Argument leads to nowhere.

henghengonedragon

Ok I got it. You have a problem with this statement:
====
Yes, it is possible stock or online trading is accepted as a freelance work when applying for Thai digital nomad visa or DTV. Some people from UK have done it successfully. Seems different embassies might have different approval criteria. Just apply and see how.
---
Please don't give misinformation of just apply and see. There is an application cost.
====

You're a very kind person, scared that people will lose SGD$500 application fee if they just take my advice to apply without doing due diligence.

During application stage, one will be asked to submit certain documents. The applicant would have a good idea of what to do next. Don't think a person will want to try try with $500 at that stage if they lack the required documents or are not confident enough to proceed.

No lah.... Argument leads to nowhere.
The one you were speaking of is under DTV cat 1 of Workcation

Stock and trading online is not consider as a freelance work and hence there is no need to try.

One is suppose to submit all documents during the application stage including your $500 which is non-refundable.

If you want the easier way, then the bellw CAT 2 is more suitable for you but you pay more because of the courses and likely agent fees as well.

CAT :2 Thai soft power related activities
-Muay Thai courses
-Thai cooking courses
-Sports training
-Medical treatment
-Seminars
-Music festivals

Normally, most can only opt for the Muay Thai or cooking classes. Then you only need to have the $ money in bank and pay extra for the enrolled courses, minimum 6 months up[/]. For this, it is better you do with a good reputation and registered school who has experience to provide you the proper documents/enrollment letter for their courses.

You will have to pay them the school fees first to provide you the letter/documents needed. Find those that guaranteed you refund if your application failed. How much these are going to cost you? I don't know. Be prepare to pay 6 months up for the courses. Below 6months will be rejected by the embassy.

toolbox03

https://mustsharenews.com/singaporean-thailand-work-commute/

A 39-year-old Singaporean man has made the news for sustaining his life in Thailand by working a 3-hour-a-week job as an adjunct lecturer at the National University of Singapore (NUS).

However, his life was not always like this as Mr Chen, who grew up in Singapore, only moved to Chiang Mai in November 2024 after gruelling years in a corporate job.

Today, he lives in a luxury condominium in the Thai city and returns to Singapore weekly to teach a digital marketing class at the university, reports CNBC.

He brings in between S$2,000 and S$4,000 a month from that one class, which easily covers his flights, rent, and daily expenses in Thailand.

“I’m gaming the system,” said Mr Chen. “Three hours of working in Singapore can sustain my entire expenditure in Thailand.”

:s14:

standarture

Isn't he the ex-tech employee who got million dollars? Now realise not enough money for future so need to advertise himself ah?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
treading on a thin line to do something like this
well .. whatever rocks his boat then :o

artncraft

An adjunct's employment is not guaranteed.

He needs to have a good buffer in case NUS hires a full-time lecturer or another practitioner for his part.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.