Kaypo news regarding Orange & Teal

GreatPumpkin

His kind of food and pricing how to survive.
His reno do until so nice.

Let's say it cost 60k and 3 year lease.

That's an extra 20k of cost per year to claw back.

Never charge high price can't survive at all.

I feel CSJ is too much of an idealist. Ask him to manage anything sure die.

bluerhino

Rental is high because the landlords keep jacking up, SG's policies are pro-rich and actively welcomes UNHWs (low wealth taxes, etc.) to park their wealth here.

Otherwise, how come those Tiong chains keep opening up 1 after another?

So those tenants whom cannot afford the rent will have to lan lan make away for these rich billionaires seeking to park their wealth via real estates, etc.
If I have a condo I list price 20k rental and no one want to rent then my options are to either reduce price or leave it empty. If I reduce to 18k still no one rent then I have reduce further until a point someone will rent. If there is a row of shop houses, I list 20k, my neighbour list 15k then if someone want to rent they will rent 15k first. It 15k still too expensive then his shop will still be empty. I either leave my shop empty or I reduce to 13k to undercut my neighbour. Eventually everyone will need to reduce price to a point that someone will rent. This is basic economics 101, demand and supply curve. If you took o level economics you would have learned it at 14 years old. No such thing as rich landlord keep increasing rent when there is no demand.

EdenHazard

If I have a condo I list price 20k rental and no one want to rent then my options are to either reduce price or leave it empty. If I reduce to 18k still no one rent then I have reduce further until a point someone will rent. If there is a row of shop houses, I list 20k, my neighbour list 15k then if someone want to rent they will rent 15k first. It 15k still too expensive then his shop will still be empty. I either leave my shop empty or I reduce to 13k to undercut my neighbour. Eventually everyone will need to reduce price to a point that someone will rent. This is basic economics 101, demand and supply curve. If you took o level economics you would have learned it at 14 years old. No such thing as rich landlord keep increasing rent when there is no demand.
That's bbfa for you. Lack basic understanding of econs

krikering

Demands are from the tiong chains, etc. As mentioned, they want to come SG to park their wealth. Real estate is like the most popular way for them to do so.

They can tahan the high rents as they want to wash their money here, unlike a lot of the businesses, etc. out there. In case if anybody don't know, we are unofficially considered 1 of the top money-laundering hub in the world.

surfman

It is call sunk cost. Lease to shop first year maybe charge them 10k. Second year once they finish Reno establish customer base increase to 15k. Third year increase to 20k. They already pay so much for Reno cost cannot anyhow move. So landlord woon woon Jiak bee Hoon.

krikering

It is call sunk cost. Lease to shop first year maybe charge them 10k. Second year once they finish Reno establish customer base increase to 15k. Third year increase to 20k. They already pay so much for Reno cost cannot anyhow move. So landlord woon woon Jiak bee Hoon.
Sometimes the rental increase can be jialat until even after factoring sunk cost, some shops bobian have to leave.

Rental expenses are just really skyrocketing right now, if CSJ still die die want to absorb GST himself then the only way to do so is via e.g central kitchen and then supply to a lot of shops to cut cost via economies of scale like Saizeriya.

Then don't think he will ever be able to reach that point, it is unattainable for a lot of new businesses due to the barriers of entry.

Nowadays most of the businesses who are can use this method are already big enough to straight away enter the market and use this method to achieve economies of scale like Saizeriya.

Starting small and growing big slowly by slowly as a restaurant chain like what CSJ is aiming to is close to impossible in current context.

Thus alot of the stalls in shopping malls now is taken over by those tiong chain looking to park their wealth here. SG's policies are pro-rich one, we are a hub for UNHWs to stash their cash here.

terada86

dun say until restaurant closing

hawker stall closing one by one also

rental for hawker now easily 4k or 5k per month excluding all other ETC charges

restaurant easily 15k or 20k a month?

then food charge abit expensive only, everyone kpkb

dun say restaurant expensive

hawker $4 cai png also EDMW kpkb until earth shattering already

Foetid

finally the day has come.... since day one i already said is not sustainable.

poor location, average food ... F&B is highly competitive cannot just rely on CSJ name to market the restaurant...

with the one at marine square also uplorry mean CSJ can now eng eng cheng cheng liao
Marina sq already uplorry or still surviving?

luffix7

Well folks, I heard news that Orange & Teal - Rochester Mall 35 Rochester Dr, #02-12 Rochester Mall, Singapore 138639 may be closing down very soon!

Can grab your last cup of coffee or meals there. :o
nv even drink once b4, why bother

peterlim95

Well folks, I heard news that Orange & Teal - Rochester Mall 35 Rochester Dr, #02-12 Rochester Mall, Singapore 138639 may be closing down very soon!

Can grab your last cup of coffee or meals there. :o
His previous outlet at Marina Square already closed down 1-2 years back .

krikering

usually men of principles will fail in business if they dont have money in the first place
His insistence on self-abosrbing the GST and not trimming manpower, etc. perhaps may have to re-think ba.

Of course quality of food also must increase abit.

Then again I see Kenny Rogers always so many people eat, despite so lousy I cannot fathom why. Maybe they just go there for the brand only.

TUV2008

His insistence on self-abosrbing the GST and not trimming manpower, etc. perhaps may have to re-think ba.

Then again I see Kenny Rogers always so many people eat, despite so lousy I cannot fathom why. Maybe they just go there for the brand only.

My favorite now is Josh Grill ... Their food and service is excellent and consistent, price is also reasonable.

Except it does not serve alcohol. A bit of disappointment.

charleslee1989

TS achieved what he wanted and collected his 50 cts per post from his master.

forward this thread to CSJ and hope he take legal action against TS for spreading rumour.
Eh, I can vouch for TS...He really really dun like the sai that the MIW gets into....

TS is also very well connected also..I wouldn't discount his words....

Skoda29

KR the serving is big,value for money I guess.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.