Do you find work tough? Or people who don't do well should only blame themselves?

zueinder

was just peacefully doing my work then kenna one good good bo liao colleague who thinks her job is to kbkp instead of actually doing her job. Totally reminds me of this thread. Sometimes is really luck. I don't know what I do deserve such people always come find me.

The colleague ownself in charge of the site, want budget lah, want staff, this and that, all is up to her as the manager liao. But when got abit of things that require her to decide, then instantly make a huge fuss, keep push to other people and just refuse to make a decision herself.

Really is perfect example of if, " If you no paiseh, paiseh is other people."

ZETMAN

well.....all in all, some times things boil down to luck and personality.

Recently I had a casual gossip session with a colleague about another incompetent co-worker that the HOD loves to bits and the colleague mentioned that the incompetent co worker is lucky in life to have come into the favor of the HOD as her 贵人

i had an epiphany at that moment and replied to the colleague, u must be willing to 跪人, have zero integrity and dignity to curry favor and be a pure yes slave to the higher ups to earn the favor of your 贵人

Hyruga

We are in the thick of Voucher Culture.
Ish a society where in the name of unity those who can are made to carry those who can't.

At the workplace those who can't are installed in jods with authority over those who can.
Sho those who can are forced to carry those who can't.
The voucher not even a lot.

I would say we are in a vulture era.

People willing to eat you and take your place when you quit.

popdod

Everyone has work problems :s13:

so the only motivation ish to earn more money $$$ and get out the Office conflicts.

:s12:

AcquiT

My life has 贵人命
90percent of bosses quite good

But i would believe more is once u gain the trust of them, everything will be easy
Take off take leave take wfh all easy
Even tired say wfh also nvm lol

Most important is your PR with the office is good,once this is set, do everything is easier

No need 3leg kind,i feel tcss sometimes good enuff liao lol

1982-1994

1. Is it luck? Some people just tend to have good career luck to do well. So right time right place right people etc.
Promoted twice these 15 years, first time was based on perfect attendance, 2nd time because the appraisal was put water one
2. Is it capabilities? Some people are just talented and have chance to shine and really deliver what they promised.
In my batch of 10 people (though half of it quit), I'm the only one who promoted twice, maybe it was not surprising as I am known to compute calculation fast (though sadly promotion is not based on that)
3. Is it just the whole job market/economy not doing well? So everyone are jaded and tired of just being a worker to enrich bosses.
Only keep hearing retrenchment on edmw, not say I am doing well but at least I still can save up few hundreds monthly
4. Just behkan, stop complaining and admit you are nobody.

How do y'all navigate work and do y'all find work tough?
So far my job is relaxing, some co-workers like to work with me, because I don't screw them upon mistakes and I also don't really chup siao if they never do their work properly, I may not have the make of a good leader but I care for how others feel (my co-workers) ,I only talk back to my superiors if their attitude/tone is bad ,I am so called顶上护下
Tough part comes from the management who only care for customers and not own people,must do this and that

I never enjoy working no matter which job, from the bottom of my heart I hate the idea we need to be at work just to exchange money and be nothing but a 牛马
Where got free money one? Unless you can find a rich husband but even if so, rich families have their policies at home one
But for survival, just have to deal with it yet is been 10 years I'm nowhere near promising and I feel ashamed of myself.
You are giving yourself with high expectations
Though I had promoted twice these 15 years, my pay increased 187% nia and the salary gap between an entry level position (same join date) and mine is at most a $400 only (that's $5k a year plus 5 days of annual leave)

Edited; between $400-$600 gap
Also, honestly seems like doing well and promoting is really not as easy? Most people around me are also just doing average. (Maybe caz you are who you mix with, so I no chance mingle with people who are doing extremely well since I belong to behkan)

What y'all think? :frown:
I am a lone wolf at work, I only approach people at the break room whom I can talk cock with, otherwise I drown myself with music 99% of the time
I don't think myself as behkan because I am good with simple additional/multiply calculation while others need calculator ,I don't struggle at work even if I am being overwhelmed by patrons ,I like to think myself as an underrated worker

But I also don't mean they are behkan to use calculator, I am sure they have other strengths which I am lacking of too (I have my behkan side too LOL)

Though most people like to link the degree of behkan-ness with the amount of salary one earns, I don't
To me, must strike a balance between EQ and IQ
反而我觉得people who mix with those higher positions ones like to PLP (worse if they欺善怕恶to their co-workers,low EQ people)
I don't even give a hoot to management people whenever we walk pass each other, let alone my superiors ,我行我素我eh kan!

nujiln

A bit the 废话 leh ....
Not really leh I’ve already had 2 tai tai bosses that don’t need to work. One only worked 4 days so the last day can be spent volunteering at a charity. So at least there are some people out there who find fulfilment through work

Raitei-Q

"If you bad at your job, learn to be better at it, if you don't improve, you will never go anywhere"😌
Word from my mentor...

which both of them love to say in short " if you cannot make it, make sure you do whatever to make it, improve or get terminated"🤣

ramlee

So far only tank resign ppl.. reason always ish found a higher paying jod

Moi underling always must pass moi extremely hard interbiew
Boss, i no jod can appry? But can ask me easier kwestions? :(

IAmChiobu12M

Good luck and opportunities comes with good networking.

One just need break out of his typical failure thinking habits and good things will come.

It's just like how the poor always gets stuck being poor til one can change mindset and breakout rather than blame on family / luck.
Break out many times but fail how?

IAmChiobu12M

Promoted twice these 15 years, first time was based on perfect attendance, 2nd time because the appraisal was put water one

In my batch of 10 people (though half of it quit), I'm the only one who promoted twice, maybe it was not surprising as I am known to compute calculation fast (though sadly promotion is not based on that)

Only keep hearing retrenchment on edmw, not say I am doing well but at least I still can save up few hundreds monthly

So far my job is relaxing, some co-workers like to work with me, because I don't screw them upon mistakes and I also don't really chup siao if they never do their work properly, I may not have the make of a good leader but I care for how others feel (my co-workers) ,I only talk back to my superiors if their attitude/tone is bad ,I am so called顶上护下
Tough part comes from the management who only care for customers and not own people,must do this and that

Where got free money one? Unless you can find a rich husband but even if so, rich families have their policies at home one

You are giving yourself with high expectations
Though I had promoted twice these 15 years, my pay increased 187% nia and the salary gap between an entry level position (same join date) and mine is at most a $400 only (that's $5k a year plus 5 days of annual leave)

Edited; between $400-$600 gap

I am a lone wolf at work, I only approach people at the break room whom I can talk cock with, otherwise I drown myself with music 99% of the time
I don't think myself as behkan because I am good with simple additional/multiply calculation while others need calculator ,I don't struggle at work even if I am being overwhelmed by patrons ,I like to think myself as an underrated worker

But I also don't mean they are behkan to use calculator, I am sure they have other strengths which I am lacking of too (I have my behkan side too LOL)

Though most people like to link the degree of behkan-ness with the amount of salary one earns, I don't
To me, must strike a balance between EQ and IQ
反而我觉得people who mix with those higher positions ones like to PLP (worse if they欺善怕恶to their co-workers,low EQ people)
I don't even give a hoot to management people whenever we walk pass each other, let alone my superiors ,我行我素我eh kan!
That good, I'm actually very impressed how contented you are. Maybe your positivity is why you keep having more good luck.

Anyway yes I'm the kind that rate my worth based on my salary and net worth. So based on this benchmark alone I'm terrible.

ZETMAN

That good, I'm actually very impressed how contented you are. Maybe your positivity is why you keep having more good luck.

Anyway yes I'm the kind that rate my worth based on my salary and net worth. So based on this benchmark alone I'm terrible.
then u shld work in HR.

This will help u break out ur mentality as u see how some rubbish are drawing high salary and this will break the link between salary and self worth :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.