Aftershock shortchanged me?

86technie

Yeah but they should have indicated this to customer before making the purchase. If i had know that they're using this brand, i should have upgraded to another brand instead.

I never buy a AS before but given the number of their PC in my workshop.
To my knowledge what part they use in their build are not really known to users.
Unless you customize the individual part but than they can last minute swap/change
which I also heard before.

Like most here mentioned if want quality build go Sim Lim, Aftershock is like that.
Source cheap than sell high but than how many times you have to repair is another question.
Some user like you is PSU blow, while some are faulty/brick motherboard as they use
their own custom BIOS.

If you start the PC and see a Aftershock logo the motherboard is using their BIOS.
The mobo BIOS tend to have issues down the road thus I do have cases of
their mobo bricking and no way to save it except RMA.

If you wonder what is mobo bricking, it is a issue when you start the PC.
No display even though the PC is running, you swap RAM, GPU but
it refuse to start.

I think I did post a thread about Aftershock rubbish quality in HWC. :s13:

GotBetrayed

Cheaper maybe by spec if you pick good parts but they cut so many corners until you get situation like TS. Part for part they are still more ex than DIY if you cut the same corner they do
Hard la so far all the price comparisons between sim lim vs aftershock/invader on hardware clinic section always show Sim Lim cannot beat these companies.

lalalalalala

Go and read the tnc before you sue or whatever. Pretty sure they would have cover backside say can replace with part of similar amount if no stock.

Either way always better to diy

lalalalalala

Aftershock is way cheaper than DIY and prebuild these days. Just check hardware clinic. Just need to choose the correct components like motherboard etc
From memory the savings are usually in the motherboard, psu and ram and possibly ssd.

Gpu and processor only got that 2 brands that they bobian have to buy

justln

To my knowledge what part they use in their build are not really known to users.
Unless you customize the individual part but than they can last minute swap/change

Like most here mentioned if want quality build go Sim Lim, Aftershock is like that.
Source cheap than sell high but than how many times you have to repair is another question.
Some user like you is PSU blow, while some are faulty/brick motherboard as they use
their own custom BIOS.

If you start the PC and see a Aftershock logo the motherboard is using their BIOS.

it refuse to start.

Aftershock got good and bad parts la. Most users just see price cheap then buy, never change out the lousy random branded RAMs or PSU to other options.

HushiePuppies

So i bought a full pc system from aftershock since on feb and last night psu kabut with 2 loud pop sound.

And today after talking to the CS through via WhatsApp. I decided to replace another brand of PSU from them.. But im curious why the current brand deepcool is so bad so i decide to peek on it.

Turns out the PSU is not deepcool but rather it is gamerstorm, a subsidiary from deepcool brand and somehow i feel short changed.

The invoice stated it is Deepcool 850w ATX 3.0 cyber platinum but it turns out to be gamerstorm..

Should i ask them for clarification??

take photo and ask them through their customer support. might be honest mistake. ask them to change to as per specs.

rEe_TaN

Go and read the tnc before you sue or whatever. Pretty sure they would have cover backside say can replace with part of similar amount if no stock.

Either way always better to diy

I just want to replaced asap before 5th lol.. but yeah getting another brand of psu instead..

HushiePuppies

simlim one is pick the parts they build, think they charge the labour cost. Labour cost absorbed if you brought all from same shop. They always have prebuild one for customer to choose

Saw china one sibei fierce anyhow chop carrot
6.92 gOk:/ K@J.VY 09/11 假装成不懂电脑的小白,预算5000勇闯线下电脑城装机, 会被坑的多惨?不仅遇到了8年前的古董显卡,还被四五个壮汉直接拖进店里......# 实拍暗访 # 电脑城 # 电脑整机 # 装机 # 科技数码 https://v.douyin.com/veiIzLyizkU/ 复制此链接,打开Dou音搜索,直接观看视频!

Just stick to the usual shops like fuwell, pcthemes, laser and it should be fine... If one knows nut about computers, then too bad. I hope those shops are still around, didn't go there for ages...

anyone remember last time sls got this nice uncle at level4/5. He a bit chubby chubby kind and look like malay but can speak chinese huan. wear specs. last time i always find him to help me build custom pc because he very friendly and won't tok carrot.

now should be at least in his late 40s/ early 50s liao

but AS got the warranty anything they help u settle isnt it much easier?

thinking of getting a new system, dunno if to get from SLS like i usually do or try AS?
buy from sls also got warranty for the individual parts mah. tiagong sending back to AS for repair is a nightmare.

celsus

Hard la so far all the price comparisons between sim lim vs aftershock/invader on hardware clinic section always show Sim Lim cannot beat these companies.
I dont use SLS. For me I source from online and use sales to spread vouchers on per part basis

XCalintz

I was researching on prebuilt PCs and ultimately decided on Mansa, they deliver all the boxes of PSU/GPU/Motherboard with your PC.
Bought Super Flower PSU 1000 even tho it's overkill.

PSU really no joke, a good one should last until you change PC, not pop pop randomly.

I went with mansa few years ago, the built still lasting well.

Good service, on time delivery, no shady swap parts like aftershock.

klim668

After shock so jialat ah 😟...I was thinking of getting a new gaming PC for myself, anyone can recommend me a realiable shop that do custom PC? Don't ask me to buy parts and DIY, I too lazy to do that now.

XCalintz

Im asking them to change to another good brand .. they claimed the model i had is oem manufactured by gamerstorm and it is make by deepcool ..

Lol. Its as good as telling you to pay for the brand but give u OEM parts. What kind of excuses!?!

standarture

Nowdays people so lazy to go SLS to build ah? So easy. Just select your parts, do a bit of research on compatibility... choose motherboard also see how many USB ports u need.

justln

After shock so jialat ah 😟...I was thinking of getting a new gaming PC for myself, anyone can recommend me a realiable shop that do custom PC? Don't ask me to buy parts and DIY, I too lazy to do that now.
Mansa lo, nowadays GPU so ex, ownself buy and assemble might be more ex than prebuilts.

lalalalalala

I just want to replaced asap before 5th lol.. but yeah getting another brand of psu instead..
What i mean is don't bother sueing them, they likely have a legal team or advisor that already cover these stuff.

Easiest for you is to ask them if can topup to a different psu

kreja

their own custom BIOS.

it refuse to start.

Curious about their custom bios
Can I flash it back to original oem bios?

Racking2322

I normally use seasonic psu, reputable and reliable. Deepcool not too sure but i think it's more known for cpu coolers

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.