Johor is going to be the place to live, eat, play

Joe Mahmood

Why not Batam?
How is your life in Batam now bro? I remembered your posting that you have a business in Batam. I remembered you said something like Maid Training and Employment Agency if I'm not wrong.

askxyz

last time.. PAP master plan also making johor a retirement place for sinkies leh

askxyz

This is my country, this is my flag
This is my future, this is my life
This is my family, these are my friends
We are Singapore, Singaporeans
Singapore our homeland, it's here that we belong
that's for the pioneer batch

Joe Mahmood

Yes, old/matured housing estate. However, many of the houses here too they did renovation and make it look with modern design. Many are old ownership and some are new ownership. This area 2.5 storey terrace houses freehold build on international lot.

Wanderer123

GG singapore retail once the rail system starts.
Can see the variety of recreational activities are so much more...
from sports to those restuarants with singers ... etc etc. till the wee hours of the night

and singapore govt really got problem.
1) keep designing outdoors sports facilities that are unsheltered ...
when it's all day summer .. and make it unplayable during hot afternoons.

2) MRT operating hours only till 12midnight? SHould extend to 1am ...this will encourage more nightlife activities that are non-clubbing.

Maybe just westies? Abit far for those in the east...

artncraft

sinkie only can buy 1 millon RM condo?
can buy 1m bo?
i see 1 condo i like leh the price also very good

For condominiums above RM$500k or RM$600k, buying directly from a developer is okay if the developer has approval from the government. If it is a sub-sale or resale, it must be above RM$1mil.

For landed properties, all must be above RM$1mil. Note that usually the developer gives a discount of 10% from the Sales and Purchase Agreement (SPA) price, so you can also effectively buy a RM$900k landed property directly from a developer.

Also, sometimes state consent is not given for new sub-sale units within 2 years of the CCC (Certificate of Completion and Compliance).

rei_the_rebel_cat

sounds nice as long as pickleball is not in my backyard. hehe..
the noise pollution ... lol

Ya, probably will go offer with family to try pickleball ...
looking to pick it up .. for some exercise.
oh you absolutely should ... pickle champs has a badminton arena there too.

the number of people hitting is insane.

honestly shopping, eating and massage is like borderline mind-numbing and too sedentary for me.

the rates are so good in JB we hit four hours non-stop!!!

Coffeelix

its not illegal la
even illiterate foreigner wives who married msia chinese men do get pr
personally know a few of them
these ladies bear a few children in msia, did not go back frequently to their home country
did not run foul on local laws

whats different compared to 20 years ago, is the difficulty to obtain pr, its seems harder now

ltvp is troublesome but once every 2 years is ok, residency status is granted unless do something stupid

obtaining msia pr is prerequisite to converting to msia citizen, so perhaps this is the crucial criteria for msia officials to evaluate the applicant

if officials dont see applicants as potential msia citizen maybe the pr quota will be given to someone else

msia ltvp can work officially, just need employer biz details & documents, job offer letter, apply and will be approved, the working permit is a stamp on the passport

the msian husband can be the employer
there also another business permit ltvp can apply to setup a biz, the nature is abit different, think its rm500/year, quite a few options there

ps for sinkies wishing to stay long term with official residency status in msia, either go thru the official channels and pay for it or use msia spouse route, the rest will just be regarded as tourist or social visit. if sinkie children marry msia spouse, can also apply for fil mil to stay in msia.

if elderly sinkie with medical issues, best to stay put in sg, with so many elderly friendly facilities and treatment. such environment is rare in msia unless enrol in private old folks home.
Met an ex Vietnamese who runs a car body repair shop in jb owning a few shops said he is now MY paying for it.
Must have lobang to b MY illegally…
I wouldn’t even wanna to entertain the thot of taking MY citizenship thru illegal means.

Coffeelix

its not illegal la
even illiterate foreigner wives who married msia chinese men do get pr
personally know a few of them
these ladies bear a few children in msia, did not go back frequently to their home country
did not run foul on local laws

whats different compared to 20 years ago, is the difficulty to obtain pr, its seems harder now

ltvp is troublesome but once every 2 years is ok, residency status is granted unless do something stupid

obtaining msia pr is prerequisite to converting to msia citizen, so perhaps this is the crucial criteria for msia officials to evaluate the applicant

if officials dont see applicants as potential msia citizen maybe the pr quota will be given to someone else

msia ltvp can work officially, just need employer biz details & documents, job offer letter, apply and will be approved, the working permit is a stamp on the passport

the msian husband can be the employer
there also another business permit ltvp can apply to setup a biz, the nature is abit different, think its rm500/year, quite a few options there

ps for sinkies wishing to stay long term with official residency status in msia, either go thru the official channels and pay for it or use msia spouse route, the rest will just be regarded as tourist or social visit. if sinkie children marry msia spouse, can also apply for fil mil to stay in msia.

if elderly sinkie with medical issues, best to stay put in sg, with so many elderly friendly facilities and treatment. such environment is rare in msia unless enrol in private old folks home.
Last time edmer Moonraiser also said his My wife has relative who has connections and is able to get My citizenship for $

Dudick

MY is big on protecting their rice bowls.
Foxconn factory making HP printers at Kulai only has 2 foreigners working there.
The rest are locals…
Very hard to get working visas in MY legally…
I have been here eating more salt than u eat rice boy…

My friend is “seconded” without a choice to work at Batam plant cos his plant at sg Benoi lease is expiring and the “landlord” isn’t renewing …

Many factories are relocating by “circumstances”

Ok, u say SG are doom, u say MY protect their people rice bowl

Then why are so many jhk jam the causeway everyday to SG to work by choice? Cannot find work in JB where u said their ricebowl are protected? Why come to a doom place to work?

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asi...-nee-shops-property-rentals-inflation-5118856

So those shops in the article are closed by “choice” in JB?

Yowe55 mini

Tje

Visa run?

How you intend to execute that?
Stay in Malaysia 15 days, come back stay at your HDB 14 days?

You going to enjoy doing that? :s13:

In the meantime, she added that the couple will continue commuting from Singapore to Johor Bahru via social visit pass to visit their home.​
However, Alter Domus’ Mr Ch’ng warned that foreigners who stay in Malaysian property for long stretches without a long-term visa risk running afoul of Malaysian immigration laws and could get their identities blacklisted and barred from entry.​
He explained that under Malaysia immigration laws, foreigners with no long-term visas are not permitted to stay in Malaysia for longer stretches than the duration they stay outside of Malaysia.​
“For example if (a person on social visit pass) stays (for) 28 days in Malaysia, you have to stay outside the country for 29 or 30 days before you can come back in. If not, your travel pattern might raise alarm bells and you might be barred from entry,” said Mr Ch’ng.​
Dear testerjp,

I have no choice since I want a cheaper retirement ground.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead...let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

Dudick

There are good locally make cars and there also branded car like Porsche are a joint venture in Malaysia

Bro, u are not answering my question on why people rather spend much more on branded cars like porsche than good locally made car like proton in MY?

Yowe55 mini

Dear all,

Anyone organising group buy for JB condos and landed?

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead...let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.