Touring Shanghai, please recommend?

HushiePuppies

go raffles city Shanghai and support Singapore's capitaland la.

enjoy the fruits of Sino-SG relationship...

ckling

just came back from shanghai, suzhou and hangzhou trip yesterday ;)
can ask if u need any info

Mark8888

A lot of Shanghainese pple dem one kind.

They think they are one class above most of the rest of pple in China and look down on them.

Hao Lian
They may not be the original Shanghainese. Many middle class folks bought apartments and moved into the city. They are called New Shanghainese. Most of them are educated and may not even speak Shanghainese at all. The old Shanghainese tend to view themselves highly but in recent years, most moved out of the city.

3 types of Shanghainese:
1. Original Shanghainese who settled there decades/centuries ago. Most came from Suzhou area.
2. Old Shanghainese who came to Shanghai much later from Zhejiang and NingBo decades ago.
3. New Shanghainese who came from all over China with recent years relaxed immigration policy. Most came to invest in property and to secure schools for their children.

hawkwind

Can do a daytrip to ZhuJiaJiao water town. Can take metro directly there and spend a few hours wandering around.

Mark8888

anyone dated Shanghai xmm?
My ex gf. Typical Shanghainese - street smart, manipulative, demanding and domineering. Always thinks her advice is the best and you have to listen to her. Manages finance extremely well and knows where to seek out the most best deals. Somewhat like HK xmm minus the soft touch. With them you don't have to worry about your well being. Everything is taken care of because you are her possession. You just obey and follow (and pay up) like a sissy.

In some way, still traditional minded but willing to try new things. Best sxx partner if you can handle it without pretending to sleep or show MC from doctor. Can be dramatic when trying to break off (advice from few AngMor expats: never allow her to move into your residence). 放虎归山。

Dracky

The Shanghai Museum near People's Park is a must see.

There are some historical buildings at the north end of the Bund. Pujiang Hotel was where Shanghai Stock Exchange operated in the early 1990s. Charlie Chaplin and Einstein once stayed in the old hotel.

There is a site of the old Pathe record company along Hengshan Rd, the top two floors is a museum to the early days (1920a) of Chinese popular music.

Mebeater

My favorite hotel in Shanghai is EDITION. I stay there everytime without fail

Suporter

Tiagong from airport take maglev only 8 minutes reach the station. But transfer still have to walk out to another metro station.

hawkwind

The meglev is overrated la. I only took that because it is net net faster a bit including me taking time to change to the station.

Go visit the marriage market in the park on weekend. There is a foreigner section where I even got asked to match with someone working here in singapore.
The maglev speed is about 300kmhr when I took it. Probably not cost efficient to go any faster due to the short distance. Current hi-speed trains all over China also run at that speed. But the Shanghai maglev is the only one where the track tilts at an angle during curved section of track, at least that's what I felt. Plus it's smoother than the bullet train.

NoSouL

I went to 豫园老街 during CNY, very crowded and the ambience is good.

tried 2 buffets in Shanghai, good price, quality and variety.

全球岛 - 普陀区铜川路699弄1号,真如环宇城Max5楼。

东盛 - 浦东新区 金科路 2901 2901号长泰广场A10座2层 邮政编码: 201203

ckling

I went to 豫园老街 during CNY, very crowded and the ambience is good.

tried 2 buffets there, good price, quality and variety.

全球岛 - 普陀区铜川路699弄1号,真如环宇城Max5楼。

东盛 - 浦东新区 金科路 2901 2901号长泰广场A10座2层 邮政编码: 201203
haha, at 豫园老街 I 踩雷, had worst food experience there, expensive yet not nice, not the buffet though... ordered one 上海炒面, salty until cannot eat at all... for RMB28

NoSouL

haha, at 豫园老街 I 踩雷, had worst food experience there, expensive yet not nice, not the buffet though... ordered one 上海炒面, salty until cannot eat at all... for RMB28
the buffet is other places in Shanghai, not in yuyuan.

i had some food at the food court in yuyuan old street, but nothing fantastic. I don't think yuyuan old street is a place for food.

ckling

the buffet is other places in Shanghai, not in yuyuan.

i had some food at the food court in yuyuan old street, but nothing fantastic. I don't think yuyuan old street is a place for food.
Ya, the food court pls avoid, also tried one restaurant 百年老店,really is so so only, really chop carrot

carey

Granted I was there for a week and with a young whimpering kid in tow, I didn't like shanghai one bit.

Food is meh compared to Beijing.
The bund is just a very long concrete walkway. Even at night it was meh. My kid called 东方明珠 'ball...big ball ' which was a very apt description.

A lot of shopping malls. Tooo many. You see one, U see all.

豫园 ..haha. forget it. U go by the front door they will up sell U some performance package and help U book some dining inside. its boring. Don't bother. When i was there , the local peasant was literally washing clothes on the commemorative tablet of the person who built 豫园. See liao also sian.

There is an area near 武康大厦. That one is not bad. Very old shanghai and full of large houses built prior to world war 2. Worth to spend time there. Area quite bohemian.

Other than that..the high light of my trip was actually my 5 star hotel at 200 bucks sgd a night with a very good international buffet. Lol.

I wouldn't go back.
Same here - nothing much to do in Shanghai except for Disneyland

Food are way over hyped and expensive to boot - many of the same food can be found in other cities for much lower prices

We also went to the much-hyped warehouse cafe - food was so-so niah - go for experience so once is enough

Nothing much to buy back - maybe the butterfly cookie

We were also in Beijing and found it to be better and more interesting

carey

Japan Shinkansian is expensive. One trip is equivalent to almost an air ticket.

The Shanghai maglev cost RMB100 if I recalled for tourist, but that was too long ago. I have not got chance to try the other HSR in China...but those are not maglev.
Actually if he's in Hongqiao area, then he can take the Maglev to Pudong Airport when he is flying back to SG bah

We took the HSR from Beijing to Shanghai - after the initial "thrill" of seeing the speed hit 349km/h, it was just another train ride

We slept most of the way on our 4.5 hour ride

carey

looks like a boring city. go guangzhou or beijing better
We were in Beijing for 7 days before we headed to Shanghai - heng only there for 4 days - boring like hell

Beijing was much more fun and had better and cheaper eats

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.