Don't waste your youth.... Trust me... Everyone got it once...I am still single. I approach no one. No one approach me.
Don't waste your youth.... Trust me... Everyone got it once...
Hmm.. Try to pick up some jokes in YouTube.. Then groom yourself a bit. Should be ok.Hmm...
People say I look fierce, unfriendly, my eyes give out some vibe etc.
Yes quite true... Most never get to marry their first choice...Goes both ways. Many women also settle for the man they end up with. That’s why never satisfied with their husband. Husband always not good enough. Lol
Auntie looking doesn't mean ugly right? It's her dressing?For me is no. First time met her find her very auntie looking. Chop chop eat finish dump her and go home myself. But as times goes by find her more and more attractive. What about you guys?![]()
Is she from a financially comfortable family?Yes, very attracted. I first saw her in a lecture theatre. My buddy noticed her first. She was always searching for a seat at the front row. My buddy called her "the look". Because she was very pretty and stood out.
I started looking out for "the look" every day. She was very pretty indeed. Slim. Big eyes, piercing when look at you. Face like model. Sharp, elegant and classy. Not the cherubic cute face kind. She always had make-up on. Very womanly behaviour, unlike the other female students.
When I went for computer lessons, to my pleasant surprise, "the look" sat besides me. I struck lottery! It turned out her surname was very close to mine. Hence she was sat next to me.
I perspired like mad during computer lessons. Bec she was so damn hot. Kept wiping my sweat with my handkerchief. So embarrassed. She remembered me as the funny guy that kept wiping his sweat.
Soon i got to know "the look". Her bimbo persona drew me in. Always blur. Very womanly. Chatty. Unopinionated. The kind I like. I met her along the corridors often. She always had something to talk to me each time, e.g. told me she did not understand the lecture, asked me if I did. She was more keen to talk to me, than I was to her.
When we had time, we would talk longer. I called her at her hostel, we would talk for 2-3hrs each time. Till today, after marrying her for 25 years, we still have endless things to talk to each other.
I am still single. I approach no one. No one approach me.
Hmm...
People say I look fierce, unfriendly, my eyes give out some vibe etc etc.
Is she from a financially comfortable family?
Hmm...
People say I look fierce, unfriendly, my eyes give out some vibe etc etc.
in the older days, provision shops, made good money.Lol. Why the strange question?
Her parents ran a neighbourhood provision shop. Hard work. Not exactly financially comfortable. Not poor either.
Warning: long tale ahead...
Our story began back in poly, and it was anything but love at first sight.
She once told me she found me cold and unapproachable - something about my small eyes and rarely smiling face. A bit stuck up. As for me, I thought she gave off major 御姐 vibe - strong, confident, and honestly... not my type then. I’ve always found 大姐 types kind of intimidating, even though she’s actually two years younger than me. She is pretty though.
Let’s call her C.
At the time, my friend BS had a crush on C’s classmate E, who was also in the school choir with C. One day after school in late 1997, during the Christmas carolling season, he dragged me down to Orchard Somerset to watch them perform.
That was when the four of us - BS, E, C, and I - were introduced to one another for the first time.
BS later reminded me that C had been the faculty singing competition champion earlier that year. That struck a chord: Ohhh, that’s the girl who sang “Colors of the Wind” and absolutely crushed the rest of the competition! I was impressed.
From there, the four of us started hanging out as a study group.
Well, eventually… E took a liking to me instead of BS, and we dated briefly - just over a month. Turns out we had far less in common than we initially thought, and we parted ways amicably. We still hung out together as a group afterward, but understandably, BS was a little bitter that his “dream girl” dated me instead. That did put a bit of a strain on our friendship. (In retrospect, I don't regret it - He's a manipulative gaslighter.)
Meanwhile, C was going through a messy breakup with a toxic ex who kept trying to win her back. Around that time, we started chatting more - face-to-face during the day, and over IRC/ICQ late into the night. We discovered a ton of shared interests: anime, gaming, Mando and Cantopop… The connection grew naturally.
Still, we were “just friends,” but definitely closer.
Then came Valentine’s Day, 1998. We were planning to hang out in a big group - at least 12 or 15 - including three of C’s suitors. One was her classmate (who’s still a close friend of hers today), another was a policeman, and I honestly can’t remember the third. She wasn’t into any of them, I later found out.
The plan was to meet at Takashimaya for dinner, chill at Taka Square, and hit the club afterwards. BS had also planned to confess to E that day, and C wasn’t particularly in the mood to deal with her own lineup of admirers. So at some point in the evening, C and I quietly slipped away from the group and wandered around Cold Storage, talking about our past relationships, consoling each other about the recent breakups, and how nervous she is about her upcoming audition with a talent agency in Taiwan.
Something felt… different there and then. Couldn't quite put my finger on it.
I don’t remember whether we ended up at St James or Canto with the gang, but I do remember downing a few vodka mixers and dancing the whole night away - with her. Afterward, we stopped by a 7-Eleven for some bottled water before hopping into a cab - C and me in the back, with the policeman suitor up front.
I was the first to get off. As I was about to leave, I surprised myself - I pulled her gently toward me, kissed her on the cheek, and whispered, “Happy Valentine’s Day.”
We didn’t speak for a week after that.
Then, one day, the familiar "Uh Oh!" pinged from ICQ...
“D, I think we need to talk.”
And talk we did. 24 February 1998 became our new beginning.
Almost 3 decades later, it still amazes me how everything unfolded - not through grand gestures or sweeping romance, but through quiet moments, shared interests, and honest conversations.
We weren’t each other’s type at first. We had our own entanglements, our own uncertainties. But somewhere between late-night chats on ICQ and that Valentine’s night fiasco, something shifted. It wasn’t planned. It wasn’t dramatic. It just… felt right.
Since then, life has moved on - we’ve grown up, weathered storms, celebrated wins, and built something steady and real. We still laugh about that awkward peck on the cheek and the week of radio silence that followed. But that moment marked the start of something lasting.
Funny how the heart sometimes takes the scenic route.
Happy (many) Valentine’s Days later, Lao Por.
the second one actually get married quite often as long as they are not siaokia who demand 6ft 6in 6figures. their strategy is like running out the clock in soccer or boxing, they score abit with their homely behavior at the start then slowly wear you down as you exhaust your other optionsSolid 10/10 Dua chio bu = see liao love at first sight
5/10 Bui aunty = see 1st time turn off. After 10th time see, no better candidates liao... No choice but take la. Else suffer lonely fate as other edmw BBFAs
ktv and chicken house always experience a lull period during jun and dec, because their clientele mostly married men who need to bring wife and kids out during sch hols. so you can aga understand how many men settled for stability and basic companionship. by that same logic, actually the 5/10 and below who are not delusional (dating app 1 almost all delusional if not irl ppl take le) actually get married faster and more frequently vs the better looking ones who are trying to time the market and aim very high or spoilt for choice until too lateLet's do some simple statistics here.
Most Sinkie women are 5/10, buay chio, and will age badly come their 30s onwards.
Most guys find only 7/10 and above chio, and maybe consider 6/10 girl next door standard. Below that means unattractive liao.
Using simple logic, we can safely assume that the majority of women who are married have husbands who never found them attractive, but merely settled.
Many guys will console themselves by talking about their wives having good personalities, but during their private time they will surf IG and beo chiobu and dua nehneh beedeos, revealing their true preferences.
Welcome back Bro. Nice seeing you againYes, very attracted. I first saw her in a lecture theatre. My buddy noticed her first. She was always searching for a seat at the front row. My buddy called her "the look". Because she was very pretty and stood out.
I started looking out for "the look" every day. She was very pretty indeed. Slim. Big eyes, piercing when look at you. Face like model. Sharp, elegant and classy. Not the cherubic cute face kind. She always had make-up on. Very womanly behaviour, unlike the other female students.
When I went for computer lessons, to my pleasant surprise, "the look" sat besides me. I struck lottery! It turned out her surname was very close to mine. Hence she was sat next to me.
I perspired like mad during computer lessons. Bec she was so damn hot. Kept wiping my sweat with my handkerchief. So embarrassed. She remembered me as the funny guy that kept wiping his sweat.
Soon i got to know "the look". Her bimbo persona drew me in. Always blur. Very womanly. Chatty. Unopinionated. The kind I like. I met her along the corridors often. She always had something to talk to me each time, e.g. told me she did not understand the lecture, asked me if I did. She was more keen to talk to me, than I was to her.
When we had time, we would talk longer. I called her at her hostel, we would talk for 2-3hrs each time. Till today, after marrying her for 25 years, we still have endless things to talk to each other.