jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Ever since I gave up jogging for cycling in Jan this year, I had become fatter and now 90kg lol.

Oh just remembered another idea. Esp if you got support (set up table at the top or something).

Quite bit boring tho..... coz it's well over 12 hours. (decent fitness/strong riders can complete by 20hrs)

WussRedXLi

when i bought roadie, then i tried roadie clipless pedals.
i unclip left foot but one time when about to stop
the bike was leaning to the right
i lost my balance and fell.

however used right wrist to break fall.
seen doc and xray but no fracture.
however wrist not so flexible and went one session physio
feels slightly better,

I am still on flat pedals. And flat cycling shoes. But the "trick" is to use those pedals with many "locking" pins so that they would hook onto the bottom flat cycling shoes well and not slip.....when you are on the saddle you confirm wont slip one lah. One way it would make a difference in safety is if you off saddle at higher cadence like during really high power sprints. I only off saddle during climbs.

I did not google / AI in deep details but there apparently is little to no loss in efficiency. Also this is much safer esp if you train on PCN areas as well where there are runners/walkers, or worst go through MBS area (which i very often do).

No issue during T100 also......no need to change running shoes to cycling shoes, meddle with socks etc, that saves you like 2 mins easily, more than a deep section wheel + rear disc + full aero helmet can save you in aerodynamics time for a 32k bike leg. Even a 80km bike leg i dare say.
I got the idea from Just du it when he did his duathlon. He and the 1st place champion just gunned it in running shoes start to finish. (he is very fast also)
Not sure about his first run leg of 5k, but 2nd run of 2.5k was 9:34. Bike is fast too. This fella is aged 61.
Bike was 20.7k 34:00 min on my Garmin. Second run 2.5k was 9:34. Used flat pedals and let run shoes on the entire race. Great in transition.
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?_...nyMjHNFGZAcQR.&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.25042e8dq5mWVW

O1CN01fNuvaz1P7F6oTFPqn_!!2215752021793.jpg

O1CN01Qv22f41P7F6m7I9eh_!!2215752021793.jpg

rarenick

when i bought roadie, then i tried roadie clipless pedals.
i unclip left foot but one time when about to stop
the bike was leaning to the right
i lost my balance and fell.
however used right wrist to break fall.
seen doc and xray but no fracture.
however wrist not so flexible and went one session physio
feels slightly better,

I suspect u land your left foot on the curb instead of on the road surface. Need to unlearn that bad habit.

rarenick

I am still on flat pedals. And flat cycling shoes. But the "trick" is to use those pedals with many "locking" pins so that they would hook onto the bottom flat cycling shoes well and not slip.....when you are on the saddle you confirm wont slip one lah. One way it would make a difference in safety is if you off saddle at higher cadence like during really high power sprints. I only off saddle during climbs.
I did not google / AI in deep details but there apparently is little to no loss in efficiency. Also this is much safer esp if you train on PCN areas as well where there are runners/walkers, or worst go through MBS area (which i very often do).
No issue during T100 also......no need to change running shoes to cycling shoes, meddle with socks etc, that saves you like 2 mins easily, more than a deep section wheel + rear disc + full aero helmet can save you in aerodynamics time for a 32k bike leg. Even a 80km bike leg i dare say.
I got the idea from Just du it when he did his duathlon. He and the 1st place champion just gunned it in running shoes start to finish. (he is very fast also)
Not sure about his first run leg of 5k, but 2nd run of 2.5k was 9:34. Bike is fast too. This fella is aged 61.

I always hear that flat shoes if soft type will waste watts. That's why cycling use carbon sole will be more efficient.[/QUOTE]

WussRedXLi

I always hear that flat shoes if soft type will waste watts. That's why cycling use carbon sole will be more efficient.
[/QUOTE]

Not a pro or expert in biomechanics or what........ but generally i also not at that power level ba.
So for me, the benefits (if any) do not outweight the cons for my usage.

Also one more thing, i like to shift my feet around a bit on the pedals on the fly.

Quick eg (not entirely scientific ...... but as mentioned, i not national level).
Got climbs, sprints. flat TT

Differences really negligible and could be due to so many factors out there in reality.

Only notable diff
Still, even for my 40s / 30s rest VO2max microinterval workouts, is of no use.

2z2ZtrD.jpg

WussRedXLi

But srsly, i really bo lui to spend $400 to 1k on cycling shoes lah. And of coz as usual, where got only buy 1 pair one.

My flat cycling shoes i just get for around $20 on TB. Got 2 boas somemore.......convenience all there liao.
The interfacing with the above CF pedals with the 12 nuts/pins is rock solid actually, i climb off saddle with relatively high power also no side slippage. Ok for me liao, safe. I dont off saddle sprint max power like TDFsters tho.....
Only issue is i am already on my 3rd pair, coz PU leather, so will flake in around 9 months. But low cost so no issue.

Running / cycling just a health based hobby for me........ running shoes i also not buying new, still can run decently fast. Can liao lah......

Recently I used until my Puma DN2 until the rear bua ya open alligator, i use UHU glue to glue back. 🤣
And still on Adidas Takumi Sen 8 etc.

rarenick

But srsly, i really bo lui to spend $400 to 1k on cycling shoes lah. And of coz as usual, where got only buy 1 pair one.
My flat cycling shoes i just get for around $20 on TB. Got 2 boas somemore.......convenience all there liao.

I buy shimano rc5. More comfortable than the $400 specialized, which I sold within weeks. Clipped shoes help me with occasional bunny hops.

bbbbbw

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?_...nyMjHNFGZAcQR.&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.25042e8dq5mWVW

O1CN01fNuvaz1P7F6oTFPqn_!!2215752021793.jpg

O1CN01Qv22f41P7F6m7I9eh_!!2215752021793.jpg

Previously I rode foldie and hybrid. When I bought roadie, I started with shimano flat pedals EF202 for my roadie for a month cos first time ride roadie.

The roadie saddle I put lower cos “scared fall” and “easier to mount”

Then after a month I changed to dura ace pedals with SPD SL cleats. I had saddle adjusted to the “correct” height cos knee pain.

the power transfer is more efficient with clipless and I glad I did try it though initially I was scared to go clipless

bbbbbw

I suspect u land your left foot on the curb instead of on the road surface. Need to unlearn that bad habit.

hahaha you are right. Initially always unclip left leg and trying to place it on the left kerb and still seated.

now I unclip left leg and lift up my ass and stand up
lean body forward a little to shift body weight to the front
and
place left leg on road.

while waiting “sit” on the frame.
Right leg put back to 2pm.
When time to move off I use right leg to push off and hop onto the saddle.

then clip in the left leg. If I cannot clip in left leg just pedal a while first, eventually will clip in 😃

WussRedXLi

Previously I rode foldie and hybrid. When I bought roadie, I started with shimano flat pedals EF202 for my roadie for a month cos first time ride roadie.
The roadie saddle I put lower cos “scared fall” and “easier to mount”
Then after a month I changed to dura ace pedals with SPD SL cleats. I had saddle adjusted to the “correct” height cos knee pain.
the power transfer is more efficient with clipless and I glad I did try it though initially I was scared to go clipless

Really need to try with the same saddle height with both flat and clipless. If not same height, sure will be able to feel got differences, or with the power meter see slightly different figures during different type of rides.

But if riding on roads predominantly and no crowded walking paths like MBS/Merlion/UOB SG river area (quite therapeutic that area after a hard day at work can people see also) or wider type PCNs for training where there are still risks of other users behaving unpredictably, then by all means.

edit - one more thing, of coz flats might be slightly more slippery/dangerous when wet of coz, but i dont really ride on wet surfaces in the first place.
Also, in the rain, i dont want to add another layer of danger esp when drivers can barely see you with a wet windscreen

tanminghui1

any recreational joggers eat supplement or any special thing?

I feel tired after running. Usually take a nap. Does supplement helps in this situation or improve jogging?

rarenick

I feel tired after running. Usually take a nap. Does supplement helps in this situation or improve jogging?

Ya man I also want to know / learn.

For me I drink 100 Plus Pro (which has protein) after 8km run.

WussRedXLi

Ya man I also want to know / learn.

For me I drink 100 Plus Pro (which has protein) after 8km run.

If can take a nap (weekends) then take one. Is good for recovery. This is esp so if you had gotten up early like at 5-ish to gun your longer run....most probably 2 days of earlier wake up times somemore.

Creatine might have some muscle recovery boost in that it helps providing sufficient ATP to it
eg https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8228369/

Other than that, make sure your other areas also up to snuff. Eg Magnesium, Vit D3 quite crucial. For Magnesium you'd need to take Mg Glycinate or other forms of bioavailable Mg. Mg oxide does not really work, other than giving you flatulence and/or lao sai esp in higher doses (eg 400mg elemental Mg equivalent)

bbbbbw

I see the various cycling fb groups they buang. Due to clipless pedals or wet weather etc. Sustained many injuries

WussRedXLi

yoga pants and yogat bra can go for jogging or notch?

:(

Got many @ MBS Merlion GBTB, BEG and ECP......see until dont want to see already. Just this morning i saw 4, 2 of which quite chio + heavy bouncing front end. One was not wearing pants but rather spandex underwear type of shorts with nice 1/4 butt cheeks showing. (y)

Some also wear make up jog one. (well to be fair, even more female cyclists than joggers do that)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.