More younger adults diagnosed with early-onset colorectal cancer in Singapore

soichiro

Great. You got one part of the equation solved. Would it be better to completely solve it?

Fasting regularly and eating within a short window (4hr) induces greater degree of autophagy. (Cellular clean up, regeneration, reuse)

15 years ago, I was taught so too about fibre. Well, I realised it's nonsense a year ago. Stopped eating fruits and veg since. No issue with no 2.

Maybe you wish to read this sg study about locals with regards to fibre.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3435786/

Stopping or reducing dietary fiber intake reduces constipation and its associated symptoms​

Do u even know what u're reading? Please DO NOT spread misinformation. That medical study was done "to investigate the effect of reducing dietary fiber on patients with idiopathic constipation".

Translation: that study was done with people who already have chronic constipation where the cause is unknown and not related to lack of fiber. It could be cancer etc. that is causing the constipation...

yuzu28

I used to think no pain then scary cos inside anything wrong has no nerve that serves as pain signal to the brain as pain usually comes from external piles. Either way I better get it check for a peace of mind. Living with stoma bag is a slow torture
Actually both also scary. For my case, Dr said that my piles were most likely caused by the tumour.

As for stoma bag, I'm not sure good or bad. Of course I wont want it. But I did read about patients getting serious side effects, like frequent bowels etc, and requested to get back to a stoma bag, which is more manageable. Everyone reacts differently. Best is not to get ill.

rrr2015

more than 90% of the people around me are not having enough fibre and so I am not so concerned about fibre over consumption in a regular Singaporean diet.

Not easy to hit 'target' with below or other equivalent food daily:

problem is some still take too much fiber supplements

sacredrays

ppl usually talk about taking in more fiber but they forgotten water intake is very important too

rrr2015

flour is processed liao eh...
liddat also called processed food so means people also consuming processed food liao🥴

for me processed food means they replace natural ingredients with synthetic equivalents

Taloona

Can give some examples? I am reconsidering my jiak buibui diet now...
Read the ingredient list. The longer it is, the more processed it is. Go read the ingredient list on commercial bread sold in supermarket. As for ham and sausages, they consist a known carcinogen called nitrates.

Taloona

check for polyps in your stomach, my specialist told me cancer of stomach/colon are somehow related.
Gastroscopy can also check your esophagus. If you have acid reflux for a long period of time without treating it, it can cause a precancerous stage called Barett's esophagus. The constant irritation by the acid on the esophagus lining will cause the cells to undergo changes. Hence, don't treat acid reflux lightly.

arcturuz

Gastroscopy can also check your esophagus. If you have acid reflux for a long period of time without treating it, it can cause a precancerous stage called Barett's esophagus. The constant irritation by the acid on the esophagus lining will cause the cells to undergo changes. Hence, don't treat acid reflux lightly.
How is acid reflux treated?

vbhelper

It’s the processed food rah
Artificial colouring , sweetener, preservatives , favouring
Everyday have to expose to these chemicals

rogze79

Do u even know what u're reading? Please DO NOT spread misinformation. That medical study was done "to investigate the effect of reducing dietary fiber on patients with idiopathic constipation".

Translation: that study was done with people who already have chronic constipation where the cause is unknown and not related to lack of fiber. It could be cancer etc. that is causing the constipation...
Did you finish reading it? Just group and tell participants to cut down fibre and record observations for 6 months.

Dun overthink and input your own variables.

It's a very simple study.

carey

agree but only can reduce if homecook

yalor swimming also can kenna 🥴
but worry too much also not healthy 😆
Yup, I try to cook my own dinner AMAP - heng I only eat 1 meal a day so no issues not eating out

Jialat cos I swim a lot - hard to avoid micro plastics and all the nano beads that is in everything these days

Recently read this article that boiling our water goes some way to reduce micro plastics - maybe I need to try that too hahah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.