Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

itedino

but i did move out when i take home less than 3.2k. my rental was 1150 per month. still i managed to save 1700/month. i still travel once every 9 months (not next door country. go out once a week. give my parents money. pay my tuition debt, i still make nice 3 dish 1 soup everyday.

all i am saying is, managing finances is impt skill to have. and a lot of discipline. after 8 years, i own my own private apt. with that pay. By the time i own my place, i was already paying 1350 for rental per month.
it was only after 1 year i move into the new owned apt i started to take home 3800/month.

only towards end 2023 my takehome was near 5k.
Winter liao

kodomo80

Have you got your power pleasure craft license? 🤔
dun need to be a 2mil yacht, u can always buy 2nd hand smaller yacht, around a 1rm flat size interior first, within 200k can get, also find cheaper berth in farther area like raffles marina, its only the maintenance that is your main issue.

cyke69sg

dun need to be a 2mil yacht, u can always buy 2nd hand smaller yacht, around a 1rm flat size interior first, within 200k can get, also find cheaper berth in farther area like raffles marina, its only the maintenance that is your main issue.

Bro @dereth you hear that?

ramlee

Actually you are having a pretty good life. No need to worry about so many things.

I have a friend who live condo, has car and 3 kids. His 15k per month salary is insufficient to maintain his lifestyle and always stressed over a lot of things such as losing his job. In fact, he has high blood pressure , compressed nerve discs and overweight. I was initially envious of him until he pointed out all these to me.
His wife not working? :(

ksapple

3.8k before cpf

Gt wife
Gt car
Gt saving
Can go big trip once per year
Why cannot?

Is ur expectations of the life u wan

ramlee

Just make own coffee at home lah.
Cook at home.
The thing is.....this isn't happening. Which means that it is still very affordable and cheap to eat out than to cook at home.

Now some argue about quality of food nutrition etc. That's a totally different discussion though.

Another thing I ask you. What about maids? Foreign domestic maids. Has price gone up?

How many SGrean households still have maid? If have maid why don't have them cook food at home?make kopi for ma'am ?

SGreans by and large well to do. $150 increase is nothing lah.
I douch know how to cook :(

ramlee

I seriously can't survive with $5k/month.
My expenses this year is $23.3k, which works out to $3.6k per month. With $4k take home, I only have $400 buffer.

Mind blown....
Jump ship for higher pay ba :(

ramlee

Agreed. I attribute the change in consumer behaviour, in large part due to the coincidental rise of the air fryer. A lot of young sinkies never learnt to cook, and wouldn't have been able to switch to home cooking despite the increasingly exorbitant prices of hawker food. Air fryers are god's gift to the BBFA. Even kitchen noobs like me can easily make a reasonably healthy meal for minimal hassle.
Air fryers not use to deep fried foods meh? :(

ramlee

its common, many sinkiekias live by pay check to pay check

this is how the rich squeeze out most of you by controlling the wages so you have to work until drop in coffin
做就做,沒有辦法的 :(

ramlee

If we have more money, we would be able to buy more of the things we want. We believe that we would be happier if we have those things, have more possessions, be it a Roles, a luxury car, meals at Michelin restaurants, Under Armour T shirt instead of unbranded pasar malam or pasar pagi ones, latest iWatch or Garmin, instead of the Health Promotion Board one, and on and on.

Of course. we do believe that rich people are happy people, who are enjoying never ending bliss inside their GCB where parked outside are a few luxury continental cars. Somehow, theirs are perfect marriages where the man could marry any woman he liked, and he had a few hundred chiobus to choose from, and the children are somehow the best, highly intelligent, healthy, well behaved, and future model citizens.

Happiness is defined by how much money we have. If we have money, everything will fall into place. We are winners. The other group who are lifetime members of the BBFA Club, hiamed by even dinobus, who are low ses, whose only joy is to come to edmw and dream, are losers. No happiness can be found in their lives. Reason: Earn less than $5000 a month.
I have resigned to fate my role in this world is to be a looser. I can only hope my next life will be better :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.