hiring helper or nursing home?

Jacknjill

My dad facing similar circumstances. There is a helper agency in NUH level 2. You can try talk to them for a maid with experience taking care of elderly.

benobiwan

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
nursing home shld be last option.. it is a sad place to be...gloomy and lifeless... helper can be cheaper if u go thru the social worker route .. ard 600 plus.. i got 1 for my mum till ahe pass on..

stupidog

I got my FDW who worked in Taiwan for 5 years and can speak mandarin. Got to pay her higher than market rate. Dun expect her to cook or clean the house. Mainly caregiving duties.

same i got mine , indonesian , worked in taiwan 12 years, caring for elderly with stroke / dementia.

understands and speaks mandarin, pay is about 1.1k

her main job scope is caregiving but she auto cooks, wash clothes, clean the house, do marketing for my mother.

we treat her as one of our family members. we sit on the same table, eat pizza, mcdonald’s, zichar also will order her share.

we let her rest / nap / use hp while my mom sleeps.

this is her 3rd year with us.

so far no complains about her.

stupidog

I read the website still no uds. Can ask them cook n mop floor?:(

caregivers have no obligation to cook and do housechores.

you can ask them to see if they wanna do during the zoom interview.

Taloona

they also wanna find better job. lousy work then how to make ppl stay?
My friend's helper has a good life. No children and no elderly. She is hired just to do housework because all the adults in the house are too princessy.

Mountainnodew

Nursing home is a better option. Got nurses and doctor in nursing home. If hire a helper, even if she say experience, cannot be trusted. A lot of hidden cost when hire a helper. But the worst is she abuse your parents when you working. But you have to visit him in nursing home and buy his favourite food.

stupidog

ppl will ask why dun wan hire helper ? knn covid period border close, u wanna find also difficult

before hiring the caregiver, i basically no life for 2 years. damn shag wan i tell u.

me and my dad took turns / shifts to look after my mom in these 2 years.

my mom has parkinson's & stroke for that period. the stroke slowly got better...

my dad passed away last year october due to pneumonia + heart attack

currently my mom hospitalized 2 weeks liao for another stroke + itp + uti

now left me and my mom only....damn sian ah :sad:

Hakuna Matata

Nursing home maybe a better option if you can get the highest subsidy of 75%. Helper is bao gao liao/one-person care versus nursing home (A team of nursing staff around the clock). As time goes, you and your helper may feel fatigued and burnt out. You may also end up having to take care of the helper too. Double stressful for you.

Itsthatguy

Nursing home.

If helper suddenly want to go home or don't want to work leow, then how?

Nursing home got doctors to do daily check on the residents.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Are you living together with your parents? Any siblings? If you are the only son, go to AIC for help. I went to AIC also, the staff there will help you tie thru this period. End up, i only pay around 300 for my helper.

rainygrainy

ppl will ask why dun wan hire helper ? knn covid period border close, u wanna find also difficult

before hiring the caregiver, i basically no life for 2 years. damn shag wan i tell u.

me and my dad took turns / shifts to look after my mom in these 2 years.

my mom has parkinson's & stroke for that period. the stroke slowly got better...

my dad passed away last year october due to pneumonia + heart attack

currently my mom hospitalized 2 weeks liao for another stroke + itp + uti

now left me and my mom only....damn sian ah :sad:
Jiayou... :flash:

AUTUMN&WINTER

Nursing home is a better option. Got nurses and doctor in nursing home. If hire a helper, even if she say experience, cannot be trusted. A lot of hidden cost when hire a helper. But the worst is she abuse your parents when you working. But you have to visit him in nursing home and buy his favourite food.
I find nursing home is a miserable place. Good to be at home provided the maid is good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.