[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

Whimsica

Those FB comments really funny with so many saying they miss LMW in Parliament.

Well, the new Parliament sessions w/o LMW haven't started leh.

They miss what ah?

Prolly people who dun follow politics but want to talk politics.

focus1974

How to suan people 101.

first give pat on the back, then slap on the face.
Ah Wong
I was quite bewildered why you were not voted in despite your vocal presence in parliament. Although your lack of articulation, your desire in helping fellow Singaporeans is obvious and should be appreciated.

testart

Why do we have so many middlemen in all our SG business operation model?

A mark up to B, then B mark up to C. C mark up to D.

Crazy model. Everyone wants a pie.

marshalTan93

Again.... Who did the Hawkers & this seetoh guy voted for ??

I dun wish to quote the Jaya. guy

gaul_ads

I tot 9% GST is to help the poor, but instead asking hawkers to foot the free meals ?

Reader J T D :

Agree with youLeong Mun Wai 梁文辉… the onus should be on the G to make or at the very least help out the hawkers.. after all, we are paying right left and centre for everything with our tax payers funds. It’s a lot of talk but no concrete decisive action taken. Ask the G with their fat wallets to ‘Pay It Forward ‘ by starting with themselves as exemplary leaders.

945dfe0de332053621da2f57cfbe7b3c.jpg
On paper :help the poor.

Reality : help who?

GundamG

why not ask rich boss/restaurants to foot the cost of meals for low income workers instead of asking hawkers?

qhong61

Reproduced in full:

I have been following the recent dispute between veteran hawker advocate KF Seetoh and Minister Ong Ye Kung, over hawkers at Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre being charged $70 a month for the space to leave a basket behind their stalls for supplier deliveries.
We should not be distracted in this dispute. In my opinion, there are two key issues:
1) Fees being charged for all kinds of reasons by operators of Socially-Conscious Enterprise Hawker Centres (SEHCs) like Bukit Canberra.
2) The clause in hawkers’ contracts requiring them to provide free meals to low-income residents.
PSP has previously raised both issues in Parliament in November 2024, when I raised a motion in Parliament on sustaining hawker culture in Singapore, and proposed solutions. The motion I raised was amended and passed unanimously. But why has the Government not done the necessary reviews to rectify some of the issues we had debated in Parliament? If the reviews were done and changes have been made, why have the same issues been raised again?
1) Fees
In November 2024, I pointed out that these fees at the SEHCs, such as table cleaning fees, dishwashing fees, S&CC fees and pest control fees, can add up to as much as the rent itself.
For example, the hawkers at Bukit Canberra have been billed a $650 table cleaning fee. Why is such a high fee still being charged when customers have to clear their own tables?
That is why during the debate, PSP proposed for the SEHC model to be phased out.
Is it justifiable for private SEHC operators to impose fees as a means to maximise any surpluses or profits from hawker centres, which are public assets?
Hawker centres are part of our national heritage. They should be run by the Government solely for the benefit of the people and not for anyone’s profit.
2) Hawkers being required to provide free meals
The current approach, where hawkers at SEHCs and HDB coffeeshops are being contractually forced or guilt-tripped into selling budget meals, is unsustainable. The cost of budget meals is being shouldered by hawkers. Many hawkers are not high-income and already struggle with high costs and manpower shortages.
In November, I argued that instead of forcing hawkers to offer budget meals at their own expense, the Government should be funding these initiatives. The Government can pay for food discounts for Pioneer and Merdeka Generation seniors and CHAS cardholders, or provide lower-income households with more CDC vouchers. This way, we can ensure that hawker food remains affordable for those who need them most, without compromising the livelihoods of our hawkers.
Hawkers have provided everyone in Singapore with affordable, good food for decades. But they should not be asked to provide social welfare as inflation crushes the livelihoods of many Singaporeans.
Our hawker culture is a national treasure, but for it to survive, we need to work together to build a fair and sustainable ecosystem. PSP will continue to speak up for our hawkers.
We want both free meals from hawkers and cdc voucher for the poor.

V-FORTY

if win the bid to be managing agent is jin hoseh
rent hawker space from nea maybe 20k
then just do managing as landlord
one hawker collect 3k rental huat

Lifeinmotion

Quite intrigue with all the recent topic. Are there any publish figures of those companies. managing the hawker centre - their actual bid to manage the hawker. How was it awarded?

$650 cleaning fee x 100 stalls = $65,000
What's the cost to clean the table per month.

Any bros know where to source more data on hawker store operation model. Maybe can bid one day.

byfun

how to verify if my customer is low income ah?

before giving him low income meal. and what is definition of low income? Is definition provided by whom? NEA or IRAS?

lwm got say liao ma .. can issue more cdc vouchers to low income as defined by gov as low income loh...

better than those social enterprise asking hawkers to provide cheap meal and they get the credits. .

Shutterbox

Agencies like Socially-Conscious Enterprise Hawker Centres, what kind of value do they add to low cost FnB chain?

Whimsica

Sometimes LMW needs to take a deep breathe before he shoots.

He called for SEHCs to be phased out in Parliament in Nov 2024. Then now he asked why hasn't it been phased out? Bt Canberra is not new and even if gahmen eventually will phase out SEHCs there are still contractual obligations to adhere to.

He said gahmen should be funding budget meals. How he know gahmen has not done so? The requirement for operators in certain hawker centres/ kopitiams to provide budget meals is made in return for subsidies/ grants.

The real world problem that we real world people see is greedy operators taking the subsidies/ grants then bo sim anyhow provide those pathetic budget meals or simply tell you sold out liao.

Come on.

He is a politician who has been an NCMP and should not just shoot his mouth like an EDMWer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.