[GPGT] PSP's Stephanie Tan denounces the lack of strong action for bullying in Schs! Calls for MOE to be proactive and conduct direct investigations!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Whimsica

Before you stray out of topic, the current mess is due to the schools itself being so weak to take charge of the situation effectively. It is not helped by ministers promising punishments for filming the act of bullying, be it for shaming the victim or whistleblowing.

Now who is straying out of topic?

Whimsica

imo lightning party got the most problems

Even dining with certain ‘strangers’ can get away

No accountability given in all aspects of their governance.

How is this related to my post on what ST wants and my views that follow because LMW had also wanted this and that?

Sure, you dun like PAP.

But it doesn't mean all Oppo politicians must be right and that others cannot express their views on what politicians - PAP or Oppo - say or do.

johnsonheng

I agree the established rules shd be enforced.

Those who are supposed to enforce the rules and did not do so despite clear evidence of students breaching the rules shd be held accountable.
if moe sets the rules, if anything goes wrong, moe need to answer, which then will be push to the minister.
who in the right mind will want to set the rules, especially the parents nowadays are super protective of their kids.

86technie

So key issue are:
1) MOE let school handle so is up to 300+ Pri and Sec schools to
handle bullying.
Is machiam MOM set certain law/rule but employers can go left.
2) Since MOE have so many regular parachute into MOE school.
Why not put them to good use?
Especially those who parachute in as OM.

Bring back caning in school, in before some parents dispute some cannot.
Cuz their kid backside very important else next time grow up cannot
sit properly.

NeonX

Repercussions sure have one when the whole thing blows up. Confirm appraisals will be affected and bonus will follow as well.

So the easiest way is to not have it blow up in the first place lor..So how not to have it blown up? Threaten punishment for anyone who have evidence of bullying lor especially for those caught on video like what the previous second minister of education have said.
those will affect the teacher without backing, principals onwards probably no problem 1 la

charleslee1989

Gd qn. How come Stephanie nv ask and follow up abt this?

Also, how come LMW nv ask for breakdown of Sinkie vs foreigner for bullying and vaping etc?

As for the bullying issue, she did gave it to Hazel Poa to ask in the 14th parliament. As for accountability, the answer is simple to say but difficult to achieve. Vote the person out lor.

As for LMW addressing vaping issue, it went out of control right after GE2025. Guess that is LMW's problem too that the situation spiralled out of control lol...

charleslee1989

Agree with you.

Schools need the direction and guidance from MOE to take action.

This is a societal problem that needs political leadership to address.
I don't understand you leh...There is proof that the ministry has given guidelines ( aka guidance in your language) and identified different categories of offences ( aka direction in your language).

Why do you think those in the sch management committee cannot do that without MOE babysitting them?

HushiePuppies

cctv in schools?! can't imagine what kind of environment our youths are growing up in these days.

xcodes

this is correct ... stern actions have to be taken and not wayanging all the way ...

byfun

This happen when principal n moe no iron...

Shld inform the 3 bullies parents to come. Let them choose private canning of their kids with their parent presence or the parents ownself choose to change school for their kids.

Your kid, your choice ... mai say no options and public canning is shaming.

Either way it will strike fear into the 3 young bullies that they wont get away with it and they wont repeat the bullying in future.

Enola88

Singaporean Mum Shares Hilarious Discovery of Trying To Buy a Cane But They're All Sold Out

Have to bring out the 尚方宝剑。

tian_yibang

Vaping they crackdown very hard and fast (fierce) , buwee-ing they take "slow and calculated" approach aka monitoring

Bopian, gahmen think there's more impt national issues to solve like jobs, tarrifs, aging etc so this buwee thingy they "free then look into it"

:o:o

Eliwood

I don't understand you leh...There is proof that the ministry has given guidelines ( aka guidance in your language) and identified different categories of offences ( aka direction in your language).

Why do you think those in the sch management committee cannot do that without MOE babysitting them?

Maybe these will help u understand.

But i suspect it is ur choice to not understand lol.

No clear guidance on disciplinary measures from MOE is it because they no iron to take a stand. If parent complain MOE can say is school decision and not theirs. MOE show a lack the commitment and ownership to solve the problem. With this type of leadership , the school also afraid to do anything as good is say MOE good bad is say the school management bad.

if moe sets the rules, if anything goes wrong, moe need to answer, which then will be push to the minister.
who in the right mind will want to set the rules, especially the parents nowadays are super protective of their kids.

Eliwood

As for the bullying issue, she did gave it to Hazel Poa to ask in the 14th parliament. As for accountability, the answer is simple to say but difficult to achieve. Vote the person out lor.

As for LMW addressing vaping issue, it went out of control right after GE2025. Guess that is LMW's problem too that the situation spiralled out of control lol...

By LMW, i was asking whether he nv asked for breakdown of vaping / bullying by SC vs foreigners lol since that is his fav topic.

Hazel Poa asked abt bullying during her time in parliament so LMW had every chance to ask for breakdown as well.

Maybe cos no political points to score by concluding sinkies behave poorly haha.

Lonewolf83

Now ish send death threat to parents somemore....What is the DM doing? What is the SPF doing???What is the MOE doing?
Monitoring :o
then they should stand aside when parents decide to take matters into their own hands when the govt, the school, the police, and MOE refuse to do anything.
I won’t say I disagree, but will sure have some people say we shouldn’t stoop to their level or they are just kids
the education system is meant to run as cheaply as possible, what else to expect from this?
Haiz, what to do

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.